We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place near Disneyland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Save
You added Candy Cane Inn to your Saves list
1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Californa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place near Disneyland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our family of five stayed here just before Christmas to take our granddaughter to Disneyland. The grounds are beautiful and extremely well maintained. The buildings are clean, clean, clean, and freshly and brightly painted. The registration staff was friendly, warm, and helpful. We wanted to check in early and leave our car so that we could use the shuttle (fabulous!). The rooms weren't ready, but we were allowed to use the shuttle, and what a nice experience that was. We have used the "group" shuttles before when we've stayed at other hotels, and it's a nightmare. This is a dedicated shuttle for Candy Cane Inn only -- great! Our rooms were clean and well maintained. The complimentary breakfast, which many hotels don't have, was fresh and yummy. We all got a good night's sleep as the hotel was quiet. All in all, a great experience. We'll never stay anywhere else when we are in Anaheim!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. I am delighted that your experience was great spending special time with your granddaughter! Our landscaping gentlemen do an awesome job and we receive many positive comments on the beautiful grounds. Thank you for the kind comments regarding our expanded continental breakfast and rest assured all pastry items are delivered daily for freshness. Please feel free to contact me when returning as it would be my pleasure to assist with rates and reservations. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,359
    598
    135
    54
    40
See reviews for
1,280
261
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Having looked at the hotels in Disneyland and finding them rather pricey we started looking at places in Anaheim and found the candy cane inn. We were more than pleasantly surprised when we got there and realised how close it actually was to Disneyland (about 3-5min walk!)

The room was OK, 2 big queen beds that were comfy and a nice clean ensuite bathroom. A little dark and dingy but hey who's planning on spending that much time in the room when Disneyland is near? There is a shuttle bus that runs regularly to and from the parks, although no need for it really as it is that close. The staff at the front desk were very accommodating and welcoming. Breakfast was nicely done with an area inside and out for eating and quite a lot of choice (well as long as you like carbs for breakfast).

Really pleased with this hotel, had loads of fun in Disneyland

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for allowing the opportunity on your visit to the theme parks in September. Yes, our location is wonderful and our Exclusive Complimentary Shuttle is certainly nice after a long day on your feet. Thank you for the kind comments about our team, they are a great group who really DO care about our guests! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family (2 adults and 3 children) stayed here. We went to California Adventure on a Friday and we slept at the hotel that night. The hotel was very accommodating for us. We were able to park near our hotel room on the property for free, also saving us money from having to pay parking at Disneyland. They have a shuttle to take you to Disneyland. How more convenient can it get? We didn't have to walk to Disneyland even though it was only a few blocks away from Disneyland. The shuttle came every 30 minutes on the dot all day until the closing of the park. The room was decent. We had two queen beds and mini fridge. We had to get an extra roll away bed. They charged us $10 for that which I didn't expect, but we needed it. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity on your recent visit to the theme parks. Yes, our complimentary parking and exclusive complimentary shuttle to the parks are cost and energy savers that guests appreciate. Please feel free to contact me when returning as it would be my pleasure to assist with rates and reservations. Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked the premium room and had 5 in our party and requested a roll-away bed for the 5th person weeks in advance. Upon arrival the room wasn't ready which was fine as we were early, I confirmed that we needed a extra bed. We bought 5 two day passes at the hotel ($1000). The staff member had me sigh each ticket. Upon arrival at Dland we were denied entry because the tickets were pre signed. After TWO HOURS and several supervisors we were issued new tickets.
After we returned to the Candy Cain we discovered NO roll away bed. The staff said sorry they are all taken nothing we can do. I asked for an extra pillow and blanket and they said no it was a fire hazzard to have someone sleeping on the floor.

The next night we got the extra bed... the only place it fits in the room is in front of the door ... but somehow that is not a fire hazzard.

On the possitive side the hotel is very close to the park.. and the shuttle was excellent! The in room breakfast that comes with the premium room was very nice.

I detailed these issues in written form and left them at the front desk but never heard from management.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and I am sincerely sorry that there were issues with your stay. We do have a limited supply of rollaway beds and are issued based on order of request and if were requested at time of reservation. In reviewing your reservation I noticed that you made an online on the evening of the 17th of December and your arrival was on the 20th. I am very surprised about your comments regarding tickets being signed as our team is trained by Disney cast members and I have personally been in attendance where it is clearly stressed that guests sign tickets as they are treated like cash and if lost will not be refunded. I will contact our Disney contact and inform them of this incident and again apologize for any inconvenience. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Inn during a December trip to Disneyland. We decided on the hotel due to outstanding reviews posted and the recommendations of friends. We booked a premium room and were very pleased with it and the overall quality of the inn and it's staff.

After returning home to the Ca. Central Valley, my wife, a cancer survivior realized that she left behind in our room a blanket that was adorned with the pink cancer survivor symbols. This is a prized possession of hers. I called the inn and spoke to the office staff. They checked with housekeeping and to our relief told us that the blanket was there and that they would hold it for us. When the staff was told that we lived quite a distance away, they took the time to mail the item to us.

My wife was reunited with her property and as I write this review she is lying on our couch, reading and covered by her beloved pink cancer survivors memorial blanket, a handmade gift from a dear friend.

THANK YOU TO THE STAFF OF THE CANDY CANE INN!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a premium room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. I am delighted that your wife reunited with her very special blanket. Our housekeeping team does a wonderful job on retaining items left behind and it is always a pleasure to see items returned to their owners. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had read reviews and was even more pleased than I could imagine. We loved the quaintness of this place-beautiful vines with flowers everywhere. It's proximity to Disneyland was wonderful, so we walked back and forth. The breakfast was a great money saver. The pool looked fun, but it was cold and rainy. We had rented a scooter and the staff took care of charging it each night. Wifi didn't work at first and we asked and they fixed it. We needed handicap accommodations and the stool could not be adjusted. One call and it was taken care of immediately. And then the sweetest surprise was on Christmas eve we arrived to find a teddy bear, an ornament and fresh cookies in our room. I would highly recommend this place for anyone visiting Disneyland. The price comparison for staying on property at Disney or here was incredible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback for both us and fellow guests. It was our pleasure to send the Christmas goodies on the eve of Christmas and again for the arriving guests on Christmas day. Please feel free to contact me personally should you be returning as I would be delighted to assist with rates and reservations. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for two nights the week before Christmas on recommendations by friends in concert with Trip Advisor reviews. It's rated No. 2 on TA, and other hotels so highly ranked have not disappointed.
But this one did slightly for reasons that might not affect some families. Thought travelers should have more info hence this review.
This tidy, but dated hotel is literally within throwing (even if you stink at throwing) distance of Disneyland. On same side of street as park entrance, it eliminates need for municipal shuttle, which is $5 per person per way and invilves a wait at closing time. Hotel has its own free shuttle, but at night it was never on time so we always walked. Would have been nice to ride after 15-hour day at Mickey's place.
WiFi is free compared to Marriott's $13 per day charge, but if it doesn't work, free is a moot point. Two complaints got indifferent responses from front desk: "oh yeah, we're working on an upgrade." That didn't help us much.
Finally, rooms lack electrical outlets. If you have a family and each member has their own smart phone in need of charging and daughters have flat irons, et al, this is problematic. We're talking 2 per room, one at sink, one on floor.
If you're not in need of being plugged in, this won't affect a stay.
Parking is free, which is a bonus as it's $24 per day at Marriott. But given the property's simple technology limitations, cheaper Marriott rooms might be the way to go even with the add-ons.


  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and I do appreciate your comments regarding our Inn. I am sincerely sorry that your WiFi experience was not to your expectation. Our upgrade has been hampered with the holidays and companies reduced hours for technical staff and should be completed within days. I am very much excited about our upgrade as we will now have 63 access points throughout our property up from the current 18 and will be secured with guest signing in. Your comments regarding our exclusive complimentary shuttle concerns me and I have spoken with our drivers. The shuttle simply leaves the hotel on the hour and half and leaves the park on the 15 and 45 of each hour. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#20 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim
Candy Cane Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candy Cane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.