We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candy Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anaheim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candy Cane Inn
Save
You added Candy Cane Inn to your Saves list
1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceeds Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

OK, I did a TON of research about where to stay in Anaheim while visiting Disneyland. The Disney resorts are nice but VERY expensive. The hotels down S. Harbour Boulevard range dramatically both in age and quality and veer towards the discount variety. But this little non-chain is simply the top of the heap.

The rooms are incredibly clean and well appointed...we upgraded to a deluxe room that included a delivered breakfast, welcome basket and a late checkout (worth it if you head to the parks on the day you check out) along with a microwave and mini-fridge. The breakfast is brought in a nice big basket and you can select all the items you prefer the night before. Each day it arrived exactly on time and had everything we requested and more (it is a continental but they have great donuts, croissants and fresh juice in addition to cereals, fruit, bagels, toast, etc).

The rooms are set up motel design with bath/shower toilet enclosed and the bath sink out in the main room. The bath itself was perfectly clean, had real, thick towels and the strongest shower we have ever seen (very refreshing).

The hotel is within walking distance to the park but the shuttle they operate is SO convenient you'd be crazy to walk. It runs every half hour and they have more than one to accommodate larger groups...the drivers were great and they always ran exactly on time, pretty amazing for a smaller private hotel. The shuttle drops you off just a hundred yards or so from the main entrance to both parks.

We never had time to try the pool and it is small, but the pool area looked very nice and clean (and the pool is heated) and is perfectly landscaped.

The front desk staff was always helpful (with both our very late check-in and our request to leave our car for the day) and I simply can't complain about this place. There are so many choices in Anaheim but there is a reason this hotel is consistently so well rated...it is definitely worth your time and money.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get the premium room...worth it on all levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Well, from the sound of things it seems that your research paid off! I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the features and amenities of our Premium room. Breakfast delivery and extended checkout at 2pm are definitely added perks when traveling. Also, thank you for your kind words about our staff. They all work hard to ensure our guests are well taken care of and they enjoy their stay with us. Lastly, I am glad to read that we were able to accommodate your request to park your vehicle with us. This is a request we are always willing to accommodate, as long as we have ample parking to accommodate our new guests checking in. Thank you again for your comments and we all look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,460
    647
    142
    54
    41
See reviews for
1,392
282
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estacada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is one facility where you are guaranteed good service. We have stayed here several times and each visit is better than the one before. Everyone employed by this facility is friendly and helpful.

Wheelchair access, even in non wheelchair rooms, is very comfortable. Be sure to request first floor as there is no elevator. The staff is quick to respond to any request or issues that may arrise.

Location to Disneyland is amazing. The hotel backs what is the new Cars Attraction at California Adventure. Tower of Terror can be seen over the hotel. You know you are at Disney from the moment you wake.

Only drawback is this place does need a few more curb cuts for better access and some actual handicap parking would be beneficial as parking spaces are narrow making it difficult to unload wheelchairs. But the positive is they make up for the challenge by assisting any way they can.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good location to them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for your feedback! I am delighted to read that my staff was helpful. As my staff and I take pride in our service and we feel our service helps to distinguish our hotel from others. In regards to your comment regarding parking, I definitely understand that during peak seasons, parking can be a challenge. Due to the location of our disabled access rooms towards the rear of our hotel, our disabled parking spaces are also located to the rear of the property. If at any time parking is a concern, my staff and I are always willing to make arrangements to assist you. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed here with my daughter for her 1st visit to Disneyland. Rooms are clean. Shuttle to Park is great but it's close enough where you can walk. Decent price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I hope that your daughter enjoyed her first visit to Disneyland. With the Candy Cane Inn being around since 1957, it gives us great joy in seeing the faces of our guests who come to experience Disneyland for the first time. I also hope that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am excited to have you back for your daughter’s second visit to Disneyland in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We spent 5 wonderful nights at the Candy Cane Inn.

We were very impressed with how clean & well maintained the hotel was. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We had a standard room which wasn't large but worked just fine for our family of 4. The pool area was always nice and clean. Breakfast was served every morning pool side & that was a very pleasant way to start the day. Breakfast was nothing fancy, but definitely adequate. It was an easy walk to Disneyland. Even with two children (ages 6 & 4) it only took us about 15 min. to get to the main gate. We only took the shuttle one time but it was nice knowing it was there if needed. This hotel is very cute & the grounds are just lovely. No it's not fancy but it was clean, comfortable & lovely and to me that is more important.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Candy Cane Inn. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. At the Candy Cane Inn, you can expect great service, clean and comfortable accommodations, with all the necessities to get you going on your way to enjoy Disneyland. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Great hotel, everything you need for a good base for Disneyland. Good breakfast, followed by free shuttle to the park. All clean and well kept, pool area always seemed to be clean though it was a bit cold for us to use it.
Had great fun here, we would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be of service on your recent visit to the theme parks. We do aspire to provide an exception product and quality service while keeping mind family travelers on a budget. One thing to note is that our pool, spa and children’s kiddie pool is heated year around for guest satisfaction. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Place was clean, nice grounds, walking distance to Disney, about 10 minutes, shuttle to disney every 30 minutes if you dont want to walk. Desk staff was very cool . Decent breakfast to start out the day, only thing they close it at 9am wish it was open until 10, but motivated us to get in gear.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with fellow travelers. We ask our team to slow down their collecting and cleaning in the garden room following breakfast during busy times to allow guests to relax. Please feel free to contact me directly should you need assistance with future rates or reservations as I would be delighted to assist. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Ok, let me start out by saying I have a very big bug phobia so I went into the room and started turning the place upside down. I did find a VERY dead and VERY old and VERY crunchy bedbug in the seam of one of the beds. Unfortunately, my daughter crushed it so I had nothing to take to the front desk at 12am when we got there from Disney so we slept in the other bed (very scared) and left in the morning ASAP. I mentioned it to the man at the front desk in leaving and he appeared not to hear me as there were at least 6 other people waiting to check out.
Other than that, the room was spotless...breakfast ...ugh...parking..good...wifi..good.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandyCaneInn, General Manager at Candy Cane Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate your email response regarding the room where you stayed. I am very pleased to say that this room was thoroughly inspected without any findings or traces of infestation. We do follow a rigorous extermination program throughout our entire property based on our levels of business and our goal in providing quality accommodations. I am sincerely apologetic regarding this incident and have shared your comments with our teams at the front desk and housekeeping. In addition I do thank you for your kind comments regarding our cleanliness and other amenities. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#9 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#1 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,449 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Cane Inn

Address: 1747 South Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#19 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 171
Also Known As:
Candy Cane Hotel Anaheim
Candy Cane Inn Anaheim
Candy Cane Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candy Cane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.