We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anabella

Save Saved
You added The Anabella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Anabella
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1030 W. Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Anabella Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$10.00 voucher per day
Ranked #44 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
521 helpful votes 521 helpful votes
“fine little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My review of this fine little hotel is long overdue but after reading recent reviews I felt compelled to do so.
This is GREAT accommodation for families enjoying Disneyland & not wanting to pay an arm & a leg for somewhere to sleep! The locations is superb with a convenient shuttle and although the rooms aren't all that special, we were in Anaheim for Disneyland, not to sit in a hotel room. The breakfast menu was superb...the fresh fruit, though typical on any California menu, was such a treat every morning!
In conclusion, to address any complaints people who travel might have about towels & maid service in any hotel: I worked hospitality for many years & I can say that maids are overwhelmed with the amount of work they have to do in a day & don't always know how many people are in a room.....SO if you want to be sure you have towels for everyone, a little note (not to mention a TIP every day!!) is nice. Also there are methods to make sure you are a) not woken up early b) have your room made up by a certain time. Just use the signage provided.
End of sermon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    666
    343
    225
    221
See reviews for
961
348
40
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I am a Travel Agent and stayed at the Anabella Resort over Easter weekend. We had the pleasure of staying in the Concierge Suite Room. This room was gorgeous with its hardwood floors, free breakfast, free parking, 2 beds (one is kind of seperate from the other) and the plush robes! This property is beautifully landscaped, and they have a seperate ADULTS ONLY pool!! My 5 year old loved the pool/hottub and of course the Easter egg hunt and Easter Bunny on Easter morning! The staff was wonderful, and anything we needed/wanted was done promptly. Its just a quick walk to Disney or else hop on the shuttle that comes every 20 minutes. I would highly recommend staying at this property! You will not be disapointed. :)

Room Tip: Stay in the Concierge Suite! Beautiful Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Our room slapped us in the face with stench of musty mildew on arrival to room #6205. Wallpaper peeling and obvious poor patch job in vanity area. Lighting was almost non-existent in bathroom. Stayed five nights...never once got enough towels for family of 4. We had to call and ask every day for 4 towels except one day they were left on sofa in front room.

The air conditioner rattled and vibrated whenever it was on and thermostat was not working. The traffic noise in this unit was terrible. And we awoke to drilling and hammering every morning due to renovations directly above us. Carpet was so unclean it felt sticky. We attempted to move hotels but couldn't afford a change.

Room not cleaned until 330pm on 2nd day. Arrived to room with male employee sitting on our sofa chatting to maid in our room. We were told come back in ten minutes. Next day we were almost woke up by cleaning staff wanting to clean before ten a.m. We had slept in because we left parks at midnight.

We have never reviewed a hotel before , but this was by far the worst room we have ever stayed in.

Won't be back and we will spread the word to stay clear of the Anabella!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Jemmaskip,

My apologies for the disturbances you experienced during your visit with us. We are currently in the middle of a progressive renovation to our Solano Building. Our goal is to correct any outstanding shortfalls with these rooms. This includes, new wallpaper, improved bathroom lighting, crown molding, the addition of a ceiling fan, fresh paint, and replacement of any additional outdated items. This would include HVAC and furniture. Coincidentally, the room above you was going through these improvements.

To clarify our policies, the Anabella Hotel & Resort provides housekeeping service daily between the hours of 9am-4pm. As a part of our “Green Initiative” each room is stocked adequately with 2 of each towel size per day. Should any request for additional linens or preferred housekeeping service be made, we are happy to accommodate.

Jemmaskip, I cannot change your previous stay but encourage you to give us another shot. There is a team of service oriented individuals here that are dedicated to provide each of our guests with an exceptional experience. Please let me know what can be done to have you return and witness the “Wow Factor” you deserve.

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison
Assistant Front Desk Manager
714-905-1050
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Anabella on our last trip to Disneyland. Nice hotel, the rooms were comfortable and clean. We did hear a fair amount of noise from our neighbors, didn't bother the kids but I slept with ear plugs in. We liked the 2nd room with a door for the kids to sleep in. It was nice that the bathroom area was separate as well.
Location was great. It was probably about a 15 minute walk to the gates to get in (you go through the Grand Californian). So although we had to pay to part at the hotel, it was nice to be able to walk and not pay at Disneyland. I'd say the walk from the hotel was comparable to the walk from the Disneyland parking lots.
The room rate was very good. There are a few extras like parking and wifi(if you want to use it). But for the room layout and closeness to Disneyland, it was a very good value.
We didnt eat at the restaurant or use the pool, but both looked like great places. There are a lot of parking places too right outside your door (it did get really full though).

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend for friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear rp239119,

Thank you so much for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! We know there are so many options in the area and we thank you for choosing us.
Hopefully we can have you back soon and the next time you are here you can enjoy our resort pool and Tangerine Grill!

All the best,

Jennifer Silva
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at Anabella hotel for six days and we enjoyed our time a lot. The people were nice and courteous. If we asked for anything, they provided us right away and with a smile on their face at all times. The place was clean and very convenient to get to Disney. I like to thank everybody who worked there from the people behind the desk to the cleaning personnel. I won't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We are on our first visit to Disneyland from Australia and are staying at this hotel. Whilst we are finding it clean, comfortable and with great access to Disneyland, we have been extremely disappointed with the wifi service, and as such, our ability to stay in touch with family and friends at home. The price of wifi is quite expensive and the service is appalling. Once connected, the service keeps dropping out and will not allow us to log back in. Three times we have had to call the internet support company, only to be left on the line for more than 40 minutes on one occasion. Even after these calls the service is far from satisfactory. Next time we are lucky enough to come to Disneyland, we would certainly be making sure any hotel we stay in has a much better internet service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear 914LindaM914,

We understand that there are various options to choose from to meet your lodging needs and please except our thanks for your patronage. Currently, we are undergoing negotiations to provide a new Wi-Fi service that will alleviate all of the challenges you experienced. Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor support you received from our current provider. The prolonged wait is not indicative of a typical support call.

While we appreciate the kind marks in regards to our location, cleanliness, value, & sleepy quality; it is understood that one poor amenity can leave a bad taste and a trip all the way from Australia does not come every day. Please let me know the best way to contact you to retain your loyalty.

Thank you for choosing the Anabella Hotel & Resort for your first visit to Disneyland!

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsville, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

So my last visit i had my whole family with me. this time i just took my kids. We arrived at 140pm and the room was not ready. no biggie i wanted to go to the parks cause my son just loves Cars.
the bell man took our bags and stored them for us until we got back. I saw Cory at the Concierge desk and wanted to say hi because he really made our trip last time. He and Jeremy gave me a big 411 on how to tackle the new park with the kids and got us some reservations for dinner over there.those two really make the difference at that hotel because no matter what they are doing, they will drop it just to see how you are doing. the resistant was great and the room was great. Mission suite is the way to go. i just want to thank all of you for making this trip unforgettable for my son.

Room Tip: Check in with the Concierge, they know the ins and outs that will help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anabella

Address: 1030 W. Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Anabella Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anabella 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and the warm decor the perfect retreat upscale interiors,Divine TM pillow top beds, a sleep experience by the Anabella Hotel, crisp white bedding and elegant granite bathrooms. Its well appointed location is just minutes away from our Awarding Winning Tangerine Grill and Patio well known for its eclectic California Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Anabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anabella Hotel Anaheim
Annabella Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.