We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anabella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Anabella to your Saves list
The Anabella
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1030 W. Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Anabella Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good location and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was concerned by some less-than-stellar reviews of this property but the location was great and we found a really great deal through Travelzoo. I was pleasantly surprised by the experience. The staff was extremely accommodating. It's not a 4 or 5 star resort but I'd consider it a strong 3+ and, for the price, it's a great value. I would stay again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Emanville,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience here at The Anabella. Located just a ten minute walk from Disneyland and having a team that provides such excellent service we are truly a hidden gem amongst all of the hotels in the Anaheim area. Thank you for choosing our property for your stay in Anaheim and thank you for your positive review. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

All the best,
Jennifer Silva
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    691
    356
    230
    226
See reviews for
992
361
40
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Anabella Hotel in Anaheim is a hidden treasure. Immaculately maintained and with super-attentive staff, it is located just across the road from Disneyland Park, and has a shuttle service stop right at the door to take you to the Disneyland gates. This Spanish style hotel was a real surprise for us, but we found large, comfortable rooms, two lovely pools (one just for the kids) and a lovely restaurant and bar on site. Next door is a deli/coffeeshop/ice cream bar and within easy walking distance are several moderately priced restaurants and good shopping. Don't waste big $$$ on the Disneyland hotels; Anabella is 5 minutes away and is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, as there is no elevator to take you to the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear chezza046,

Wow, thank you so much for your review! It is so refreshing to hear your kind words, it gives us here at The Anabella the motivation to keep doing what we do when we have guests like you! We pride ourselves here on our seven acres of landscaped grounds; our landscapers will be so pleased to hear you noticed their hard work. I am also so happy to hear you enjoyed our restaurant, the Award-Winning Tangerine Grill & Patio. I will also be sure to pass on your review to them as well.

Being such a large property we do have ten buildings here. In our largest three story building we do have an elevator and in our two story buildings do not, however for our guests that prefer second story rooms in these buildings our bellman are at your service for whatever assistance our guests may need.

Again, thank you so much for your review and we hope on your next trip to Anaheim we will see you again!

All the best,

Jennifer Silva
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My friend and I chose The Anabella because of the proximity to Disneyland. The staff at the hotel are genuine and helpful not "over-the-top." The food was tasty, the room absolutely lovely and the surroundings pleasant. I was visiting from Australia and travelled down to Anaheim with my friend who lives in Northern California. Due to unforeseen circumstances, my friend had to leave early to go home. The staff assisted me in every way that I needed, to have a nice time for the remainder of my trip and find my way to the airport. I enjoyed my time there immensely and recommend the hotel to anyone who wants value, friendliness, comfort and proximity to Disneyland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Nooey70,
Thank you so much for your kind words. Here at The Anabella our staff is committed to making all our guests feel comfortable and we will always do everything we can to make sure all of our guest’s needs are met. It is unfortunate that your friend had to leave early but very great to know that the remainder of your trip was still a good time.

We are very happy to hear that you found your room lovely and the surroundings pleasant. Being an outdoor property and an award recipient of “Anaheim’s Most Beautiful Property” this is the exact feedback we hope for.

Again, thank you so much for your positive review. We hope when you come back to California that you will stay with us again!

All the best,

Jennifer Silva
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, AZ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I made a last minute trip to Disneyland this past weekend, so we of course booked a room at the Anabella. We checked in late Friday night, Derek was working the front desk and he was ridiculously friendly. To my surprise, we found out our room had been upgraded!! Our room was spacious and clean, and relatively quiet for the area (we had stompers in the room above us, but no other noise). Looking foward to going again later this month!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear KellyMcG86,

It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay here at The Anabella. We are so happy you liked your room and will definitely let our Front Desk Agent Derek know your kind words. There are so many hotels to choose from in the area and we want to thank you for your loyalty. We are excited to have you back later this month, please let us know when you book your room so we can try and get you on the second floor to assure an even quieter stay. Again, thank you so much for your positive review and we look forward to seeing you soon!

All the best,

Jennifer Silva
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Anabella is a great semi-resort hotel, located near the Downtown Disney side of Disneyland. Catch a Groupon deal if you can for $79 or so. The bedding was the best I ever slept in from any hotel. The Tangerine Cafe for breakfast was a good deal. The adults only pool with bar service was great!! .. a great local getaway!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a patio, just in case you want to use it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We chose this location because it looked and sounded beautiful and it was close to Disneyland. The room was decent. My heater took a very very long time to warm up. They only provided enough coffee for one cup. I didn't like that I had to haul my luggage up the stairs by myself. We also had three rooms which they guareented would be next to each other and they were not. We weren't even in the same building. My biggest complaint was that we had to pay for internet each night. I felt like that was just "another fee."

That being said, the free breakfast was ok. They did allow for an exchange of an item for my gluten free child. My kids enjoyed the pool although we had to figure out how to turn the outdoor lights and heaters on ourselves.

AND DON'T GO TO THE SPA! They nickled and dimed us for everything for our pedicure. It was one of the worst pedis I've ever had and they made us pay for things that are standard in a regular pedicure. What started out at a 25$ pedicure ended up at over 50$ dollars and I came out cheap compared to my other family members!
Overall not a bad place to stay but it just wasn't how it was described and for the money, not sure that I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Tami S, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Anabella Hotel & Resort with fellow travelers. Your honest review is valued and we will continue to utilize feedback such as yours for improvement.

We are an exterior property that has stair cases to access upper floors. Our Solano Building offers an elevator, there are first floor rooms, and dedicated Bellman to list a few options to avoid hauling your luggage up stairs by yourself. Your comfort is of the upmost importance and we will do anything in our power to accommodate our guest’s needs.

Our Tangerine Restaurant Bar & Grill’s seasonally inspired menu offers a wide range of options suitable for the whole family. I’m sorry you found breakfast to be mediocre, however, pleased that our team was able to go above and beyond to accommodate your child’s dietary needs.

The Bella Salon is privately owned and operated but I’ll be sure to pass on your feedback to their management for review. I do apologize on their behalf for not providing the relaxing pampering you deserved.

Tami S, please let me know the best way to contact you as I would love to have you and your family back again. My Guest Service Team would love to provide the personalized service we strive for. Your patronage is truly valued here at the Anabella Hotel & Resort

Kind Regards,
Brandon Jemison
Assistant Front Desk Manager
714-905-1050
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I've stayed at The Anabella twice, most recently in January 2103. I chose this location because of its proximity to the Disneyland Resort. I would consider this hotel a "walking-distance" hotel, as it is only a 10-minute walk from the Paradise Pier hotel and the Grand Californian hotel, both of whom are on-site properties. No doubt, at the end of a long day of touring the parks, it can be exhausting to tackle an extra 10 minutes or so of walking (compared to walking to the trams or to on-site properties).

As for the room, our most recent stay was in a Casita Suite. I'd be lying if I said I wasn't disappointed in the room; it was carpeted (our prior stay was in a Premier King and Double with hardwood floors) and I attribute the carpet to the musty, "Haunted Mansion" smell that permeated the room. We had an additional guests - a couple of flies - that were constant companions in the bathrooms (I could never get close enough to swat them). Also present were the long, dark strands of hair from whoever must of stayed in the room prior to our stay, stuck to the walls and door of our bathroom. Yuck.

I want to chalk these things (smells, flies, hairs) up to bad luck; our previous stay (in the aforementioned Premier King and Double) featured a very nicely decorated room, comfortable enough for five, clean, very enjoyable. I also really enjoyed onsite restaurant, the Tangerine Grill, for its delicious breakfasts. I didn't use the pools, but overall it feels like a nice property to spend a day (if not in the parks), and I feel safe at night.

If I had any other complaint, it would be with the reservation system. We originally wanted to stay 4 nights (for the Tinker Bell Half Marathon) but the rates for the first two nights were much lower than the last two nights (we ended up moving to the Hyatt, less money, no hairs...). But as I was trying to make the Anabella work out for all four nights I "called" the number on the website that states it is for "Exclusive Discounts" and was told by the CS agent that (1) they do offer any specials other than what is listed on the website and (2) they were booked due to a convention. It might have been true, but when we checked out to move down the street, it didn't look very full. And if they do not offer any discounts for the call, they shouldn't advertise as such.

Will we stay again? Perhaps. When we visit the DLR I am always weighing cost vs. convenience vs. possible issues (like smells and hairs). I really, really want to love the Anabella. So we'll see.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that some rooms have "hard wood styled" floors, and others are carpeted. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anabella

Address: 1030 W. Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Anabella Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anabella 3.5*
Number of rooms: 358
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and the warm decor the perfect retreat upscale interiors,Divine TM pillow top beds, a sleep experience by the Anabella Hotel, crisp white bedding and elegant granite bathrooms. Its well appointed location is just minutes away from our Awarding Winning Tangerine Grill and Patio well known for its eclectic California Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Anabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anabella Hotel Anaheim
Annabella Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.