We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anasmell of Anaheim” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Anabella

Save Saved
You added The Anabella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Anabella
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1030 W. Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Anabella Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Anasmell of Anaheim”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Our first room had the 2nd floor ice machine against our bedroom wall. Amazingly the room with the ice machine had another wall that was part of the engineering room. Wouldn't it make sense to put the ice machine against THAT wall??? Our first room and second room had the windows wide open to mask the mildew smell. Keep the A/C going or your room smells like old socks. If your on the first floor be prepared to hear ALL of your 2nd floor guest's bathroom sounds each morning.

This place has one redeeming quality only, the rooms sleep a bunch of people. The staff is well trained to nod and smile as your the next guest to complain about the mildew smell. The crickets IN the second room probably like the smell?

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. I am sincerely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here in November. We take great pride in our customer service so it is saddening to hear that it was not up to your standards. I will be sure to pass this information along to the Front Desk as well as our housekeeping department. All of your concerns have been passed on to the appropriate departments.

We appreciate the feedback and again, I personally apologize for your unpleasant stay. I am trying to contact you through TripAdvisor email, I look forward to your response.

Kindest Regards,
Sean Patrick
Reservations Supervisor
(714)905-1050
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    633
    648
    329
    221
    217
See reviews for
912
336
38
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We've done Disney from Paris, FL to CA, multiple times. My child has gotten sick the last 3 CA trips. Once at the Grand Californian Disney Resort and twice now, while staying at the Annabella. In March, during Spring Break, they extended our check-out, while she slept off the prescription the doctor sent. Yesterday, they cleaned our room promptly and sanitized, after she threw up all over the bed. This location is really good for larger families. They have "Casita suites", which include a daybed in a separate room and a large queen or the family. The staff should really check on the Restaruant more, Tangerine is always a problem. The hotel is pretty good for the value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I just spent 8 nights here from the end of October to the 5th. of November. We stayed in the Carmel building and we loved it. Room was huge and everything was so clean everyday. Ground floor was great as we are in our mid-sixties and after walking to and from Disneyland for 5 days in a row plus all the miles at the Park with 4 Grand-children, we didn't need stairs.
We have stayed at the Disneyland Hotel,Howard Johnsons and the Jolly Roger on previous visits, but this is the best, and we will use the Annabella again. You can count on it!!!
Don and Dianne Walker, Calgary, Alberta

Room Tip: We had a king size and a double for the two of us. Lots of room. Huge. Our two daughters stayed at H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Arriving at the Anabella was a pleasant surprise. Nice grounds. Loved the front desk clerk, Jennifer. She was very helpful and friendly. She did upgrade us to a nicer room. It did cost $20.00 a night though. We didn't want two double beds because it was just the two of us, me and my husband. I had booked through Hotwire and understand it's not guaranteed when done this way. She also showed us the best way to get to Disneyland from the hotel.
Also, found the bell boy Augie, helpful, he jumped at grabbing our bags. Also took us to our room with the golf cart, since it was across the property. He was also friendly on the following days when we ran into him. He obviously enjoys his job.
After getting settled we decided to get something to eat at the Tangarine Restaurant on the premises. It was really great. Food was very good and orgainic, which I thought I would have a hard time finding. Roberta the waitress was very friendly also.
I was leary of this hotel after reading the reviews but was pleasantly surprised after arriving on the first day. The room looked nice and couldn't find anything really wrong on the first view. Everything change on the second day though.
Getting up the next morning to take a shower. We ran the water for over 20 minutes and no hot water. Went to call the front desk and the phone handset wasn't working. Had to use the speaker part of the phone to talk to them. They did send up a maintence man right away and did fix the hot water within 30 minutes. It did set us back some getting into Disney.
Also there was a small coffee pot in the room and I made coffee for my husband while we were waiting for the hot water. When my husband went to drink it, it was not drinkable. He said it tasted like mud and had a film on the top. They switched out the coffee maker but after making a new pot it wasn't any better so we figured it was the coffee provided. He ended up buying coffee in Disneyland for the next few days.
Other issues we had were as follows,
1. Ice machine broken in two of the building the first night there. Didn't feel like walking to every ice machine to find ice.
2. Phone broken (told they didn't have a new one)
3. TV with bad picture and sound. The sound would fluxuate. (Didn't have time to watch much since we were in Disneyland most of the time.)
4. Thin walls. Lots of sounds. Sounded like dripping water. Could have been the shower next door. Also could hear a lot of talking.
5. No paper and pen in room
6. Heater control on wall doesn't work. Had to use the AC unit to heat the room.
7. Last but not least no hot water on first day.

What we liked.
1. Friendly staff
2. Close proximity to Disney
3. Comfortable beds
4. Nice pool and jacuzzi area
5. Convenient Restaurant with good food

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying here again since it's just a base location for the main destination which is Disneyland. It's only about a 15 minute walk through the Grand Californian. When cutting through the Grand Californian you have to go through Downtown Disney also if going early. The entrance into California adventure is reserved for hotel guests from the Grand Californian before 11am. If I would like a closer location may go to hotels closer to main entrance.
This hotel could be really nice if maintence was done and some updated made. There seemed to be a lot of underlining problems that could be fixed.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room, since it helps with noise, walls thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

First of all, for those of you looking to go to Disneyland, the first week of November was PERFECT. Small crowds, great weather.
But I think what made this so memorable was that the Anabella was also perfect. We had two families (4 adults, 3 kids ages 4-6) so we got two of the Concierge rooms. What a smart layout for a room where there are lots of families. Plenty of space to spread out.
Our room came with a breakfast, but the prices were so cheap that we ordered outside of the Classic that came with the room.Great deal for a very good breakfast.
The location is absolutely unbeatable. As soon as we got there, we didn't get in the cars again until we left. We literally walked to Disneyland each day, and at the end of each day it was so nice to know that we were only steps from our beds.
The bellmen were awesome, the front desk agents were really nice, the housekeepers were very sweet, and 3 out of 4 restaurant servers were perfect. the last one was simply just too busy.
Now that our kids are old enough, we'll be doing this trip every two years, and I have no doubt we'll be re-booking at Anabella.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. It’s great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us in November. We take great pride in our service and cleanliness and I will be sure to relay your positive remarks to all of our staff. Feedback like yours inspires us to continue to strive for excellence. We look forward to you and your families return! Feel free to call and ask for me personally on your next trip, I would be more then happy to help with rates and reservations.

Kind Regards,
Sean Patrick
Reservations Supervisor
(714)905-1050
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here in June. It is directly across the street from Disney's California Adventure and within a block of the Anaheim Convention Centre.

My friend and I used the hotel as a launching ground for a couple days at theme parks and a work-related conveniton.

The hotel was very clean. The front desk staff were very friendly. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

WIthout hesitation, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Disney Parks/Anaheim Convention Centre area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us in November. We take great pride in our service and cleanliness and I will be sure to relay these positive remarks to the Front desk and Housekeeping staff. Feedback like yours inspires us to continue to strive for excellence. Thank you for recommending us, we look forward to your next stay! Feel free to call and ask for me personally on your next trip, I would be more then happy to help with rates and reservations.

Kind Regards,
Sean Patrick
Reservations Supervisor
(714)905-1050
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We were staying at the Carmel buildings and the hot water was on and off often at crucial times of the day. Staff finally relocated us after 2 days. We don't even get an apology or a room up grade. Service was slow we are waiting for 30 minutes for bell boy to help us move the luggage and after 2 phone calls it did not happen. We decided to move our luggage ourselves. Toilets have faint odour maybe a drainage problem.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnabellaManager, Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. I am sincerely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here in Novemeber. We take great pride in our customer service so it is saddening to hear that it was not up to your standards. I will be sure to pass this information along to the Front Desk as well as the Bell staff. In regards to the hot water issue, it has been raised to our engineering department and they have since corrected the concern.

We appreciate the feedback, and all of the concerns you have raised will be addressed accordingly. Again, I personally apologize for your unpleasant stay. I am trying to contact you through TripAdvisor email, I look forward to your response.

Kindest Regards,
Sean Patrick
Reservations Supervisor
(714)905-1050
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Anabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anabella

Address: 1030 W. Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Anabella Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anabella 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and the warm decor the perfect retreat upscale interiors,Divine TM pillow top beds, a sleep experience by the Anabella Hotel, crisp white bedding and elegant granite bathrooms. Its well appointed location is just minutes away from our Awarding Winning Tangerine Grill and Patio well known for its eclectic California Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Anabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anabella Hotel Anaheim
Annabella Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.