We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hospitality!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Anabella

Save Saved
You added The Anabella to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Anabella
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1030 W. Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Anabella Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible hospitality!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

No microwaves at all, no complimentary breakfast(not even continental), no free parking ($14 a night), staff is very rude, bugs crawling around on the floors (from the trees outside the doors), walls are paper thin (heard people above and on the sides of our room. And don't ask for a late check out, because they will charge $20 an hour. The rooms are pretty with the shutters and the floors are nice, but dirty, the bottom of our feet were black). The Tangerine Grill on the other hand must be privately owned, because they were very nice and polite.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    634
    648
    329
    221
    217
See reviews for
913
336
38
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our room was towards the Convention Center, so the noise was higher... especially because the windows were open in the bathroom (no fans in there).
The beds were really comfy, but for some reason, ours were super loud. every time you moved, it made a loud noise.
Rooms were clean enough, and housekeeping staff could be better (not replacing towels or soap).
The Front Desk Manager was amazing... we had some "hiccups" with our rooms, and he took the time to sit down with us to discuss everything thoroughly so he could have those issues addressed immediately.
The location is perfect if you are going to Disneyland/California Adventure. LIterally a five-minute, easy, drive.

Room Tip: request to be far away from the convention center... the noise of the loading docks can be pretty lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Queensland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We only stayed here one night after checking out of a Disney Hotel. The hotel is more Motel style and you can park your car near your room. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. We were 'upgraded' to a suite but the second room was sort of like a broom cupboard with a sofa in it. I would have preferred the standard twin. It is in a great location for Disney and for the money I don't think you can go wrong. If we lived in the USA and Disney wasn't such a big 'treat' for us i would use the Anabella again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GGentry, Front Office Manager at The Anabella, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post online regarding your recent stay. I am happy that you liked our hotel we try very hard to provide the best possible product and service. We are always trying to upgrade all of our rooms if we have availability so I am very happy that we were able to accommodate you and your party. Thanks again and I hope to see you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hill, La
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Devine pillow top beds and linens are so comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. Landscape is awesome. We watched the fireworks every night from our balcony. There is a laundry on the grounds for the guest. The location is perfect for disney and the beach. Pools were clean. Food was great! Appearance of everything is beautiful and real. Great wi-fi and iron and ironing board. Safe works in the room. I stayed a 8 days and would do it again if I have the chance.
A Louisiana nurse :)

Room Tip: If you are in meetings at the convention center ask for rooms closest to that area so you will save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here in the past and always the staff was great. The room was clean and very pleasant. We love the location and will stay again. We visit Disneyland about 5 or 6 times a year and always stay at the Anabella. The pool is great and very clean always. We also like the fact that the room has wood floors. We have friends that stay here all the time and have always enjoyed there stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las cruces
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for a family vacation and booked one of the family suites. It would have been nice to have 2 bathrooms with the 2 room suite instead of one and the tub never drained properly. We always had plenty of towels and the room was clean. The wood floors were a little funny feeling on your feet in front of the air conditioner where they were getting moisture but otherwise a nice hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor which made it alot quieter but can still hear road noise. Adult pool is noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were there in mid-September and had a room with a queen bed - it wasn't super big, but just right for the two of us. We were primarily there for Disneyland/California Adventure, so we didn't need a big room. It was clean, the bed was very comfy and we didn't have any noise issues. It was a 15 minute walk from our room to the parks - I've seen reviews complaining about the blocks being really long and the walk being hard from the hotel, but we are pretty young and in good shape and it was really easy for us. The adults-only pool was a godsend in the middle of the day after being in the parks all morning - and it was 108 degrees for two of the days we were there, so it really saved us! It was very relaxing - there was no poolside service while we were there, but the bar was very close and the bartender was awesome. The hot tub was great on the first day, too, with our sore feet from walking in the parks all day. I've also seen reviews complaining about the service, but everyone was really great while we were there. Very helpful and nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone taking a trip to the parks - it's very close - you can see the California Screaming ride from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Anabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anabella

Address: 1030 W. Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Anabella Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anabella 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and the warm decor the perfect retreat upscale interiors,Divine TM pillow top beds, a sleep experience by the Anabella Hotel, crisp white bedding and elegant granite bathrooms. Its well appointed location is just minutes away from our Awarding Winning Tangerine Grill and Patio well known for its eclectic California Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Anabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anabella Hotel Anaheim
Annabella Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.