We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wonderful wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 114 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful wonderful wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Everything was awesome, anytime we had a question, it was answered directly, we had a downtown Disney view and we were right above "world of Disney" store. I was stoked we got to stay here for paying 3 nights and 2 nights free. It helped our budget. I loved the view, I loved the fireworks from our room view. I especially loved my Pina colava drinks. Very tasty. The pool was nice, though for the crowd, you really can't let that get to you. You're there, enjoy it. It was all for pleasure time, we were on vacation away from the real world hehe Very nice hotel, I will be coming back to it as soon as I can ;-)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,395
    945
    423
    192
    80
See reviews for
1,933
367
17
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
expat
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Traveled with young child and great-grandmother in wheelchair. Asked for adjoining rooms with one room needing a roll-in shower. Not only was this provided but also placed in rooms with pool and California Adventure views. Ambrose was wonderful with check-in. Balloons, buttons, signed pictures, and a big plate of cookies and milk (compliments of Mickey and gang) were delivered to our room....made the great-grandmother tear-up and our young son giggle with delight. Our thanks to Rosa in housekeeping for her attentive attention. We thank everyone for making our great-grandmother's first trip to Disneyland a wonderful memory we have to cherish.
TIPS: Blue Bayou a must (surf/turf). Halloween Fireworks cannot be missed.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

My wife and I traveled with our two girls (3yr old & 14 yr old).
We stayed at the Grand Californian Hotel for 6 days. My first thought was; 6 days? That's a long time for Disneyland. We absolutely love the hotel, I didn’t want to leave.
We stayed on the west wing of the hotel (room 3454), we had a theme park view with the Grizzly Mountain view right from our balcony. Log Cabin style hotel, the room was spacious.
We have a GrandBed by Temperpedic (bed & pillows). The bed was so comfortable and the pillows; my wife kept saying “I love this pillows” I don’t know why but they feel better than my Temperpedic pillows”. Lol
Our little one love the turn down service with Chocolate.


A World of Convenience:
There was a stair way right next to our room that would take you right down to Downtown Disney in between World of Disney Store & La Brea Bakery Café. Both the Disneyland Park & California Adventure Park are steps away from there. From inside the Hotel you can step right out into California Adventure Park and get right in line for the Grizzly River Run ride. Our 3 year old would get tired, we simply walk back to our room and put her down for a nap= Priceless.

Excellent Food:
Story Telling- Delicious. You can do buffet style or A la Cart, your choice.
White Water Poolside Snack Bar- Also good food, decently priced and convenient
Napa Rose- Didn’t get a chance to dine here. =(.
Hearthstone Lounge- Cozy ambiance with a fire place lodge like feeling. Very cool.

Pool Fun for Everyone:
The pools were not really crowded, service was great, fun for everyone.

** Oh, I almost forgot they have a new arcade on the new right wing.

Our future stays will be only at Disney's Grand Californian Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We love the Gand Californian Hotel we have stayed here on three occasions. The convenience of staying right next to the Disney parks is a big plus. The lobby and bar are great places to grab a few quiet moments away from the parks. We got to stay in a brand new room, in the new wing, over looking the new pool. You could even watch some of the Disneyland fireworks from our balcony. We would go less often or stay less days if we had to just to stay here. Great employees the front desk staff, bellmen, housekeeping and waitresses in the bar kept us very happy during our stay. After three stays no complaints here. They even have a child care center if mom and dad want to have a quiet dinner by themselves. O.K. one small complaint the pilows are over stuffed no way to get comfortable with them. I'll bring my own next time. Counting down to our next stay in December 2010.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cali
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

beautiful arts and crafts style hotel,very comfy beds(didnt want to get up) and the best pillows ever!( i even brought my own but for the first time didnt use them!) housekeeping was very nice with a turn down service(complete with chocolates) staff was extremely polite and very helpful-always service with a smile. the in house resturants were a bit pricey but the food was very good. if you have special dietary needs(vegan etc) and you give them notice they can get tofu or whatever you like.the chef is more than willing to prepare an off menu item for you( he even comes to your table to talk to you personally). easy access to parks.in room thermastats so if your hot you can crank down the air.coffee maker and fridge in room. large flat screen tv(though i thought it could of been moved over more in front of queen bed ,it was off to the side ) great blackout curtins (with sheers) so you can auctually sleep in without getting woken up by sun comming in your room. and we never heard any neighbor noise or tv or anything. nice furnishings and did i say really really great bed and pillows? and everything was so clean, even the bottom of my socks were clean after walking around with no shoes on. the hotel is pricey but you can get good package deals if you look around and its really great if you want to treat yourself,we will be staying there again defintly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

great place to stay with good accommodation and convenient location. service levels were great across the hotel except the inhouse dining was terribble with bad food.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

The hotel was very good - much better than many reviews had suggested - but it comes at a high price. We booked via DVC, had a standard room (front of hotel carpark view). It was a large room with good amenities, clean and in good condition. Access to Disney is unbeatable - very close and easy to get to. As a first timer I would have liked a bit more assistance in planning my time - we only had 2 days, had not been abot to conduct much research and wanted to maximise our time. Guest services were unavailable on a couple of occasions when I tried in the lobby.
Theme breakfast with Chip n Dale is expensive (but no more so than in a 5 star hotel anywhere in the world - I think we paid about $70 for 2 Ad, 1 Ch). My sone ate nothiing but was very excited at seeing the characters.
Staff are well-trained to look out for the birthday buttons and it has an extraordinary effect on a 5-yr-old to be wished Happy Birthday by name by so many people.
So yes it's expensive, but coming from Australia and with limited time I didn't regret a cent.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#21 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Californian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.