We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dapper Day Weekend Stay (February 2014)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Newark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dapper Day Weekend Stay (February 2014)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Sorry this review is from a few months ago, but I wanted to still review it based on my great experience. The room we had this trip was a garden view, with a partial view of Downtown Disney. This stay was prior to the new downtown disney starbucks, so we had a little bit of a construction view. However, given the low rate we received for staying at the hotel, I really can't complain. The convenience of our own entrance into California Adventure was great. Since it was a low season time, we never had a line.
The theme in the room is super cute with hints of snow white and bambi. Very earthy. You forget you are staying in a "Disney hotel".
The rooms are a bit small, significantly smaller than paradise pier and disneyland hotel. When I spoke with a bellmen at the DL hotel, he explained that because it is the newest and they were trying to fit as many rooms as possible.
The beds are super comfortable. Though the DL hotel is just as comfortable. The pools are great. Very resort-like, with a nice view of the Redwoods in California Adventure.
Cast members at the hotel were great for the most part. We were able to get a golf car ride to paradise pier when we transferred over there. We were actually able to get a golf cart ride to paradise pier each time we asked. Also, when we transferred to Paradise Pier, the hotel/bell staff offered to take our luggage over the the Pier from the Grand. That was great! The only bad experience I had was with a gentleman in Valet. I paid the extra money for valet. unfortunately, the man in valet, whether stressed or busy or whatever, was not friendly. Not the kind of Disney personality I expect when spending a lot of money.
I really do love the Grand. However, after having stayed at Disneyland hotel, it will take me buying into DVC to stay there over the DL hotel. Don't get me wrong. The hotel is absolutely stunning. Especially the lobby area and pools. The restaurants are wonderful. The small size of the room and the expensive cost of the room are my only complaints really. If you are DVC or have the extra money, stay at the Grand. I just appreciate the DL hotel much more.
(Please see the Disneyland hotel review I did for July 2014. It was absolutely wonderful. I ended up changing my Fall Dapper Day Weekend hotel from the Grand to the DL Hotel. Just great!)

Room Tip: Rooms near lobby seem to be the most equidistant from both parks. Rooms are tight. So, less luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    889
    376
    170
    70
See reviews for
1,778
337
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

First time staying the the Grand Californian for a recent trip to Diseyland with our 6 and 3 yr olds ... I have to tell you the direct access into Cali Adv --- the best.... as when one melted down it was off to the room, and no big deal .... 10 mins or so and there from inside the park .....

We spent 4 days and 3 in parks one in pool --- pool's were fantastic!!!! Plenty of space (several pools and couple hot tubs ....

Pool side service --- and with soda for kids or adults!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Got a standard room because we were only sleeping here. Decor is old and dated. I can get over that. But our room was musty smelling, had a high pitch alarm noise off and on, patio door wouldn't open, air conditioning barely worked (set at 65 with fan and maybe only 70) and phone didn't work. After first night complained but they didn't have a room. I am sure other rooms are fine. Room 1529 needs to be shut down and redone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I have definitely had a love hate relationship with this hotel for many years now. The biggest problem we have had has been the inability to get the room we request. Whether we make the reservation months ahead of time and request the room then or call the night before and request it again or even arrive early for check in to make sure we get it.... there is, as they say "no guarantee we get the room we requested". That has always been annoying considering the considerable amount of money I am paying for this room! If you are paying over $600 a night (and this can be much more depending on the season) for a room, you should have the call on which one it is. We usually request a theme park view room and they always give us a pool view upon check-in, claiming it is equivalent. Well it is not. If I am paying for a theme park view and have requested it, then my transaction is based on getting that room. The hotel reservation staff puts us through this each time we have visited. They give us the pool view room with bunks, when we request a theme park view with double queen beds and we have to tolerate that room until the one we requested is open. Very frustrating experience, I dread it each time we visit. The reservation site should allow you to pick the EXACT room you need (including bed sizes and views). It should even have a comment section where you can state the floor and wing level etc...without calling anything equivalent. This has needed modification for years.
The rooms are not top notch, they are small and getting a bit old...need new fixtures, carpet and linens (my towels felt like rags rather than towels). I think they need a remodel and update on linens. The housekeeping has had a history of being lousy considering the level of the hotel, but recently they seem to be trying to get a better staff and are checking in to make sure your housekeeping requests are fulfilled. That is an improvement.
I have liked most of the bell hops here, they have been real nice and helpful. Only had one bad experience with a guy named Doug who was rude and seemed racist to me. I should have have filed a complaint over something he did that was extremely inappropriate.
I love the proximity to the park, that is what gets you here. I love taking the mid-afternoon breaks with my kids and not being far from the park. I think they should make that entrance to the park from the hotel an exclusive hotel guest entrance at all times and not just in the morning, mainly because the crowds at this entrance have gotten ridiculous recently. Plus it gives being a disney hotel guest a serious perk.
I wish they would allow more perks for staying at a disney hotel like the magic bands they give you at the Florida Park Hotels and set them with a number of fast passes. This would make the stays at their hotels more valuable, since they charge so much more then the other hotels in the area.
The pool is gorgeous, during peak seasons they have entertainment there... love that for the kids.

Room Tip: Very difficult to get the room you want here, I wish I had a suggestion for this. Perhaps persistenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Me and my kids loved this hotel. This was our first time in a Disney Hotel and it was trully magical. Judy at the Guest Services was awesome she provided excellent customer service. Loved it and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We definitely took advantage of the the 'magic gateway" between the Grand Californian and California Adventure Park right next door.. it is just great being so handy. I was a little disappointed that there wasn't a room available with a king bed on the Concierge floor, but we were at the parks for so many hours, it didn't matter in the end. We did make great use of the breakfast provided on the Concierge floor, but we never got back for afternoon tea!
Thoroughly enjoyed the convenience of this hotel, this is our third time staying there, and we would definitely return..

Room Tip: Try and request a room that looks out over the park - will be fantastic during fireworks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was the fourth different Disney hotel we have stayed at and it certainly meets the normal high standard. Impressive architecture was matched by excellent service and an ideal location right next to the theme parks and Disney Village.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#13 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#16 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Californian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.