We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard = Subpar” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Standard = Subpar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Got a standard room because we were only sleeping here. Decor is old and dated. I can get over that. But our room was musty smelling, had a high pitch alarm noise off and on, patio door wouldn't open, air conditioning barely worked (set at 65 with fan and maybe only 70) and phone didn't work. After first night complained but they didn't have a room. I am sure other rooms are fine. Room 1529 needs to be shut down and redone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,478
    993
    447
    194
    84
See reviews for
2,036
390
19
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I have definitely had a love hate relationship with this hotel for many years now. The biggest problem we have had has been the inability to get the room we request. Whether we make the reservation months ahead of time and request the room then or call the night before and request it again or even arrive early for check in to make sure we get it.... there is, as they say "no guarantee we get the room we requested". That has always been annoying considering the considerable amount of money I am paying for this room! If you are paying over $600 a night (and this can be much more depending on the season) for a room, you should have the call on which one it is. We usually request a theme park view room and they always give us a pool view upon check-in, claiming it is equivalent. Well it is not. If I am paying for a theme park view and have requested it, then my transaction is based on getting that room. The hotel reservation staff puts us through this each time we have visited. They give us the pool view room with bunks, when we request a theme park view with double queen beds and we have to tolerate that room until the one we requested is open. Very frustrating experience, I dread it each time we visit. The reservation site should allow you to pick the EXACT room you need (including bed sizes and views). It should even have a comment section where you can state the floor and wing level etc...without calling anything equivalent. This has needed modification for years.
The rooms are not top notch, they are small and getting a bit old...need new fixtures, carpet and linens (my towels felt like rags rather than towels). I think they need a remodel and update on linens. The housekeeping has had a history of being lousy considering the level of the hotel, but recently they seem to be trying to get a better staff and are checking in to make sure your housekeeping requests are fulfilled. That is an improvement.
I have liked most of the bell hops here, they have been real nice and helpful. Only had one bad experience with a guy named Doug who was rude and seemed racist to me. I should have have filed a complaint over something he did that was extremely inappropriate.
I love the proximity to the park, that is what gets you here. I love taking the mid-afternoon breaks with my kids and not being far from the park. I think they should make that entrance to the park from the hotel an exclusive hotel guest entrance at all times and not just in the morning, mainly because the crowds at this entrance have gotten ridiculous recently. Plus it gives being a disney hotel guest a serious perk.
I wish they would allow more perks for staying at a disney hotel like the magic bands they give you at the Florida Park Hotels and set them with a number of fast passes. This would make the stays at their hotels more valuable, since they charge so much more then the other hotels in the area.
The pool is gorgeous, during peak seasons they have entertainment there... love that for the kids.

Room Tip: Very difficult to get the room you want here, I wish I had a suggestion for this. Perhaps persistenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Me and my kids loved this hotel. This was our first time in a Disney Hotel and it was trully magical. Judy at the Guest Services was awesome she provided excellent customer service. Loved it and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We definitely took advantage of the the 'magic gateway" between the Grand Californian and California Adventure Park right next door.. it is just great being so handy. I was a little disappointed that there wasn't a room available with a king bed on the Concierge floor, but we were at the parks for so many hours, it didn't matter in the end. We did make great use of the breakfast provided on the Concierge floor, but we never got back for afternoon tea!
Thoroughly enjoyed the convenience of this hotel, this is our third time staying there, and we would definitely return..

Room Tip: Try and request a room that looks out over the park - will be fantastic during fireworks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was the fourth different Disney hotel we have stayed at and it certainly meets the normal high standard. Impressive architecture was matched by excellent service and an ideal location right next to the theme parks and Disney Village.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We are DVC fo many years. First time in the hotel. It is an advantage to go to your room to take the shower or chnge you baby. Some people could find it expensive, but tge convivience of the location is priceless. The extra hour in the morning allow you to have the best spot for kcharacter atraction an the mos famous atraction. If you really want to enjoy your stay in Anaheim you most stay here

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just back from California and Disneyland. We stayed at the Grand Californian and it was just as expected. The hotel and grounds were amazing. Very similar in colors and style as Disneys wilderness lodge in Florida. The location is amazing and service was top notch. If we make it back to SoCal we will be staying here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#9 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,762 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, EasyToBook, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Californian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.