We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 113 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
whittier
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times. We live locally to Disneyland and have gone for birthday weekends - something special.

This hotel is beautiful, the service has always been great, however, I do find it to be a little over-priced. And yet, I wouldn't stay anywhere else near Disneyland.

Also, hotels at Disney World could take some courses in cleaning and customer service from our original Disneyland!

I love that they actually offer bunk beds in some of their rooms for families with kids. This is a great feature if you are lucky enough to get one of those rooms. With a son and daughter, they don't necessarily want to sleep together so the bunk beds are wonderful!!!

The pool area is clean and they provide towels at the pool. I also like that they have a small food option restaurant near the pool with quick easy meals. Storyteller's Cafe is a decent restaurant. I also like that you have the option of a buffet or menu items to order.

Just be prepared to walk! Some of the rooms are quite a distance from an elevator. They have always been clean and comfortable and amazingly quiet!

I will stay here again!!!

Room Tip: The theme park view rooms are great for the night lights, but are more of a walk from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,370
    930
    414
    189
    79
See reviews for
1,898
358
16
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite at the Grand Californian for 3 nights. It was a very spacious suite with two bathrooms and a view overlooking the monorail. The room was very well maintained, clean and very quiet. We ordered room service one night and that was delivered efficiently and was delicious. We ate breakfast on site in the Storytellers Cafe and at Whitewater snacks and those were both good. The staff were helpful and efficient, although getting our bags out from the bell desk on departure took a long time. The best part of this hotel is the location and the direct entrance into Disney Californian Adventure, which is unbeatable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

As you would expect, Disney has a real winner of a hotel with the Grand Californian. Storytellers restaurant is a great choice will a killer corn chowder. If you can get up early on a vacation, hotel guests can get into one of the parks an hour before the general public. The lobby bar does a good coffee business in the morning yet Starbucks is being built in downtown Disney.

Only a couple of suggestions: The wait staff around the pool need more staff or maybe an iPad device to order from rather than the long walk back and forth. Secondly, the equipment in the gym is visibly rusting apart.

You will love the hotel regardless of my negative comments!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The front desk was very accommodating found us a room with 2 queens. The location is amazing for spending time in both parts and downtown Disney. Lots to do in the area. No car needed. Lobby is quite impressive. Rooms are clean but not updated.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Many of the positive reviews I would confirm. Great location, thought the room was well-appointed, and the location was ideal. As an infrequent visitor to Disneyland, thought the location and quality balanced with the price. Everything else being equal (see below), I'd stay here again, although I'd strongly consider paying for a suite if more than 2 people in the room - the room seemed to shrink over time.

HOWEVER

Others should be aware of what I experienced. Two issues that made this stay far from "magical".

1) Room Type. Specifically reserved (and paid for) a parkview room with what I thought was a king bed / sofa pull out. When I was checking in, the intro was "we have your pool view room ready". Yeah, right. Had to pull up the res on my i-phone, clerk went back, and came back - and I quote - "congratulations, I was able to upgrade you to a park view room". Surprised he didn't throw out his shoulder patting himself on the back for that. Somewhat comp'd for it, but it was not the welcoming experience after 6 hours of travel. They blamed it on a "system issue", but I strongly believe they oversold the park view and tried to schlep it off. I also did not get my desired bedding choice. Be advise - bring hard copy of the room type reserved if important to you, and bedding choice is not a commitment.

2) Cash transactions will end up on your bill with terrible results. One of the conveniences was to buy tickets at the hotel and use its entrance. I bought passes at the front desk using cash during a separate transaction unrelated to the check-in. To my surprise, this transaction was entered onto my room charges, and the cash was incorrectly entered - they shortchanged me by $100. I was astonished that this transaction was even posted to my room account, as this just opens up opportunity for fraud and error. Yes, they corrected it, but this should not have been an issue.

In summary, great place to stay and if the cost/benefit is worth it to you, would encourage others to stay here. However, don't be lulled by a false sense of security. The fact that you pay this much for a room, or that you're in the "Magic Kingdom", doesn't eliminate the risk of fraud or bait-n-switch. Be as prepared here as you are with any hotel in any big city across the world, bring your paperwork, and don't let your guard down.

Room Tip: Higher levels better. Be sure to bring backup on what room reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Location to Disneyland and California Adventure is Excellent. Every single other aspect of this hotel is Terrible. Food = very poor, apart from Napa Rose. Lobby is impressive if you like a "lodge looking hotel" however, the hallways, walls, rooms, bathrooms - basically every other part of this hotel looks terribly old and dark. It feels as though the entire hotel has a dark cloud over it - and this was the comment that one of the staff members behind the front counter made. For the price that you pay at this hotel, it is not worth even half the amount.

Do yourself a favour and stay at the Disneyland Hotel. Yes it is older and is the original Disneyland Hotel, however, it looks a Million Times younger and Brighter and a Much Happier place to stay. As an Alternative, the Hilton Anaheim is FANTASTIC

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is definitely a 4-star quality property at 5-star prices, but you are paying for the amazing location and with little kids who hate to walk, it was worth it for us.

ROOMS-
Basic basic basic and decor is tired. I knew that going in from reading reviews here, so wasn't surprised or disappointed as I knew the rooms were not dazzling. We had the room overlooking the parking lot which was fine because we paid for that category. Bathroom is small and functional.

LOBBY-
Big and convention-space like.

POOL-
3 spacious clean pools, good chairs, good service by the pool. While we were there they were shooting a commerical on the pool with the slide so that area was closed most of the day. Hate that!

CONVENIENCE TO THE MOUSE-
Couldn't be better!!! So great to be so close to both parks. We were able to return for a swim in the heat of the day and return to the park at night. Because we happened to be visiting right before labor day and after school had started for California kids, we had almost no lines, so the early entry wasn't such a big benefit.

SERVICE-
Extremely warm and friendly, as expected.

OVERALL-
Worth it if you value convenience and can get a good rate!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#20 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Californian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.