We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wanted more Disney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I wanted more Disney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. However, given the price and the fact that it is the No 1 Disney hotel in Anaheim, we expected more Disney fun. We did not see any characters in the hotel apart from at the Critters Breakfast. The breakfast was expensive and did not have the range of food I expected. Also whilst the Critters were fun, I missed Mickey and the gang. Next time we'll probably stay at a cheaper hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,524
    1,016
    459
    196
    85
See reviews for
2,103
397
19
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The location is so nice. It is only like Minute walk to California Adventure. But it is still not that far away from Disneyland, the exit to Disneyland drops you off right in the middle of Downtown Disney, so that isn't that far of a walk. A standard room is decent sized, and the beds are super comfortable. The hotel complex is very nice and luxurious, it makes you feel like your in a 1920's Californian grand lodge. So over all if your going too Disneyland I think this is the best hotel. Oh and if you stay at on of the three Disney hotels ( Disneyland Hotel, Paradise Pier, or the Grand Californian) you get Early Morning Magic which is we're you get to enter 1 of the parks an hour before it opens to the public.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The Grand Californian was fantastic. The location couldn't have been more perfect. We were in the park every morning by 7:00 a.m. - it's amazing how close the hotel is to both parks.

Pros: great location, comfortable room, clean, great restaurants, wonderful pools
Cons: There really weren't any for us - just a great place to stay if you are going to Disneyland.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was a very nice hotel and we loved staying here! We are so pleased with Disney and the level they keep their hotels at. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa and it was exceptionally clean. The room had everything we could have possibly needed to make our stay extra comfortable and convenient! It had its very own entrance to the California Adventure Park. There was an issue regarding the park with early entry through the hotel entrance that the hotel actually called and addressed it for us. We went ahead and went through the main entrance because we didn't want to wait but they called us back and went the extra mile to clear things up. We had also lost my daughters back pack upon check-in and baggage hold and we didn't realize it until we left, we were thinking we might have not brought it in and left it in the car, but when we got our car when we were leaving we noticed if had indeed been lost. The lady at the guest services was very helpful in getting lost and found on the line and they actually had her backpack in lost and found...only at Disneyland!!!! It had some of my daughters favorite dolls in there so she was excited to get it back! Great hotel and staff!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great hotel similar to the Wilderness Lodge in Florida. My Son loved his stay here. The Restaurant is a tad expensive, however, we enjoyed the trip as always. The pool is gated nd there re plenty of beds. We had a room with a view of the Park. I recommend Soarin :) The character lunches in the hotel are great fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

we stayed at the Grand for 10 days and every day was aewsome. The resort is clean and very friendly. The restaurants were all pretty good but need at least 2 more with more selection.
The pools were very clean and the service at the pool was great. ate 3 lunches there. Nice being able to relax and be pampered too. Not to expensive for poolside service.
Will stay here again. We had a regular room for 2 nights and a 1 bedroom villa for 8 nights. Was perfect for us and our daughter and grand daughter.

Room Tip: save a little money on breakfast, eat at the self serve restaurant near pool. Same quality of food a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I'm a DVC member and my home base is the California Grand Hotel. We stay in the 2 bedroom villas normally which accommodates up to 8. This time we stood in a deluxe studio. The view was at the park, which was a treat. However, I thinks it's time the rooms get a make over. The bedding and rugs are so old looking and the mattress is a little too lumpy. There was a smell in the room that only went away with the door kept open or the ac on. Otherwise, the staff is great and they try so hard to make you and your stay comfortable and because of the magical surroundings you are able to forget about the little stuff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#10 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#3 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#11 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Amex, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Californian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.