We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great hotel similar to the Wilderness Lodge in Florida. My Son loved his stay here. The Restaurant is a tad expensive, however, we enjoyed the trip as always. The pool is gated nd there re plenty of beds. We had a room with a view of the Park. I recommend Soarin :) The character lunches in the hotel are great fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,084
    739
    309
    143
    56
See reviews for
1468
277
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

we stayed at the Grand for 10 days and every day was aewsome. The resort is clean and very friendly. The restaurants were all pretty good but need at least 2 more with more selection.
The pools were very clean and the service at the pool was great. ate 3 lunches there. Nice being able to relax and be pampered too. Not to expensive for poolside service.
Will stay here again. We had a regular room for 2 nights and a 1 bedroom villa for 8 nights. Was perfect for us and our daughter and grand daughter.

Room Tip: save a little money on breakfast, eat at the self serve restaurant near pool. Same quality of food a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I'm a DVC member and my home base is the California Grand Hotel. We stay in the 2 bedroom villas normally which accommodates up to 8. This time we stood in a deluxe studio. The view was at the park, which was a treat. However, I thinks it's time the rooms get a make over. The bedding and rugs are so old looking and the mattress is a little too lumpy. There was a smell in the room that only went away with the door kept open or the ac on. Otherwise, the staff is great and they try so hard to make you and your stay comfortable and because of the magical surroundings you are able to forget about the little stuff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I love this hotel, my husband and I we stayed at all the times when we going to Disney, is pretty and fancy hotel, this last time we stayed in the room with view to the park, and was amazing every morning to see which ride was working or which one not, I know is kind of expensive, but I thinking on this way if I go to Disneyland I don't need to pay parking, walk or take the mini bus to get in to my car, get up pretty early to get in to the park, no no no, I stayed in this hotel, simple because is commodity, and comfortable, to walk and get in to the room, relax, and go back to the park, or go to downtown Disney, and have a drink, and go back to the room. This hotel is perfect for us.

Room Tip: Make reservations in advance, this hotel is at all the times pretty busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Disney Grand Californian is a visually stunning and spectacular hotel. The lobby, beginning with sliding glass entry doors, is truly a feast for the eyes. It is Grand in every sense of the word. It is unfortunate that our experience inside the building did not live up to the surroundings.

Check-in was a bit slow, as the front desk was understaffed given the demand. Check-in involved about a 15 minute wait. This was not unique to the arrival night, as we had problems with our room, and we waited for about 15 minutes to report them each night.

Housekeeping lacked attention to detail, and each of our five nights, we needed to get towels replaced and/or have toiletries delivered that were not stocked when the room was serviced.

Maintenance was also problematic. We had problems with our television, which we reported on our second night, and nightly thereafter, but it had not been addressed by the time we left after a five night stay. The only channels that properly functioned were those that originated within the resort.

While the Grand Californian has a convenient flat parking lot, we were not allowed to use it. We were forced to park in a high-rise parking garage attached to another Disney hotel due to landscaping work. As I am partially disabled, it was more than slightly inconvenient to have to negotiate several flights of stairs each time I needed to access the car.

While the staff/cast members were unfailingly kind in dealing with us, the final results kept falling short of the mark and while the attitude of the staff was highly commendable, their attention to detail was not. In spite of a failure to service the room properly on even so much as one day of the stay, and a failure to ensure the amenities all functioned as they should, no effort to compensate for these failures were offered. The only saving grace is that we had booked the room at slightly more than half-off the rack rate of $900+ per night. Nonetheless, even at $150 per night, I'm accustomed to better service.

The hotel is very convenient to the parks. However, one can get a room at one-third the Disney hotel price and take a shuttle bus from your hotel front door and arrive only slightly further from the park entrance than the hotels are located.

The one truly convenient benefit of staying in a park hotel is that your room key allows you to charge any purchase in the parks to your room bill, resulting in you needing to settle only one charge for your stay.

In summary, the Grand Californian is a stately and magnificent structure. It is very convenient to the parks. It is staffed with pleasant and well-meaning cast members. Now...if they could only do their job, it would be a magical place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Every May I am compelled to spend a weekend at Disney and have to decide Disneyland v. Grand Californian. This year we were at the Grand Californian. I tried to dislike it - I really tried - and I loved this hotel. It was comfortable, gracious, wonderfully staffed, incredibly convenient, and had a perfect balance of value for amenities. I guess I would give it an eensy tiny edge over the Disneyland for access to Downtown Disney, a small but extremely welcome outdoor balcony space, and access to a few more food options, but it doesn't have those super cool light-up musical headboards. A special shout-out to the valet parking and front desk staff for their Chaos Management Skills - they rock.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the roller coasters in California Adventure ... or not, if you like those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice and it's always such a treat. The front desk service is always courteous and prompt. Bell service could not be more helpful. If you come in early and need to store your luggage until your room is ready, no problem. If you're checking but want another stroll down Downtown Disney (or even take a last ride on the Pirates of the Carribean), no problem. They will store your luggage for you until you're ready to leave. The two times we've been here, our rooms have been to the adjacent wings so it can be quite a walk to Downtown Disney or the theme parks so if you would like to closer to the action, make sure to request for rooms in the main hotel. One of the other things I love about this place is that as guests you can go in to the theme parks at an hour before they open to the general public. Which is an absolute plus as getting into the new rides are a breeze. If you have kids and want to spend some time alone, you can drop them off at Pinocchio's Workshop (there is a fee but very reasonable as the caretakers are certified) for kid friendly activities. If you drop them off at night time, they take the kids up on the roof to see the fireworks (which my son says was the best part of our stay :) ). The rooms our beautifully decorated (but by far our favorite room has been at the club level of the Disneyland Hotel but that's another review for later) and very roomy. Our room had 2 double beds and a sitting area with a sofa and coffee table. We were on the second from the top floor and had a patial view of California Disney and was able to see some of the firework display from our balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Also Known As:
Grand Californian
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Grand California
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#14 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#16 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Californian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.