We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Mechanicsville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel of all the hotels surrounding Disneyland Resort has the best location. You can walk through one gate to enter Downtown Disney and another gate goes right into California Adventure Theme Park. If you have trouble walking or just don't like to do it, this is the hotel for you. Plus, it has the best restaurant Napa Rose inside. The lobby is very impressive with its massive ceiling and "woodland" décor. They have nice fireplaces to sit and relax. One night a "story teller" stopped by (unexpected to us) and told everyone a funny story. You gotta love Disney. They take a theme down to the tiniest detail. The décor is very woodland, and not very Disney. Inside our room was a shower curtain with Bambi and a picture of Snow White. That was the extent of the Disney characters in the hotel. My 10 year son was a little disappointed with that. Also, our upgraded view of a pool or woodland courtyard was the backside of trees surrounding the pool. I had heard before, if you can see any water from your balcony, Disney will charge you for it. It is true!! The room was average size with 2 queen beds (although we had requested a king bed). The beds were not very comfortable compared to other Disney hotels we have experienced. It pains me to say anything negative about Disney, but as their "premium" hotel for the area, I was not impressed. I think I would have rather stayed at Disneyland Hotel which is also very convenient to the parks and Downtown Disney. Their new pools and renovated themed rooms and towers would have felt more like the Disney my family loves in Disney World. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for seniors and anyone who doesn't like to walk a lot, However, if you have a fear of walking, then Disneyland resort is not the place for you!!

Room Tip: If you are getting a pool view room, request one on the top floor so you can actually see the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    993
    447
    194
    84
See reviews for
2,043
391
19
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I Stayed as a DVC (Vacation Club) member. Normally you will pay 250/night for a room like we had. A suite with a kitchen.
The rooms are very nice with 2 extra pull-out beds and a 2 portable cribs. All the 4-star amenities.

Recomendation: If you stay for more than a few days- you can shop for groceries on-line through VONS and they will deliver for free or a decent charge. The suites are well equipped and you can save a ton on soft drinks or Water - and snacks. In our case- it was needed as we have special dietary concerns.

One thing you will notice about Disney Resorts - attention to detail.

Downers: The Video reception in the room was poor. snowy channels on the TV. Several guests used room service. The plates left outside the room tended to stay there for longer than I would have liked. Housekeeping would not remove them as it was not their job.

Plusses: Restaurant serves Gluten Free and is open after the park closes. Fast and smooth elevators.

Need to Chill? Pool is great and they have a spa! Get your massage here.

Room Tip: If you can request - get a room overlooking the California Adventure Park from a high floor. You wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

You don't pay the big bucks for nothing! With its own private entrance into DCA Park, Monorail access, and its own entrance into Downtown Disney, this hotel is prime for getting to the places you want to be without walking too much.

We stayed during the end of Jan 2013 which was a great time to visit. The check-in process was easy although a night the lines can be a little long. Plus they were training new Castmembers and that can make thins a little bit slower. However, once we were with someone, it went pretty fast.

The only negative thing about this hotel is that the lobby is so nice that you'd expect the rooms to be as great or better. False. The room is a standard room. They really didn't go out of their way to make anything in it super nice. Basically for rooms, you pay for what you want to see out of your balcony. We had a partial theme park view but also a great view of the pools below. Worth upgrading? It makes things a bit better but for the money I'd say no.

Once thing we loved about this hotel is that it has a great viewing area of DCA Park and World of Color. Ask a Castmember where the viewing area is. For colder nights they even offer heaters here. It's really a great view. On the morning that Early Entry is available for Hotel guests only, the line into DCA Park is long! Get there early! Sometimes its better to go to the main entrance and go in. Depends on where you want to enter the Park and what rides you're looking to go on first.

The staff is great and very helpful. They're prompt on bring you any extras you need for your room. All-in-all, the location to everything is #1. Less walking, stay here. Need afternoon naps? Stay here. Guaranteed great service? Stay here. (I booked through Vacationeertravels.com, they easily had the lowest price out of everyone).

Room Tip: Room upgrading can help increase your outside view but the rooms really don't get any better tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have always wanted to stay at the Grand. The service from the front desk staff to the valets was fantastic. The grounds impeccable and the ease of entering DCA was very convenient, but like others you will pay the price! Our two night stay was $1200.00, ordinary room with a view of DCA. The one thing that didn't work, was the wireless Internet the entire time of our stay. Even calling the dedicated Disney IT support staff about the problem, never got the issue resolved....very frustrating and we had to use our cell phones everyday with the 4g. We will try the Disneyland hotel on our next weekend trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just returned from a 6 night stay with the family including a 5 year old and 7 month old.. Was a little nervous about the hotel after reading some reviews but it was great. We had a bunk room which my 5 year old was thrilled with and it also gave us plenty of room for the cot. The room was NOT looking worn (as I had read ), it was very clean and serviced very well.

I thought the bathroom lay out was good, with a low bath, which was great for bathing the kids and a seperate double basin sink outside of the bathroom, so others could brush teeth etc.

Really can not beat this hotel for convenience, especially with little ones to take advantage of the magic hours and get on the Cars ride.

Other great thing (well we thought so) was no mini bar and an empty fridge. Was great for baby foods and your own groceries. Especially given breakfast in one of the restaurants on the first morning cost $80+ we needed an alternative.

There is a guest laundry too which we used and it was fine.

They really have been very practical and thought of everything that would make travelling and staying with kids as enjoyable and easy as possible.

Only criticism was the lack of willingness of staff to assist with baggage. Disapointing after a 13 hour flight and clearly with young children. Plus misinformation given by the bell desk. Answers we received from the bell desk on a couple of occasions proved incorrect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our favorite place to stay with tiny grandchildren, the Grand Californian had no flaws once again. Yes, it's quite expensive, but it's worth the ease of having quiet down-time when you have cranky people, big or little! All the staff, from the young lady in the gift shop to the front desk to the concierge desk were wonderful. We tried White Water snacks for the first time, as well as the pool. All were lovely. Three generations traveling, and it makes the occasion special every time.
Standard rooms are not large, but suites are.
This is the hotel for those seeking tranquility.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We are just finishing up a three day stay here after several day drive down the coast from washington. We have a two bedroom villa booked with DVC points. It took a lot of points and I would not have booked the two bedroom if there was a one bedroom available. Lots of room for three people with three bathrooms. As others have mentioned the rooms are a little dark but the suite was very clean. We had to wait until 4 30 to check in but once we did the bags arrived within 10 minutes. The fitness center is very nice as is the pool where we spent the day today. Great slide. It is nice to be able to walk out into Downtown Disney right from the hotel. The area had good restaurants, shops and movie theater so there is no reason to use the car. Parking is 15 a day but DVC members don't have to pay. We are going to park today so we will see how the special entrance to the park works. The only reason I didn't give a 5 is because of the lack of Disneyness. Nothing in the rooms or the lobby to indicate you are at a Disney resort. The pool had no kid games or music. Even the character Breakfast which i saw through a window on my way to the fitness center did not appear to have any characters, just a large bear. Maybe Mickey was there but i only saw the one. We go to Disneyworld at least twice a year and often don't even go to the parks because we love just staying at the different resorts. This is much more like a nice hotel with nothing to make you want to stay here as an actual destination except if you were going to the park. We don't get to California very much and I'm not sure if we came back we would stay here again. Maybe save the points and stay at one of the many hotels just outside the park.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#9 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Californian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.