We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over priced very ordinary” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“over priced very ordinary”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We were led to believe this was the best at disneyland. Certainly it was the most expensive. We were there at the end of april for 3 nights and had expected a nice hotel, off season. When we checked in the lady had to go see her supervisor three times so it told almost 30 minutes to check in. The hotel is tired and the rooms looked and felt dank and dirty. The next day we asked to move to a different type of room which was ok (again after visits to the supervisor). We were told they would call us when the room was ready which didn't happen. When we finally got new room cards they didn't work so another trip down stairs. We tried to get a drink at the bar twice and while a lot of staff busy stacking napkins etc only one serving and so very slow. This place is a factory with the only aim to make as much out of the punters as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,083
    738
    309
    143
    56
See reviews for
1467
276
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Grand Californian is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Disney parks. The lobby is beautiful with an area set aside for little ones to sit in kid size rocking chairs and watch Disney movies. The staff was very friendly and super helpful. The rooms are nice, but the beds were not the most comfortable. Disneyland is a short walk away through Downtown Disney or you can pick up the monorail there. We were not able to use the direct entrance to California Adventure because there were too many people (on a Monday?) I would highly recommend this hotel, but know that you will pay for the location. Very pricey!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stay in our Disney Vacation Club unit which is located in this hotel (1 bedroom, 2 baths, full kitchen). You can't beat the location if you are going to Disneyland. We have also found it convenient to Amtrak and Angels Stadium. The pool area is terrific and has 3 pools (one more for kids). The restaurants are terrific as well. Service is great and staff are friendly. The hotel is serviced by buses to LAX and John Wayne. The Grey Line site is nearby so it is easy to go on day trips. We have never had a car when we visit - easy enough to get around in other ways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at the Grand Californian in a 1 bedroom suite overlooking the pool. It was pricey! The suite was very comfortable if not that luxurious. The proximity to California Adventure is a big bonus, however the Grand Californian entrance to the park that they advertise is a joke. There is only 1 or 2 attendants and the line is awful. Go to the main entrance where there are more attendants and get into the park quicker. At check in we decided to go with the upgrade to the concierge lounge. It was nice to be able to go have appetizers and snacks all day plus "free" drinks, but I don't think it was worth $250 a day. You could easily go buy $100 worth of snacks and drinks a day and get much more for your money. If you can get it included in the room price - Great! Otherwise I wouldn't bother. The view from the deck is great for the fireworks though. Last piece of advice - double check your reservation. We did with ours and found out they had canceled it on a glitch and that's how we ended up at the GC - we had been at the Disneyland hotel.

Room Tip: Ask about the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel was premium location, spotless and so convenient. The location made the Disneyland experience so much more special and the resort itself was fabulous - the pool area was fun in itself :)

The staff were all super friendly and helpful at all times.

A once in a lifetime stay to top off the once in a lifetime visit to the Disney theme parks.

Room Tip: 6th floor (top floor) with view of pool or park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Clearly the location at this hotel is the highlight. I believe you are paying the premium for the location, but it is worth it. It is so nice to walk through the lobby and then either directly into Downtown Disney or California Adventureland. This is a typical Disney Hotel, in that there are a lot of rooms and you typically have to walk pretty far from the lobby to get to the room. The rooms are also nice. In my view, they are probably a 3 1/2 to 4 star room style. We had a room with one Queen and two bunk beds. The kids (ages 11 and 10) loved the bunk beds. We had a "garden view", however when we looked out from our balcony, we could see the Bear Mountain at California Adventureland- it was fantastic. I really do not think there is a bad view from anyroom at the hotel. It was also helpful to have the early "magic" hours at the parks. Be sure to arrive at the gates at least 15 minutes prior to the magic hour as there is still a line since this is offered to all of the Disneyland owned hotels. We also dined at the Napa Rose and had an unbelievable experience. The variety of the menu was great for both adults and kids and the wine list was very good. Our favorite part of Napa Rose was the waiter. His name was Mickey, ironically, but he was probably the best waiter we have ever had. We returned again the next night just in the bar area because we enjoyed the food and wine list so much! Overall, Disney once again did a great job on the overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgman, Michigan
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I would only stay in this hotel again if:
- I was going to California Adventure with kids (being able to go back to the hotel quickly is a huge bonus - in my opinion the only reason to stay here)
and
- I was able to get a reasonable rate on a room

Good Location. Service, cleanliness, decor, and room space does not live up to the cost and what I believe to be customary for Disney. I was in room 3424, which is over, out, around, back in, up and around again- no joke. I did change to another room, but not until I had to plea and beg for something. I was told that they were fully booked, I asked to upgrade and I'd pay extra…"we are fully booked in all of our room categories" hmmm strange because I found rooms online after we talked, yes pricy – but she didn’t even give me an upgrade quote. Finally…..she was able to find me a room in the "Standard" room category, close to the lobby and easy to find.

Beware or room categories: Standard rooms are the "no one wants them" room, you may want to upgrade if you don't want to walk down long dark hallways to get to your room.

Nice pools, lobby, kids area to watch cartoons, piano player. Great valet and bell hop service.

Room Tip: Upgrade from "Standard" room category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Also Known As:
Grand Californian
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Grand California
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#14 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#16 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Californian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.