We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Disney Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Disney Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our room was a 3 minute walk to California Adventure and a 5 minute walk to Disneyland. This is a very nice, though pricey, property. Very clean and well laid out. The only negative impressions were with the actual check in process.....it took 25 minutes to get to the front of the line (only two employees working); and with the staff in general. No one was very friendly and they were more concerned with talking to each other than the guests. Though it wasn't enough to negatively impact my stay it was obvious the staff isn't very happy with their jobs. Stay here for the convenience, location and the quality of the facilities at a Disney property.

Room Tip: Avoid Downtown Disney view because of the noise and request California Adventure view on a high floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    877
    373
    166
    69
See reviews for
1,744
331
13
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerport
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We checked in after waiting in line for sometime. We were very tired. We got to the room, which was a disaster. The noise level from Downtown Disney was awful. We asked to change rooms. Someone came and gave us a new room assignment. Meanwhile, our luggage from the bellhop was lost. We ordered room service in the new room. Our waiter went to find our luggage. But my boyfriend's hat was gone! We waited 2 hours for our luggage and without the waiter's help, he probably would have been worse.
The breakfast at the restaurant on property was cold.
We could not get reservations for dinner. We had to eat at Disneyland.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. It is poor value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We usually stay at a neighboring hotel and shuttle to the parks. But this time, we decided to splurge on this last minute 2-night trip. I was grateful for the convenient location as my son and husband were not feeling well. They would make quick trips back to the room when feeling tired and rejoin the rest of the group when rested. No shuttles or long walks! For this trip, the hotel's location was a lifesaver!

We reserved the lowest end room and had a quiet view of the parking lot :) Not a huge concern to us as we were seldom in the room and awake. The room was an average size and we asked for bunk beds, thinking that this would be better for my kids. However, my son is 6'3" and really didn't fit. He said after that he'd prefer sharing a bed rather than being hunched up. He tried the trundle underneath the bunk as well and still not a great fit. The setup would be best for smaller kids. My 8 year old loved the top bunk! Turn down service was a nice added touch.

My only complaint would be the water pressure in the shower. I like a strong shower and it seemed a little on the weak-side. Temperature was great though.

We did not have a chance to use the pool or other amenities as we wanted to enjoy the parks as much as possible. Customer service is top-notch and it was great having an entrance right into DCA even though sometimes that line was quite long as they are cracking down on people "renting" hopper passes from 3rd parties. Our pictures were taken and checked each time we entered into the park.

Not sure if we will do this every time we visit Disneyland (we come every 1-2 years). Loved our experience and if I were to splurge again and stay at a Disneyland Park Hotel, I'd definitely pay a little more and stay here (compared to the other 2 hotels) based on convenience and location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Californian for the Holidays. They did an amazing job with the decorations and all the Holiday events in the lobby. Checked in a bit early but was still able to get a room. We were celebrating quite a few special family occasions and got an upgrade to a room with a wonderful view of the pools. We had a few special gifts for our first turndown service as well. The cast members were all extremely gracious, helpful, and generous with our requests. I highly recommend anyone stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Loved it! Exceptional hotel, everything was just world-class. The spa was my favorite as well as the hotel lobby which was very relaxing. So convenient to be right there in Disney. Disney is great for the kiddos, but this gave us an opportunity to take our time and enjoy it, rest, and get back out there without feeling rushed since we were actually staying onsite. It's wonderful architecture. The lobby is the place to just lay around. We had a big group of friends and a party in the evening outdoors and it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Grand Californian Hotel has the best location in Disneyland, it is next to the California Adventure park. We were with our 3 year old, and it was quick and easy to access the park directly from the private entry through the hotel, and come back to the hotel quickly.

The lobby is grand with a nature-based theme, not tacky at all. Front desk staff was very efficient for check in and check out. We had pre-paid our stay through the Airline travel agency and it was smooth.

The rooms are nice, but not spectacular. They have nice views and quiet in general. A small problem is that it’s a long walk to get down from your room as the hotel is very long with not enough lifts.

I just would not rate this highest value because it is the most expensive of the Disney hotels in Disneyland and the price premium over the two other Disney hotels is not justified, other than the location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Yes, it costs a bundle, but if you're old and tired, just being able to walk back to your room instead of catching a shuttle or two saves a lot of time and energy. We would go back to take a nap without killing most of the day, and come back refreshed in the afternoon to keep doing stuff. I was leery of the cost when my wife booked it, but this has been our most enjoyable trip to D land in years, just because were not as tired as we have been in the past. ThThe

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#11 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#15 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Californian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.