We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy air cond in room,but worth the money due to private entrance to Disneyland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Noisy air cond in room,but worth the money due to private entrance to Disneyland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hotel foyer was very impressive, loved te seasonal cheer with the tree, Santa & carol singers. But the room was a let down. The air con was so noisy you had to turn it off at night, it as a major issue. Apart from that the standard room was fine, you don't spend a lot of time there.
Character breakfast is a must great for children & adults (keeps the kids amused).

Room Tip: Probably need to upgrade beyond a standard room. Think a room with view of Disney Adventure would ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,185
    829
    347
    156
    64
See reviews for
1634
311
11
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My daughter and I were lucky enough to have the experience of a lifetime during our stay at this hotel. Staying at this hotel made our Disneyland experience complete. The Christmas ambience was surreal and at the age of 60 I felt like a child again. Every day of our stay I thanked Walt for having his vision to provide people with such a happy escape from the real world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband & I stayed 3 nights here with our 2 daughters (5yrs & 8yrs) & we loved it!! I highly recommend that you catch the Monorail straight into Tomorrowland on Early Entry days to Disneyland & that you go to the Main Gate Entrance of California Adventure Park (as opposed to the Hotels Private Entrance) for Early Entry days....as the que was WAY too long for Hotel Guests & there was only two staff members & hundreds of Guests. For us this was the only disappointment. You strictly MUST have your Room Keys for each member of your party (including children) on Early Entry mornings & photo ID & tickets. We didn't get a chance to use the Hotels Facilities (Pool & Restaurants etc) as we were having too much FUN in the Parks. We dined at Downtown Disney.....Rainforest Cafe is a MUST for kids & we also loved House of Blues. The staff were VERY friendly & the Early Entry is SO worth the extra $$. The Lobby is STUNNNG & my girls LOVED their bunk beds : ) Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!!

Room Tip: My children loved the Bunk Beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here just for the weekend and enjoyed easy access to the parks. You can walk in and out thru an entrance only used for guests of the hotel. You can see California Adventure from your room and the pool area makes you feel like you are in the mountains. The rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a one night stay in the middle of a week of business meetings. It was a pleasant escape.
The hotel is large but easy to navigate. The lobby is warm and inviting with fireplaces and lots of seating.We loved the easy access into Downtown Disney and California Adventure directly from the hotel lobby. This was a HUGE plus and made it very easy to run back to our rooms when needed.
The staff was friendly and helpful, as one would expect from Disney.
My only regret is that we did not book a room with a park view. I would have enjoyed watching the fireworks at night since I was too tired to stay out late enough to see them from inside the park. Otherwise it was a great stay and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Book a room with a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

With convenience comes a price. A nice but aging hotel that allows you access to the park early, steps away from the shops and good service. Ate a breakfast buffet at the hotel that was $60.00 for 2 adults not including gratuity. I was there with my wife for one week on a business trip. If you have little ones, they will cater to them but again, you will hear a lot Ching, Ching and Ching. Be cautious if you're on a budget, enjoy it to the fullest if you're not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is very expensive and outside almost being inside of DCA, this is where it stops. I found the rooms to be nothing special, the mattress was hard as a rock and the ammenities were right up there with Best Western (not that BW is bad) but when you are paying top dollar you expect something else. The Lobby is beautiful and if the rooms looked like that; they would have a winner. I would stay at other hotels around the area and pay about 1/4th the rate.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view (DCA, Downtown Disney) come with a premium. Unless you plan on spending a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#15 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Californian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.