We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient! Would never stay anyplace else while visiting Disneyland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 113 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“So convenient! Would never stay anyplace else while visiting Disneyland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a one night stay in the middle of a week of business meetings. It was a pleasant escape.
The hotel is large but easy to navigate. The lobby is warm and inviting with fireplaces and lots of seating.We loved the easy access into Downtown Disney and California Adventure directly from the hotel lobby. This was a HUGE plus and made it very easy to run back to our rooms when needed.
The staff was friendly and helpful, as one would expect from Disney.
My only regret is that we did not book a room with a park view. I would have enjoyed watching the fireworks at night since I was too tired to stay out late enough to see them from inside the park. Otherwise it was a great stay and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Book a room with a park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    932
    414
    189
    79
See reviews for
1,901
359
16
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

With convenience comes a price. A nice but aging hotel that allows you access to the park early, steps away from the shops and good service. Ate a breakfast buffet at the hotel that was $60.00 for 2 adults not including gratuity. I was there with my wife for one week on a business trip. If you have little ones, they will cater to them but again, you will hear a lot Ching, Ching and Ching. Be cautious if you're on a budget, enjoy it to the fullest if you're not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
434 reviews 434 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is very expensive and outside almost being inside of DCA, this is where it stops. I found the rooms to be nothing special, the mattress was hard as a rock and the ammenities were right up there with Best Western (not that BW is bad) but when you are paying top dollar you expect something else. The Lobby is beautiful and if the rooms looked like that; they would have a winner. I would stay at other hotels around the area and pay about 1/4th the rate.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view (DCA, Downtown Disney) come with a premium. Unless you plan on spending a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just returned from a great stay at Disney's Grand Californian. We had a great stay, and my two friends and I all agree -- we just wouldn't be able to stay anywhere else for Disneyland and California Adventure convenience. My group was three adults with no children.

The location: There is no better hotel for location. You have your own entrance to California Adventure and another entrance about halfway through Downtown Disney. Picture it: You're sloshing back from a midnight run on Splash Mountain. You're cold, you're chafing, maybe you have kids in tow. You don't want to walk through the concrete jungle that is Anaheim. Instead, a three-minute walk through Downtown Disney and you're at your hotel. Two minutes later, you're in your room. I'll never stay "right across the street" from Disneyland ever again.

The room: Given the premium price, you're probably expecting ultra-luxury, but not so. Keep in mind: You're paying for the location at this hotel. The room, however, is spotlessly clean, comfortable, and thoughtfully appointed. In our room, the double sink was outside the bathroom, and there were several mirrors around the room, so we three ladies all getting ready in the morning didn't have it too rough. There was a collapsible crib in the closet. We also had a balcony, and our room looked out at Grizzly Peak and Tower of Terror, so we were happy as clams. :)

Our one complaint was the lack of sound proofing. Our neighbors apparently went to bed a lot earlier than we did: We heard them snoring as we went to bed, and I was woken up when they were getting ready in the morning at 6:50 (probably hitting a 7:00 early entry) - ahhh!

The hotel: The hotel has a very nice decor, like a big lodge. There is a gift shop that also sells food items like bottles pop and water, and some snacks. The hotel is huge and walking to your room takes a little while. I know there are features that appeal to children like Pinnochio's Workshop and an arcade, but because we had no children with us, we didn't use those amenities. We didn't use the pool either, but it looked pretty great. There is a water slide for big kids and one for little kids!

The service: I didn't think that the famous Disney service would be a big deal, but it was actually really pleasant. And having Disney Dining and other services right there in the hotel was so convenient. We took advantage of the package delivery service (available in certain shops in Disneyland, DCA, and Downtown Disney), and it was awesome. You're out shopping and find something you can't live without -- you fill out the paperwork and they have it back to your hotel (no extra charge) after 7:00 am the next day. Too cool.

The food: The hotel has at least three restaurants. We ate at two of the restaurants and also used the 24-hour room service. The food at White Water Snacks was so-so but very convenient. Storytellers was delicious.for breakfast (they do have menu service if you're not interested in the buffet), and it was cute to see the characters walking around. The room service was, hands down, the best hotel room service I have ever had. Delivery was very prompt and the food was piping hot or crisp cool as appropriate. You pay an arm and a leg for the room service, but it's worth it for prompt and delicious food.

You may not get why the price is so high, but believe me: Stay there once and you'll never stay anywhere else again. I am raving about this hotel, so you are probably wondering about four stars -- I am taking off one star because the price is so high and the soundproofing is not good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

i stayed here on business otherwise i would have run screaming. olive green, brown, dated, very depressing. i can't believe families are spending this much on such a mediocre hotel. save your money. i can only assume that because it's inside the park, anything goes. the hotels on site in orlando are much nicer, this property is in serious need of an extensive remodel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My boyfriend surprised me for our anniversary with a stay at this hotel. It was amazing from beginning to end. we were greeted with happy anniversary pins and everyone was very nice. The location is obviously great. I do think it's very pricey, however it is Disneyland and you are staying inside the park, so what do you expect.

The room was a bit small, I would expect it to be bigger for what was paid, but it was clean and nice. We ordered room service and it was delicious and one of the staff members even gave us a some chocolates and a "sleep well" card! it was really nice. The beds are sooo comfortable. Really great sleep!!! I wish check out was later though, after a long day at Disneyland all I wanted to do was sleep in a little bit. haha, but overall it was an amazing stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Pretty nice hotel. You are paying to be on the property if this was not on Disney property and they were charging the same rate...this would not be worth it. However you are paying to be on the property and trust me when you are here for Disneyland it is nice to be able to walk in and out of your hotel without taking a shuttle or a long walk. It has direct access to California Adventure Park and you get Disney Magic Hours for parks. The rooms are nice and quiet...so the build quality of the building is nice and the walls are thick. For those facing Disneyland you can see the fireworks from your balcony. The valet is hit or miss....when we were leaving everyone except for the guy that brought the car was excellent. He stood there while we loaded up the car! Unreal! Lasting impressions are what we remember the most. I would suggest though if you are walkers and staying a long time to try other places on my review near Disneyland. Much better prices and let's face it how much time do you spend in your hotel when visiting Disneyland?

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms facing Disneyland to see the fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#20 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Californian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.