We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay for Disneyland and California Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Save Saved
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Best place to stay for Disneyland and California Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was by far the best place to stay and the closest of the 3 Disney Hotels but also the priciest. It was so worth it. The entrance to California Adventure was maximum 100 yards (about 300 feet). You could roll out of bed, do the early access for staying one of the 3 Disney hotels, and get in line for fast passes before the park was open to the public.

The beds in the rooms were very comfortable and they change the sheets each night. If you want the towels changed make sure you dump them in the wicker bin under the sink. We were unaware of this the first night.

They did turn down service 2 of the 3 nights and left Disney chocolates on the pillows. My mom, my dad and I (auntie) stayed in one room while my sister, brother in law and my 5 year old and 3 year old nephews in the connecting room. The maid service did NOT leave chocolate in their room, which was good and left extra in ours.

Everyone in the hotel and in the parks was so gracious. It was so nice to be surrounded by courtesy, friendliness, and helpfulness.

I used the fitness room 2 times on our 4-day visit. They have the latest treadmills, ellipticals, and other machines, all of which had TVs. I didn’t use it but there was other weight lifting equipment and machines.

The whole experience was awesome and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a view but since we had only the standard rate they could not provide one. Just an FYI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    845
    357
    159
    66
See reviews for
1667
319
11
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mass
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Hotel is very nice, but way overpriced. We stayed on the 6th floor which is the concierge level so it includes snacks and drinks till 10pm. Concierge loungs was always full of people stocking up on taking 6 sodas, 20 cookies and all the snadwiches they could fit into their purses. Seemd like these people had never eaten before the way they stocked up to take back to their room. Maid comes 3 times a day to tidy your room. Room service carts litter the hallways so you cant ge thru. Rooms have a balcony and are dimly lit. Wifi is quick. Beds are soft and the pillows are about an inch thick after you lye your head on it. Bose radio in room, and the TV only gets Disney channels and ABC and NBC. The location is right at the gate to Adventureland which is handy. For $375 a nite, I expected a better quality... Pool and hot tubs were constantly packed and 21 people including young children in the hot tub..

Room Tip: Facing Adventureland so that you can see the fireworks from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

enjoyed our stay at the Grand California. the place is beautiful and the service is impressive, from check in to bell service to valet. the only problem was after 12 hours or so in either
disneyland or California Land, we were just to tired to really enjoy the total ambious of the Grand Californian lobby and fire. room was comfortable with flat screen tv with a good choice of channels. we had adjoining rooms so our grandsons had fun running back and forth between the rooms. loved the double sink vanity outside the bath, toilet area, made getting ready easy. the
grand Californian is a nice place to stay, convenient to the two parks and downtown disney but it is pricey.

Room Tip: upgraded to a deluxe view room with a partial view of california land. the monarail run below our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It's really pretty. Love the lobby. We have been annual pass holders at DL for several seasons, and have loved Disneyland for much longer. From when this hotel was built, we would use the lobby as a place to hang out and relax between riding the rides and shopping with the throngs of people in the parks, but we never had an opportunity to stay here. Over a year ago, we joined friends for a trip to the park - they stayed at GCH and we stayed at a nearby hotel. It was fun, but we kicked ourselves when we saw how convenient it was for them to just go to DCA or Downtown Disney and hop back to their room when needed.

This time around we decided to take the plunge and stay here. We booked a partial view room and requested a queen + bunk bed room for us and our 3yo. When we arrived we were upgraded to a view room with a bunk bed. It was a great first impression. We were on the 4th floor, overlooking the entrance to DCA (below and to the left of our balcony) and could see space mountain in DL (to the left), Condor Flats (below to the left) and the grizzly bear rock in DCA (straight ahead). We could also see a bit of Cars Land (off to the distant right). Our son was totally excited, which made it pretty perfect.

The room was as others have mentioned, not super big. In fact, it was on the smaller side (smaller than a standard room at the Courtyard Marriott). If you are a family of 4 with smallish children, I would highly suggest booking early and requesting a bunk bed room (and then checking in from time to time before you go to see if they can confirm it). Having the bunk bed meant there was more room to move around between our bed and the bunk. Our son ran around in the space between the beds, plus we brought a sleeping tent for him (they are pretty great by the way - kidco brand) and set it up on the floor for him to keep his toys in and play in while we were here. Other than the smaller size, my criticisms would have to be with the bathroom. The vanity with double sinks was very useful for getting ready and getting out to the parks asap in the morning, but the shower/bath area was a bit tired and in need of updating. OMGosh, the shower pressure was NON-existent, but we had plenty of hot water. We had no issues with our room getting serviced: great turndown service and towels replaced as requested. Our son would get so excited to see what coins would be there when we came back each night (we didn't tell them they were chocolate).

As expected, our time getting to the parks each day was greatly reduced. We subtracted: getting in the car, driving to the Mickey and Friends parking structure, parking, walking to the tram, waiting for the tram, getting our stroller on the tram, the short tram ride, getting everything/one off the tram. All we were left with was getting downstairs, walking to the park (super short walk if going to DCA) and waiting to get in the park (also short wait if going to DCA). That's all good, but perhaps an even bigger advantage, is the ability to be able to easily go back to your room with your park weary 3yo in order to take a break in the middle of the day. To me, that was where this experience really made the $$$ involved worth it. We stayed 4 nights and took at least one break each day we visited the parks.

If there is a disadvantage to staying here, it could be that you are stuck eating mainly Disney food (overpriced, mostly just decent). We usually go to Storytellers because of the convenience, and because our son has liked it the last few times, but we didn't go this time. This time we took the plunge and got reservations at Napa Rose. Many of you may be thinking, "what did they do with their 3yo?" Well, we took him. I was wondering if it might be a mistake, but everything was great. It was the best meal of our visit, and it was all the more awesome because we were able to share it with our son. Yes, it's uber pricey, but the food and service was exceptional. They catered to our son as much as to us, he had a blast and we had a great meal. We also went to the new Carthay Circle restaurant in DCA. I was more underwhelmed with that experience. Great drinks, but the food was just on the good side of decent. Service was also just decent, and our server only, obviously, turned on the charm near the end of our meal. If you go, just hang downstairs for drinks and appetizers in the lounge and forget the upstairs dining room.

Overall, if you're questioning whether or not it's worth the money for the convenience, I say do it. Maybe check ahead if there are any planned fire alarms, plumbing maintenance/updates, construction projects, carpet cleaning, or anything that may impair the enjoyment of your GCH experience. Also, check the Disney site for ride maintenance dates for your fave rides (Indiana Jones was not operating during our stay and I was a little sad) if that's a deal breaker. If there are no other impediments, I think you'll be very happy.

If you are so inclined, there is also a service that will make gift baskets and deliver them to your room. They are pricey, but I chose to do this (this one time) as a nice way to celebrate staying at the GCH and celebrating our visit to the parks. You can contact Disney Vacation Planning at vacationplanning@disneyonline.com or (714) 781-4438 to get info on their offerings and pricing. They generally need 48 hours advance notice. I got a chocolate lovers basket and coffee lovers basket combined and it came with a small Mickey plush that my son played with the whole time we were there.

Room Tip: The rooms on the east wing (over Napa Rose and the DCA entrance from the hotel) that face into DCA h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This place is fabulous!! It's a little upscale & totally overpriced. But not in comparison to other hotels in the area. We actually moved to this hotel from another one that just was not up to par and no where near the caliber of the Grand - yet it was over half the price per night - and was basically one step up from a motel. The Grand is a Luxury Hotel and has it's own entrance in to the California Adventure Park. This saves a huge amount of time and hassle which for me with two young boys is totally worth the the extra price. I can't afford to stay there every time i visit Disneyland, which is 2or 3 times a year, but every once in a while you just gotta pay the big bucks for the convenience . However they totally dropped the ball at the end of our trip. We had extended our stay a few days and went back and forth with the front desk on a Sat. or Sun. departure depending a the flight I could get, which I was told was no problem, but when we couldn't get a flight out until Sun they said the hotel was completely booked & we couldn't stay 1 more night. We had been there 5 nights, which is very pricey, they should have done more to extend us 1 more night. We had to go to another hotel for our last night. And they didn't even offer to help us move. So I guess it's possible to over stay your welcome there.....

Room Tip: The rooms by the Napa Rose elevators are much closer to the entrance to Ca. Ad. park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Padres Forest, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel is lovely, the service was splendid, lobby is stunning. The room was comfortable but nothing exceptional for the price. Loved the bath products, but have had them at a 2 star motel before (I still love the Spa H2O brand). However, no matter the time of day or the amount of adjusting attempted the shower would run hot & cold alternately & never would stay at the set temperature...not so comfy after a long day running through the parks! Could hear holiday music being played outdoors late into the night through the closed sliding glass door. The location can't be beat--walk right into California Adventure or Downtown Disney. Took the architectural tour of the hotel which was excellent & really made all the details & hidden Mickeys even more special. Overall very nice, with a few disappointing details.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

As usual our stay at Disney property didn't disappoint us at all, although a little annoyed by the delay in getting into the room, checkin was supposed to be 4pm but were told not to go back until 4.30 pm. Stayed in a one-bedroom villa overlooking Disney Californian Adventure Park. All furniture and fittings superb, kitchen facilities, large shower cubicle, jetted bath tub. The pool area is very nice and the lobby of the hotel stunning. Easy access to both parks, Downtown Disney and the outer perimeter of the hotel. Realise what a bonus being DVC members really is when you have access to such beautiful properties.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#15 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Californian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.