We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great room and an excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great room and an excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We are DVC members and used our points to book our stay. I booked 7 months in advance to guarantee getting a room. There is just the 2 of us and so we had a studio for our 4 night stay.

We arrived about 9 am as we had stayed at another hotel locally. We knew that we wouldn't be able to get a room so early and so we dropped our bags off and checked in to save time later. As DVC members self parking is free so we chose to do this - the parking lot is across the street but we weren't planning on using the car for a few days anyway.

We asked at check-in if there were any theme park views available (DVC bookings are by room type only) and the cast member said they would take a look. They said they would text us when our room was ready...but we have a UK cell phone and find that this doesn't always work.

We checked back just after 4 and our room was ready....we got a great view :) We could watch World of Color from our balcony!

No issues with the room at all. It was clean, tidy and the furniture was in good condition.

We had a great stay and the only minor issue we experienced was that the wireless internet connection was not great. We could not maintain a connection for any length of time...and only in certain areas of the room.

If we return to Disneyland we will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    889
    379
    171
    70
See reviews for
1,779
338
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veneta, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Three years ago my husband and I fell in love with Disneyland and then started going 3 to 4 times per year. We usually stay at Good Neighbor Hotels, but after doing the Disney Vacation Club tour decided this would be a good investment for us.

We stayed at th Disney's Grand Californian in the Villa's for the first time as DVC memebers. We had a very late check in, so our room was ready. The check in was quick and easy. Our room was room 2516, on the second floor. The room was spacious and clean. The view however was not very exciting for us. We had a wooded view of the back side of the Redwood Creek Challenge. It was vey quiet, but we had hoped for a view that was a little more magical.

The rooms are well appointed and the bed and couch were very comfortable. The private entry into Disney Grand Californian was also a very great bonus.

Room Tip: When you make your booking ask for the view you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel 2x now. First time it was amazing. This time just ok. The room we where put in was so far from everything. We paid extra for a park view. What a disappointment. We had a view of the back of one of the rides. The floor was so filthy dirty that when we took our shoes off our feet/sock turned black in minutes. Sheets had stains. Service was pretty good. Though we had a waitress at the lounge that acted as though we were wasting her time. I'm hoping this was all just a fluke because our first experience was wonderful that's why we chose to go back.

Room Tip: Don't spend more for a "park view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Not the cheapest in the area but the staff are so happy and the rooms are great. We stayed 3 nights and had a view of the Disneyland fireworks from our room.

It is very convenient for if you want to head in and out of the parks to get a break. You also get early entry to the park and it has its own entry to Disney California.

Has a variety of places to eat and downtown Disney is next door with more eating places and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking downtown Disney so you can see the fireworks from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Recently stayed here with family, and had a fabulous time. Our main goal for the trip was to spend time in both Disney parks and this hotel was absolutely perfect for that.

A special entrance for hotel guests into California Adventure made it very easy to get to the new Cars Land on our early morning visits. The front desk were very accommodating, we had a fabulous park view room.

As always with Disney, the food was expensive as was the room, but you are paying for top service and location. Highly recommend staying here if you are going to the Disney parks.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are quite nice, but the park view rooms (while a little noisier) offer a good view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We've stayed at the Grand Californian four times in the last seven years. The service is what you'd expect from Disney. You pay a premium for the location as the rooms are small for the price, but capable of sleeping five. The benefits of the location are direct access to California Adventures, Downtown Disney and early entry privileges in Disneyland Park or California Adventures (alternating days). These benefits are important if you are entertaining out-of-town visitors who rarely make it to California.

If you want larger rooms, don't want to pay a premium for the location benefits and don't mind being offsite, the DoubleTree Suites Anaheim Resort is an excellent alternative. It is located 15 mins away by foot on Harbor Boulevard (there's also a regular shuttle).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Disney Grand Californian is a beautiful monstrosity - when we arrived we were overwhelmed by the sheer size of the hotel and its grounds. However, we were greeted by an ultimately well honed Disney machine.

Our arrival was expected - we received our tags when we drove through the gates and we breezed through check-in. Within the hour, we were ready and headed right into Disneyland! (Our package included an early start and a 3 day pass). The front desk was also great - telling us all about the special events available and where to get the tickets. In addition, one great thing about this hotel is the private access into California Adventure. All in all, staying here made entering the theme parks easy and quick. In addition, you get the ability to charge all your purchases in the park to your room bill - making it very convenient!

Drawbacks of the hotel is basically the sheer size - the car park is rather far and that makes checking out a pain. Also, it is really busy and service can be hit or miss - you literally get lost in the crowd.

But to be really honest, one does not come to this hotel to stay in the rooms and relax. You will spend most of the time in the theme parks and just drop back to rest between rides/sleep at night. This hotel made our Disney experience complete!

Room Tip: Choose your rooms carefully - it changes your experience. Downtown Disney facing rooms are noisy but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#12 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#15 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Californian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.