We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a Lifetime.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Grand Californian Hotel to your Saves list
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Veneta, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Trip of a Lifetime.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Three years ago my husband and I fell in love with Disneyland and then started going 3 to 4 times per year. We usually stay at Good Neighbor Hotels, but after doing the Disney Vacation Club tour decided this would be a good investment for us.

We stayed at th Disney's Grand Californian in the Villa's for the first time as DVC memebers. We had a very late check in, so our room was ready. The check in was quick and easy. Our room was room 2516, on the second floor. The room was spacious and clean. The view however was not very exciting for us. We had a wooded view of the back side of the Redwood Creek Challenge. It was vey quiet, but we had hoped for a view that was a little more magical.

The rooms are well appointed and the bed and couch were very comfortable. The private entry into Disney Grand Californian was also a very great bonus.

Room Tip: When you make your booking ask for the view you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    993
    447
    194
    84
See reviews for
2,043
391
19
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel 2x now. First time it was amazing. This time just ok. The room we where put in was so far from everything. We paid extra for a park view. What a disappointment. We had a view of the back of one of the rides. The floor was so filthy dirty that when we took our shoes off our feet/sock turned black in minutes. Sheets had stains. Service was pretty good. Though we had a waitress at the lounge that acted as though we were wasting her time. I'm hoping this was all just a fluke because our first experience was wonderful that's why we chose to go back.

Room Tip: Don't spend more for a "park view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Not the cheapest in the area but the staff are so happy and the rooms are great. We stayed 3 nights and had a view of the Disneyland fireworks from our room.

It is very convenient for if you want to head in and out of the parks to get a break. You also get early entry to the park and it has its own entry to Disney California.

Has a variety of places to eat and downtown Disney is next door with more eating places and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking downtown Disney so you can see the fireworks from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Recently stayed here with family, and had a fabulous time. Our main goal for the trip was to spend time in both Disney parks and this hotel was absolutely perfect for that.

A special entrance for hotel guests into California Adventure made it very easy to get to the new Cars Land on our early morning visits. The front desk were very accommodating, we had a fabulous park view room.

As always with Disney, the food was expensive as was the room, but you are paying for top service and location. Highly recommend staying here if you are going to the Disney parks.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are quite nice, but the park view rooms (while a little noisier) offer a good view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We've stayed at the Grand Californian four times in the last seven years. The service is what you'd expect from Disney. You pay a premium for the location as the rooms are small for the price, but capable of sleeping five. The benefits of the location are direct access to California Adventures, Downtown Disney and early entry privileges in Disneyland Park or California Adventures (alternating days). These benefits are important if you are entertaining out-of-town visitors who rarely make it to California.

If you want larger rooms, don't want to pay a premium for the location benefits and don't mind being offsite, the DoubleTree Suites Anaheim Resort is an excellent alternative. It is located 15 mins away by foot on Harbor Boulevard (there's also a regular shuttle).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Disney Grand Californian is a beautiful monstrosity - when we arrived we were overwhelmed by the sheer size of the hotel and its grounds. However, we were greeted by an ultimately well honed Disney machine.

Our arrival was expected - we received our tags when we drove through the gates and we breezed through check-in. Within the hour, we were ready and headed right into Disneyland! (Our package included an early start and a 3 day pass). The front desk was also great - telling us all about the special events available and where to get the tickets. In addition, one great thing about this hotel is the private access into California Adventure. All in all, staying here made entering the theme parks easy and quick. In addition, you get the ability to charge all your purchases in the park to your room bill - making it very convenient!

Drawbacks of the hotel is basically the sheer size - the car park is rather far and that makes checking out a pain. Also, it is really busy and service can be hit or miss - you literally get lost in the crowd.

But to be really honest, one does not come to this hotel to stay in the rooms and relax. You will spend most of the time in the theme parks and just drop back to rest between rides/sleep at night. This hotel made our Disney experience complete!

Room Tip: Choose your rooms carefully - it changes your experience. Downtown Disney facing rooms are noisy but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

First off, yes this hotel is pricey and only through a deal were we able to enjoy our first trip there. The hotel is phenomenal. With ornateness throughout, you get everything you would expect from a Disney resort. We were lucky enough to have a room facing California Adventure and even with the noise from World of Color, we couldn't hear it at night. The bed was very comfortable. The kids loved the turn down service complete with choloclates and scene settings for their toys.

Of the few minor inconveniences, the smoking section near the pool was in a poor location because all that did was waft through toward any of us who were walking to the lobby, restruants or just out in the lower level. Yuck. Kind of broke up the serenity. I sort of expected the pool to be heated and when my kids wanted to go in, it was a bit of a shock getting into the water.

Like I said, minor things but the hotel was fabulous.

I only wish we had more time to enjoy it as there are many aspects we just ran out of time to try out and enjoy. I hope we can stay there again some day.

Room Tip: Downtown Disney facing rooms looked like they would get a ton of noise at night no matter how sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#9 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Grand Californian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Grand Californian Hotel

Address: 1600 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Disney's Grand Californian Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning hotel offers premium accommodations and rich dining experiences in American Craftsman style and elegance. With its world-class spa, an impressive array of amenities and impeccable Disney service, Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa defines grandeur in every way. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, this hotel is just steps away from exceptional dining and entertainment. And with your park ticket, enjoy an exclusive entrance to Disney California Adventure Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Amex, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Grand Californian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Californian Hotel
Grand California Hotel
Disney California Hotel
Disneys Grand Californian Hotel
Disney Grand California Hotel
Disney Grand Californian Hotel
Disneyland Grand Californian Hotel
Disneys Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Grand Californian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.