We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with convenient access to parks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel to your Saves list
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
191 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Average hotel with convenient access to parks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Surprisingly average hotel for the price paid. The location is very convenient to Disneyland and California Adventure via access through the Grand Californian Hotel across the street. If going to Disneyland, go through the breezeway of the Grand, then short walk through downtown Disney. If going to Calif Adventure, use the exclusive Grand hotel guest entrance.

The Paradise Pier hotel itself is showing its age, and could use some refreshing, especially the rooms. We did not pay for a premium view room, which would have been wasted on us, as we were out and about throughout the day and evening. We did have a park side room on the 4th floor, and could see some of the Halloween Party fireworks one night (we did not spring for the extra-fee Halloween tickets required to remain in the park that night). The down-side of these lower park-side rooms: street noise, which occasionally disrupted our sleep (but so did a crying baby one night, which could happen on any floor). Another note: it is true about the elevators - they are small, slow, and frequently full at peak hours. It would be nice if folks could wait to unfold their strollers until after they exit the elevators.

The water pressure in the shower was quite disappointing, the tub had rust stains and did not drain well. The sink did not drain properly either, and by the last day of our stay, required repair; also had a crack in the basin. The beds were fairly comfortable, including the twin day bed/couch. Liked that there is a refrigerator and coffee maker (no microwave). The rooms are not as nice as the Disneyland hotel rooms, but they are larger, which was a plus for us.

The service was mostly good, and at times exceptional, but did not compare to the service received at the Disneyland Hotel during a visit a year ago. Not sure if that is specific to Disney overall, or just this hotel. On a few occasions, we were given incorrect information from the staff, including incorrect park hours, need for checking back in with front desk prior to accessing our room first day, and even regarding the best way to access the parks from the hotel. Also found a few cast members to be somewhat sarcastic and surly, which is an experience I have never before had at a Disney property (found this in the parks a few times this trip, too).

We did not have meals at this hotel, but had a cocktail at the little bar/coffee shop there. The staff in the bar was very good. Prices about what you would expect for a Disney property. If you want a bit more character, take a short walk to the Tiki Bar on the Disneyland Hotel property; they have fun cocktails, good food, and a beautiful outdoor fireplace (but sometimes full of smokers, so be aware).

Would we stay there again? Maybe, if the price is right. It was great to have the option for daily early entry to one or the other of the parks. Plus, it is very conveniently located for park access; I think the location is actually better than the Disneyland Hotel, especially if you have Park Hopper tickets. I would not pay for a premium view, especially for stays during the off-season when the parks close earlier. Also, shop around for discounts from the different travel sites. We got 20% off and discounted park tickets through such a deal, which made it worth it for us. Have a magical stay at whichever location you choose!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    682
    271
    94
    52
See reviews for
1,098
190
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I are DVC members, but the Grand Californian had no availability so we booked PP with our points. Having stayed at various resorts at WDW, we have a pretty high bar when it comes to Disney hotels. This one was meh. The pool was nothing spectacular, the rooms were nice enough, but not on par with what we have been used to. The proximity to the parks is great and the whole reason we chose to spend our previous points on the hotel instead of staying off the resort was for the "Extra Magic Hours"....what a joke...every day of our stay hardly any rides were in operation during the Extra Magic Hours...either they were down for maintenance or they were closed until the park opened. Ridiculous. Our room overlooked the pool and it was very loud. Our first night we were blessed with a serenade of a very loud game of Marco Polo for about an hour. Not magical.

Room Tip: Don't get one that overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived at 1 pm and went to check in our room wasn't ready yet but they checked us in gave us our keys and checked our bags. I was told it would be around 3 pm when the room would be ready but got a text message telling us it was ready 45 minutes later. We had a rom on the 15th floor with a view of DCA and access to the club for breakfast and snacks. The breakfast was basic continental but better than having to pay to eat someplace else. The only problem I had was the shower was super tiny and the shower head was low.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We only spent 3 days / 2 nights at Disneyland Resort, so wanted to be close to the parks and be able to take advantage of early entry. Paradise Pier with Concierge and a park view wasn't ridiculously expensive!

We had to wait 10-15 minutes on arrival for a valet to take the car and luggage. Check in was done in the concierge lounge - the process was efficient, but didn't feel very 'Disney'. Our room wasn't ready yet, but we able to go to the parks and we received a text once our room was ready.

We got the text around 3pm. Our room was on the 15th floor. The elevators were a little slow and at peak times you had to wait a while. However, the view was great. Straight across to the California Adventure park - with a very good view of World of Color.

The room itself was fairly simple - the theming felt most un-Disney, but it was a good size, clean and comfortable. TV, coffee maker, fridge (empty - no minibar), safe, quiet a/c. No usable wifi available - you had to go to the lounge to get a connection.. Saying that, you are able to plug into a socket using a network cable - it was much faster (and free)

It was only a five minute walk to Downtown Disney and a further 5 minutes to either park. So a good location. As a resort guest you are entitled to take the 'short cut' though the Grand Californian into the California Adventure park

Overall, this is a good hotel. It doesn't represent brilliant value and its theming is so subtle, it barely feels Disney at all. But its location is good and it provides a great base for Disney.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Me and my dad made this trip to see the Hallowern festivities. Upon arrival to our room, we found NO BED. Yes, just a couch and a table. We called the front desk to where the beds we're, and they said " In the door to the right." Vague. We opened every door in there, but to no avail. All we found was a bathroom and another locked door (like a con joining room). So dad goes to the front desk and the manager offered to go to the room to check it out. He opens the hotel room door next to our and alas, there are beds behind that locked door. No problem, we have a suite now! After spending much time in the parks, leaving our luggage with bell services, we lay down before calling for our luggage. And then we heard the whistling. It was wind coming from a poorly sealed window in our room. And we heard that wind all night. Loud and rough. So we shrug it off because we've inspected it and there's nothing we can do. We got to call for our luggage. After a few minutes they call back, they can't find our luggage. Keep in mind, my bag is hot pink and white with the chevron pattern, not hard to find. They called us TWICE and finally find our luggage. They bring it to the room, no apology, and leave. The walk to the park was short and sweet, that was nice. This hotel room however, was not. We normally visit Disney World in Florida, seeing as we're from Alabama, and nothing impressed us enough to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We wanted to be close to the parks for our 5 day holiday in Disneyland. We didn't hire a car. Disney Hotel vs Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel.....we selected Paradise Pier Hotel due to price (the hotel rate is the lowest of all 3 Disney hotels).

The hotel is across the road from the Grand Californian Hotel which has a direct entrance to the California Adventure Park. From Paradise Pier, it's out of the front entrance, turn left, cross the road at the lights and the Grand Californian is there (a few minutes walk). There is no direct hotel access to Disneyland from the Disney hotels. You have go via Downtown Disney which you can also access via a walkway at the back of the hotel. This is our preferred way in the mornings and a brief stop at the bakery to get breakfast (breakfast rolls are $3.99). After a long day, we're back at the hotel in about 15 mins. No need to walk a few blocks or catch transport. We found it convenient for our Friday and Saturday visits. The parks stay opened until midnight. Staying close-by meant we could go back to the hotel, have a shower, and head back to the parks.

Our room has a modern and tasteful decor and faced the pool. It's spacious and comfortable. Our 5 year old likes the waterslide. The staff are friendly. We missed our airport shuttle and one of the guys from Bell Services drove us to the Disneyland Hotel in a golf buggy. We arrived with two minutes to spare. If you are planning to take the shuttle, there is a Disneyland Express Shuttle (large white bus) which services the Disney resort hotels only.

Magic morning was a bonus. We were able to enjoy a few rides with no queuing. Fastpass is definitely the way to go to avoid the long waits.

If you are planning to stay at one of the Disney hotels with the majority of the time spent at the parks, then I recommend you consider the Paradise Pier Hotel. The savings can go towards park entrance fees, food and/or souvenirs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Disney always seems to do it right. This hotel was very much up and past their standard! Parking was a dream, gift shop and character breakfast buffet were good. Fitness room was very clean and quite adequate given all those that were staying at the hotel. Guest laundry was perfect. Did not have time to go to the pool, but there were a lot that did.
NOTE; If you have the opportunity, get a room with a view of the parks...it was fabulous to see the World of Color each night and just by opening the windows we could hear the music. Fantastic. This hotel is also just a short stay from the Disneyland Hotel, Downtown Disney (which is not in a crossover above Disneyland BLVD since our last stay of a few years ago).

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the parks. That location is on the east side of the hotel - gives you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
0.2 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#10 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,822 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#11 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Address: 1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#29 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to the heyday of California beachfront boardwalks at Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel. Loaded with special Disney touches, this seaside-themed hotel will carry you on a wave of relaxation, all the way up to the whimsical waterslide at the scenic rooftop pool. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, exceptional dining and entertainment are just steps away. Hotel Guests can also enjoy a special entrance through Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa to Disney California Adventure Park with a valid Park ticket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneyland Paradise Pier Hotel
Disney Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Paradise Pier Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.