We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Second Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Save Saved
You added Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for Second Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Location was fantastic. Quick access to the Parks and Downtown Disney. The Staff was welcoming and accomodating. Nothing to complain about there. The only thing that kept me from granting it five stars was that I only had a two queen bed room, I had asked for a King, but they can guarantee nothing, and the shower pressure was quite poor for a hotel of this price. The front desk comped my valet parking to make up for the bed, which was nice.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 14th floor overlooking California Adventure and you can see that and the fireworks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    476
    540
    200
    72
    37
See reviews for
836
157
14
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Overall very nice hotel and vacation experience. We had a 12th floor two queen bed guest room with a sofa that converted to a twin bed. Room view of California Adventure park. Bedding was silky softness - nice! Great closet space. Liked the rolling table from under the desk - made it easy to eat in the room. Elevators were quick and rarely a wait even though hotel appeared to be packed during the July 4th holiday. Very professional and friendly staff at front desk and luggage area. The early entry to parks was so nice - allowing us a chance to get to the Cars radiator springs racers attraction! The parks and downtown Disney areas are an easy walk from the hotel. Although there is a resort only entrance to California Adventure park - the morning wait time was too long and it was faster to use the main entrance.

Room Tip: Higher floor has park views - great for evening fireworks or World of Color shows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is nice and very close to the parks. Not as magical as resorts in Disney World that we stayed at prior to coming to California-but Disney service is still some of the best. The rooms were clean and the advantage to the extra hours at the park made our selection worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadephia, PA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was clean, very close to the Disney Parks and downtown Disney. My only complaint if was that it doesn't have the same feel of hotels at Disney World. This is just a standard hotel. The accomodations were fine, but for the price, I expected a little more. No one greeted us and our 6 bags at the entrance, we basically had to fend for ourselves. Not the end of the world, but even non-Disney hotels are good at that, and it wasn't super busy when we checked in. The restaurant in the hotel had good food and good service. They had a nice gift shop. The biggest highlight was the pool and the water slide. My daughter really enjoyed that. Overall the hotel was good, just not for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I have stayed at a number of the "official" Disney properties, both in Orlando and CA so I speak from experience. We've stayed at all 3 in CA and several in Florida. I spent most of my life in the service industry, half of it as a manager, so I know what to look for. Prior to my first visit to the PPR, we only stayed at the Grand Californian, typically on the Concierge level. It's fair to call me "particular" about my accommodations. The GC was booked up once, so we took a chance on the PPR and we were very pleasantly surprised. The staff is courteous and very friendly, the valet's know me by name now. We've even booked the night before when the hotel was completely sold out and not only did they "make room" for us, we had a high floor to boot. Also, Disney has a 2 days prior minimum booking policy they overlooked for us. The hotel is always flawlessly clean and functional. It's not fancy at all, this was clearly built for families with children, those on a budget relatively speaking. A standard room can be found as low as $225 for annual passholders in low season, the GC is always $400+ for their most basic room, I've even stayed on the Concierge level at PPR for $275 (the top 2 floor only), the price variance is all but unheard of. You can expect to pay $200+ extra per night elsewhere for the Concierge. The "free" food and beer/wine is better than average in quality with liberal hours. You get the so-called benefit of "Magic Hour" when the park is open early for hotel guests, this is almost useless, despite the other comments. You have to be at the park at least an hour before the extra hour to wait an hour for the extra hour and only about 1/4 of the park is available to you. If you get 2 rides in, consider yourself lucky. Working knowledge of the Fastpass system and when to go on rides vs when to shop or retreat to your room for a nap will be just as effective as the "Magic Morning" (insiders tip, go on rides during popular shows like Fantasmic or the fireworks display and you'll walk on most rides...this only works at night). The PPR doesn't have the dramatic lobby found in the GC, the hotel décor has a SoCal beachy feel, it's not "handsome", but the view of Disney's California Adventure blows the doors off the GC, especially from floors 6 and higher, the price is basically half or two nights for one and what you "sacrifice" for the free night is nearly imperceptible. We now stay at the Paradise Pier regardless of availability, spend the extra we saved in the munchkin. I realize 4 stars is a high rating for a family-style hotel, but that's what they're selling and they deliver for a great price without sacrificing on Disney's famous customer service.

Room Tip: The higher floors allow you to watch the "World of Color" from your window and the audio i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and 5 year old son for a night. We live in San Diego with Annual passes and wanted an early start to the day at Disneyland, as well as the opportunity to catch the extra hour for Magic Morning hours. All Disney properties offer the extra hour (and we've found it is worth it to be first in the park with short lines ... at times, we've been able to ride the 3-4 popular rides before the crowds overtake the park). For this stay, the Magic Morning hour was at CA Adventures (I recommend heading straight to Cars Land Radiator Springs Racers and once done, get in line for a Fast Pass, as the lines for this ride can exceed 1 hour and the fast pass typically runs out well before noon).

I've also stayed at the Grand Californian and was pleasantly surprised by this "lower-end" property. The room was bright and clean. There was a refrigerator in the room, as well. While Paradise Pier is a little farther from the parks (can't beat the dedicated entrance to CA Adventure from the Grand Californian), I think I prefer this to the Grand CA overall.

As with all Disney properties, the cast members were very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family stayed here because my parents were renewing their vows and we wanted to stay near the venue for convenience. The double queen room we stayed in was very cute! The beds were comfy and the decor was tasteful Mickey and friends. They treated my parents rooms like vip because of their event I'm talking Disney candy and flowers. And being able to walk to the park and get in early was the best part for us. Now the downside. For such an expensive hotel the bathtub was a little worn and the water pressure was very poor and temperature changed often. I had plenty of time to inspect because we did not have a shower curtain and when we called in the early morning, because we were planning to get to the park early by 7am, we did not get a shower curtain for 45 minutes. I called again and one was brought up in 10 min. For such a price and resort I did expect a little better. But the staff was nice and the breakfast cafe in the lobby was great and reasonably priced. I would stay again if the price was right just so I could walk to disney again. But if you're looking for luxury there are other hotels around at half the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Address: 1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#20 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to the heyday of California beachfront boardwalks at Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel. Loaded with special Disney touches, this seaside-themed hotel will carry you on a wave of relaxation, all the way up to the whimsical waterslide at the scenic rooftop pool. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, exceptional dining and entertainment are just steps away. Hotel Guests can also enjoy a special entrance through Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa to Disney California Adventure Park with a valid Park ticket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneyland Paradise Pier Hotel
Disney Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Paradise Pier Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.