We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOW I see the difference between Disney and "Good Neighbors"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel to your Saves list
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Antioch, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“NOW I see the difference between Disney and "Good Neighbors"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have been going to the Disneyland Resort for 20+ years now and almost always stayed at a "Good Neighbor" hotel for budget reasons. I could not stomach the idea of spending $250-400+ a night at a Disney property when I could get other accommodations around the park for under $100. We decided to give the Paradise Pier a try for one reason only: location. Except for the Grand Californian, there is no closer hotel to the parks. So having given Disney a shot, I can see the differences. The property was CLEAN, and I mean SPOTLESS. I have never seen a property this well cared for. Our 5th floor room was nice and comfortably fit the five of us with 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper. The couch bed wasn't your typical futon or pullout, but the seat panel flipped over and became a very comfy mattress that our kids actually fought over. The check-in paperwork identified our room as a "city view" but it actually faced the park - although not high enough for us to see anything. Check in took a long time, which was a bit frustrating, but the staff were very nice about it. Everyone from the front desk to the bell desk have obviously been trained to provide the famous "Disney magic." There are planned activities every day, so it has more of a resort or cruise ship atmosphere than your average hotel. The pool looked great, although we didn't use it (despite the fact that it was January, and 50 degrees out, there were guests swimming...they were clearly insane). We didn't even think of eating at the PCH Grill because it's a character breakfast and therefore outlandishly expensive. I had thoughts of grabbing a bite at the more affordably priced Surfside Lounge, but it looked more like a bar and wasn't very inviting for my family. Rainforest Cafe in Downtown Disney ended up as our typical breakfast hangout, although I also vouch for Flo's V8 Cafe in California Adventure. The walk to the park is short, as walks go - 5 minutes to the Grand Californian's "secret" California Adventure entry, and 10 minutes to the front gates of Disneyland. Staying at a Disney property gets you some status around the resort, including "Extra Magic Hour" entry at whatever park is opening early. Another perk is you can have your purchases delivered back to the bell desk, so you don't have to lug your bags around while you enjoy the parks. They can be picked up after 7 the next morning. Other reviews mentioned long waits for the elevator during the morning rush, and while we didn't have any issues, it could be a problem during peak season. There are only 4 elevators serving the resort, and I think 1 of them is dedicated to the concierge floor only.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a room on the upper floors if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    580
    224
    79
    44
See reviews for
921
168
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, Kent
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on an LA stopover and really enjoyed our time here. We are regular guests in Disney hotels in Orlando, Florida and were interested by the differences.

Check in was smooth and friendly, and concierge/bell services were very prompt and helpful with our cases and getting a wheelchair for me. Room was spacious, clean and modern with a subtle theming to Disney. This was really the major difference with Florida Disney hotels, the theming was minimal at Paradise Pier. There was one large (Donald Duck) poster which was fun, and a few small "mouse" touches, but it didn't scream Disney in the way the Florida properties do but was nicely decorated and welcoming.

The walk into Disneyland and California Adventure wasn't too far - around ten to fifteen minutes (I was in a manual wheelchair with my husband pushing). We did get a bit lost going through the Grand Californian hotel on the way, but staff quickly helped us.

If you don't want to go into the park you can see some of DIsneyland's firework display from the pool deck - they pipe music onto the area behind the bar but not into the pool area itself. The view was good but not great, since it's designed to be seen from the park!

While at Paradise Pier we ate dinner via room service one night. The service was prompt, the food hot and tasty and reasonably priced. The only frustration at the hotel was the odd divide between drinks sold in the shop and drinks sold at the cafe/bar. We had to buy bottles of diet coke from one but bottles of vitamin water from the other! It was a small glitch in an otherwise excellent stay. I would thoroughly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Paradise Pier for two nights in between Christmas and New Years.

It's a really nice hotel and has the benefit of being on site at DisneyLand (a 10-15 walk) from park entrance.

We've stayed a lot at DisneyWorld resort hotels in recent years. In terms of size and theming its not a patch on what's in Florida and its pretty pricey (five star prices for three to four star facilities).

That said. the service was Disney quality from start to finish. My wife has mobility issues right now and they offered a wheelchair for the duration of our stay for no charge.

The first night we arrived quite late. We watched the DisneyLand fireworks from by the swimming pool the first night before retiring for a good room service dinner.

The room is a reasonable size with a comfy bed and good pillows. Views over California Adventure Park were good. Bathroom was good too.

The next day we went to DisneyLand park. It's a bit of a walk as I said - cross the road (with not a brilliant dropped kerb for wheelchair) and then walk through the Grand Californian Hotel (a super, super hotel that looked on a DisneyWorld resort standard) into DownTown Disney and then through to Park entrances.

We spent the next day by pool before flying on late that night - which is pretty dull as pool areas go and in the winter there's no pool bar or any drinks out there. The cafe on the ground floor is decent, but nothing to write home about.

All in all it was a nice stay, if a bit pricey. Our views are probably coloured by our experiences in Disney World in Florida where the on site hotels are pretty fantastic.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel has both pluses and minuses. The pluses: lovely decorations in the room, convenient location to the back door Disney Resort guest visitor entrance to California Adventure and great view of the fireworks on pool deck. The minuses: the hotel convenience store has short hours, the one restaurant is poor and for this high rise, the elevators are horrible.

If you pay for an upgrade for a Park View, you won't regret it. From our room (we had an upper floor view) we saw California Adventure Theme Park and could watch Disney's World of Color Spectacular as well as the fireworks. This was not an optimal view but lovely if you're too tired or have small children that need to sleep.

The hotel rooms appear to have been refurbished in the relatively near past and the furniture is lovely. The bed linens are appropriately themed to a seaside pier and the bathroom is ample in size.

The absolute worst feature of this otherwise lovely hotel is the lack of elevators. Breakfast, when the parks open and when the parks close - there simply aren't enough elevators. The elevators are few and small and the strollers are many so plan on waiting 10-15 minutes (and this was during low season)!

Once you get out of the elevator it is a less than 5 minute walk to Disney's newer Grand California Hotel and Spa and from there its just a few minutes to a resort guest only entrance to California Adventure near the attraction "Soaring". You can also choose to walk to Downtown Disney for a quicker walk to the entrance of Disneyland.

If you stay at Paradise Pier and want quick food service your best bet is to go to the California Hotel quick service restaurant.

All in all I love the extras of staying at Disney Hotel properties so I am willing to balance the pluses and minuses. I hope this helps all of you considering a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors worth the extra cost especially those facing California Adventure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Second time staying here. It is USUALLY the least expensive of the 3 Disney properties.
The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, but the rooms are somewhat small. Their are 2 elevators, an on-site restaurant, and very nice pool area. The staff are very accommodating. It is somewhat difficult depending on where you park to get your luggage in and out of the hotel. Pull-up to the back and unload before you park. It is a short walk thru The Grand Californian straight into California Adventure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I LOVE the convenience of staying at Disneyland hotel properties and have stayed at each of the three Disneyland hotels. When booking for this weekends trip, we couldn't get a room at our favorite (Disneyland or Grand California) for the Saturday night of our stay and finally called the reservation line for some assistance to find out the reason why was the Tinkerbell half marathon. We managed to get into the Paradise Pier for Saturday. We arrived in the evening to a welcoming staff and a room with a beautiful view of California Adventure and the World of Color. The nightmare came just a few hours into our sleep. The windows seemed like they may have been open as they started setting up the street out front for the marathon. Trucks and loading gear beeping, then after 3am came the worst. The crews began to arrive, then the runners, then the announcers! Speakers and intercoms!! It was SOOOO loud and very frustrating. The heats were being cheered into the race one after another and didn't end until well after 5:30. The sleepless night led to a very tired day at the park and affected the rest of our days at Disneyland. Needless to say, I am VERY upset to have not gotten a good night sleep (which at Disney hotel prices is even more upsetting). Since Disney didn't warn me, here is yours - do NOT stay at the Disneyland hotels during Tinkerbell marathon weekend unless you will be participating in the event. And if you can, avoid the park altogether that weekend. Due to 12,000 + participants the park super crowded, which we weren't expecting in mid January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family is all about Disney. We were pretty disappointed witht the hotel. Nothing special and it was quite the walk. We should have stayed at one of the food neighbor hotels that are much closer in proximity.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Address: 1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to the heyday of California beachfront boardwalks at Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel. Loaded with special Disney touches, this seaside-themed hotel will carry you on a wave of relaxation, all the way up to the whimsical waterslide at the scenic rooftop pool. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, exceptional dining and entertainment are just steps away. Hotel Guests can also enjoy a special entrance through Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa to Disney California Adventure Park with a valid Park ticket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneyland Paradise Pier Hotel
Disney Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Paradise Pier Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.