We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel & Concierge service - plus and minus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel to your Saves list
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #25 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hotel & Concierge service - plus and minus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I think we have been spoiled by the Grand California Hotel. That said, here are the plus and minus: Paradise Pier is close to California Adventure Park w/ fantastic view of night shows/lights; Short walk to special entrance inside Grand California Hotel; a little cheaper than the other two Resort Hotels; Rooms were clean & comfortable; Housekeeping was quick; The Concierge Lounge was easily accessible with some vegetation accent (well kept gardens).

Minus: Concierge breakfast was all carbs and did not vary in menu options; dessert options did not vary with only a few choices; elevators slow!!!; Swimming pool area and public areas did not offer any private sitting areas as did Disneyland Hotel and Grand California.

From now on we will stay at Grand California and Concierge service really isn't worth the extra price.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    567
    214
    74
    39
See reviews for
886
163
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

2 nights spent at Disney hotel, Paradise Pier. Would I spend that much money on a hotel again just because it is a Disney hotel? Probably not. Having said that the room was lovely although we couldn't get a king size bed as there are only 10 in the whole hotel, we figured due to it being family orientated. We were told there was no internet available in the room which was disappointing but in fact had internet connection from Disney hotel. Check in was easy and the folks at the front desk were very helpful. We had a cocktail and snack in the lounge and that was yummy!!! Disneyland was buckets of fun. Room service for breakfast was quick and tasty.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

In the past, we've stayed at the Disneyland Hotel...this time, we thought we'd give the Paradise Pier a try, primarily because we could get a better deal there - higher room floor for less money. The staff was wonderful in every way - exactly what you'd expect from a Disney hotel. The theatre room and arcade were perfect for our children, ages 8, 5 and 5. The hotel itself lacked a little charm, but the view at the top made our stay entirely worthwhile. The second we opened our curtains to see all the lights of California Adventure, we were as happy as could be. There was no need to brave the crowd to see World of Color - we watched the pyrotechnics from our room and that was sufficient for us.The room was perfectly clean - I even took a bath one night, which is extremely rare for me to do in a hotel. I literally have no complaints whatsoever. I'm only giving the hotel a 4 because it could use some more decorative elements to increase the Disney charm. I'd definitely stay there again, regardless. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more for a room higher up, you won't regret it. Our room was the farthest room south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxnard, ca
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here over halloween for my daughters make a wish trip and were treated with such kindness. I know our experience will be different from other guests but am still very impressed with everyone's willingness to help and make us comfortable. The rooms were clean and so fun to come back to and see how housekeeping placed the stuffed animals in different arrangements every evening. When her stroller broke the first night the engineers came up quickly and did their very best and were very helpful. The children had a great time with the pool and slides, and enjoyed the glass elevator. The laundry facility was clean and very convenient. The location is a little further than the other two resorts but still walking distance was no problem. It was great to be able to get into the parks an hour earlier than the general public because of staying at one of the resorts. Overall we had a great experience. Staff was welcoming and the experience will be one that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were visiting Disneyland to remember my Grandfather who had just passed, this was one of his and his wife's favorite places. Paradise Pier is a great alternative to Disneyland Hotel for a slightly better rate but not sacrificing quality and fun. Breakfast was lacking here as it seems to be at all Disneyland Hotels, go to Downtown Disney. It is a brief walk to Disneyland from here, and you can cut through the Grand Californian to get to a back entrance to California Adventure and skip the bag check lines. Rooms were very clean and all the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

If you're reading this review you probably fall into one of two categories. You're either planning your first stay at a Disneyland Resort Hotel or you've stayed at either the Disneyland or Grand Californian Hotels and wondering if Paradise Pier is worthwhile.

Let me start by saying that all three Disneyland Hotels are expensive. There are significantly cheaper options in the area. If you're like my wife and I though, you know that Disney brings a certain level of service to their theme parks and this extends to the hotels. For the added benefits like early admission, the private entrance to Disney California Adventure and truly being walking distance from everything, I think the stay is well worth it.

Paradise Pier is the least expensive of the three Resort hotels. It was originally built and owned by a Japanese company (there is a 13th floor) and purchased and refurbished by Disney in the late 90s. The theme is a nostalgic intentionally kitschy CA hotel named after the Paradise Pier boardwalk area at the DCA Park.

Unlike the Grand Californian, The lobby here is practically non-existent. There is a fun goofy statue to take pictures with a small gift shop and the entrance to two restaurants and that's about it. Disneyphiles will like the painted murals behind the front desk of Paradise Pier (with all of the original rides).

The staff here really shines. The front desk, was nicer and more helpful than at the Grand Californian where we stayed the summer previous. When they found out it was our anniversary the did some beautiful rose petal decorations in our room. It really made the trip special.

The rooms are pretty standard but if you love Disney then you will like many of the decorations including a lamp shaped like mickey sitting on a lifeguard tower. Our room faced the Grand Californian and hide a nice view of the taller rides at DCA.

The pool is pretty normal but does have a separate fun spiral shaped water slide. There is a small pool for little children as well. We didn't visit the snack bar.

You're staying here to be close to the Parks and Downtown Disney so let's talk distances. You are right across the street from the main Grand Californian entrance, and a few minutes walk through the GC hotel will get you access to the private entrance into DCA (right next to the Grizzly River Rapids Ride and the fast pass line for World of Color Shows).
A short 3-4 minute walk will get you to the Disneyland Hotel and west entrance of Downtown Disney. You can hop on the monorail from there into Disneyland (you may have to have entered Disneyland already to use this entrance). The walk from your side of Downtown Disney to the main entrance plaza of Disneyland and DCA is another ten minutes. More if its crowded. The entire complex is well lit and landscaped and a nice walk, even late at night.

Pros
-great location and access to many resort benefits
-knowledgeable and friendly staff
-comfortable rooms
-least expensive of the three hotels

Cons
-farthest walk of the three hotels
-amenities at hotel itself are sparse
-not as themed as other two hotels
-you may not end up with much of a view

Overall I would absolutely recommend this hotel, especially to families or those looking for a great Disney experience while saving a little extra money for mickey ears and Dole Whips.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Booked through a travel agent. Rooms are clean and comfortable but nothing special. Must be insulation in the walls because it was very quiet and it was at 100% capacity when we were there. The only noise we heard was from the hall and one night a baby crying. Noise sounded like it was traveling trough the air vent system. I was concerned about being a few floors over the pool but it was not bad. Elevators are very busy in the early AM so take the stairs down. The best part of this hotel is the location. Just across the street from the much more expensive Grand CA, we were able to use the side entrance to CA Adventure and the direct entrance to Disney's Main street. Super convenient. Loved not having to walk a mile in the morning or evening and being able to pop back to the room if we needed. Our son had fun at the pool and water slide. It is completely contained with several staff members/lifeguards so we felt comfortable letting him have a little freedom while we kept an eye on him from the poolside. If you are deciding between a Disney hotel and a nearby one note that Disney guests get access to one of the parks (schedule is on the DL website) an hour prior to everyone else. Get in line 30 or so minutes prior to opening - the lines can be long. We grabbed breakfast snacks at the cafe in the Grand CA the night before and ate them while waiting in line. There are additional benefits to booking through Disney World Travel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel

Address: 1717 S Disneyland Dr, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#24 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to the heyday of California beachfront boardwalks at Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel. Loaded with special Disney touches, this seaside-themed hotel will carry you on a wave of relaxation, all the way up to the whimsical waterslide at the scenic rooftop pool. Located in the heart of Downtown Disney District, exceptional dining and entertainment are just steps away. Hotel Guests can also enjoy a special entrance through Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa to Disney California Adventure Park with a valid Park ticket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneyland Paradise Pier Hotel
Disney Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Paradise Pier Hotel
Disneys Anaheim
Paradise Pier Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.