We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about the best Fried Chicken” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Inn

Plaza Inn
1313 S Harbor Blvd, inside Disneyland, Anaheim, CA (Disneyland)
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 758 Restaurants in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Disneyland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Just about the best Fried Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

And I mean it- their chicken is better than most sit down restaurants outside the parks, and much better than fast food. It is quite similar to Knotts.

Tender, tasty with a nice crust. Served with mashed potatoes, a just OK gravy and green beans.

The portions are huge. This is big enough to share. Get a dessert to share and both of you will be full after one of these dinners.

They also serve other entree's, all of which are decent- but why? This is a "must do" every Disney trip for us.

Now as for the Character Breakfast? It's Ok, but try the one at Paradise Pier.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    136
    39
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Poor Value for a Pot Luck Character Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent $115 for three adults and two kids for what was an average buffet breakfast meal. We really didn't come for the meal but for the kids to meet the characters and to get their autograph books signed.

Our first mistake was to book for 10:00am as when we arrived they only had patio tables available, with most tables having no shade whatsoever. We were given a table in one corner of the patio that only had a handful of other families. We were at our table for more than an hour and only three characters had visited. To meet Minnie, you actually have to get up from your table and queue up.

After waiting for more than an hour we went inside to just meet Winnie the Pooh whom the kids particularly wanted to meet. A rather surly manager told us we had to wait at our table. When we said that we had been waiting for more than an hour and had only met three characters, she said that was not possible. We said that we were in a part of the patio that only had a few customers and had been ignored. She basically called us liars as in her opinion that was not possible. When another family came in with the same complaint, our surly manager changed her tune and arranged after a ten minute wait for Pooh Bear to come over to us.

Overall a very disappointing start to our day. This was our fourth character breakfast over the past several years and most likely will be our last. We expect to pay a premium for food at Disneyland but we also expect to meet more than 3-4 characters at a character breakfast.

Not recommended unless you are willing to pay over the odds for an average meal and take pot luck with how many and which characters you might meet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Not the character dining we were expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I will start this review from the beginning. We made a reservation for 16 people weeks in advance. When we got there they told us we needed to wait for a table to be prepared. The restaurant was not busy. We had to put our own tables together as the person working there didn't seem to be able to figure it out on her own. We ate our entire breakfast before one character came to our table. It was only after we complained that we did see a few. The food was okay... not great. We have done several character dining in disney world and this was way below the standard we are used to!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Character Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was my first character dining experience. There was a Disney Photopass photographer to take a picture of your party at the door. If you bought the Photopass, they give you an 8x10 picture and a few 4x6s included with your meal. Breakfast is buffet style - several pastries, pancakes, waffles and a create your own omelet station where a cast member will cook your omelet for you! Characters come to visit you at your table, and the variety of characters was great! They vary, but at my breakfast there were several of the classics (Minnie Mouse of course, Chip and Dale, Winnie the Pooh and Tigger too!) as well as some of the more rare characters (Captain Hook, Max Goof and the Fairy Godmother!). Great dining experience for a reasonable price. I'd definitely go again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Made reservations the morning we went”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We did 3 character meals on our vacation to Disneyland. This was the worst of the 3. But it was still good and had lots of characters. It was completely buffet including drinks. So no servers. Also had the smallest selection of food.
The characters were
Minnie
Pluto
Eeyore
Tigger
Captain Hook
Winnie the Poo
Chip
Dale
Mouse from Cinderella
Fairy Godmother

The fairy godmother took my son to get syrup for his waffle because he had none.
It was fun and hope to return some time
I made reservations at 6:30 am for 8:40 through my phone on the disney web site

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Inn also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
Anaheim, Orange County
 
Anaheim, Orange County
 

Been to Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.