We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Disneyland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin's Cove Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin's Cove Resort to your Saves list
Dolphin's Cove Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   465 W Orangewood Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Ranked #57 of 114 Hotels in Anaheim
Concord
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Close to Disneyland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Positive Things - nice room layout (we had 2 bedrooms), full kitchen (full refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, garbage disposal, pots, pans, dishes, a few spices), 2 TVs with nice selection of cable channels, friendly staff, large pool that is heated perfectly, nice hot tub that water is added to each day to keep it full, snack bar at the pool where you can buy food, often there was free fruit out at the pool - bananas and apples as well as popcorn, nice patio outside with a table and chairs that we enjoyed using several times for meals and just relaxing in the evening, security gate and free parking, close to Toy Story lot (about 10-15 min walk ) and you can take the free tram to Disney from there.

Less than Positive Things - We were downstairs and could hear the people walking upstairs (not too bad but if you had someone with a lot of kids or heavy feet it might get bad), no central air conditioning (fans in bedrooms work well for nights but can't really take a nap on really hot days in the bedrooms, also the living room gets really cold as that is where the air conditioner is so if someone is sleeping there they might need an extra blanket), somethings look worn (both TV remotes had all the numbers worn off so were just blank buttons and the noodles at the pool are torn up (but this might happen quickly and they don't have to provide them)), continental breakfast only two days a week (not a big deal for us with the kitchen but worth mentioning), key cards are a bit touchy especially at the pool and the front gate, there was never pool towels out when we went to the pool and we only had two in our room the first day and never received more, pull out couch is what you would expect (not too comfortable) and I would never sleep 2 adults on it only one small adult or two very small kids), VERY slow wifi (you can check your email but don't try doing any business or work on it)

All in all a comfortable and enjoyable week for myself and the four other adults that were with me.

Room Tip: Select upstairs room if you don't have any mobility issues. You can hear people walking in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    110
    47
    34
    30
See reviews for
157
33
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Oak, Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Dolphin Cove is within walking distance of Disneyland/CA Adventure but luckily you also have the option of purchasing a shuttle pass for just a little more. Rooms are clean and well furnished and if you like having the options to cook and grill then this is the place for you. We found the pool and hot tub to be well maintained. Fellow guests are fun and friendly. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room with a view of the Disneyland fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

After reading so many negative reviews, we went into our vacation with pretty low expectations, but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived! We stayed in a one bedroom on the second floor. It was clean and nicely decorated and gave us plenty of room for our family of four. The air conditioning wall unit worked fine to cool down the entire room (living room, bedroom, kitchen), but I can imagine that perhaps in the 2 or 3 bedroom units, it may be a little warmer with just a wall a/c unit. The a/c was a little loud, so if you plan to watch TV while the a/c is running, you do have to turn up the TV volume quite a bit. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed. There is no laundry machines in the units, so you must use the laundry room on site which only had 3 of the 6 washing machines actually working when we were there, so expect a little wait.
The grounds are beautifully maintained. You don't feel like you are in the middle of the city when you are wandering through the property. The kids enjoyed the pool and game room, and the staff was extrememly friendly and helpful.
The property is just a mile from Disneyland. The hotel staff will recommend getting a city bus pass for about $4 per person (I think it was $1 for children) that will take you to the front entrance of Disney. The bus stop is right around the corner from the resort. This is your best option if you plan on exploring several spots in Anaheim and the pass is good all day. However, we discovered that if you walk just about a block further than that bus stop, you will find the Disney Toy Story parking lot where you can hop on a Disney shuttle bus for free. If you only need transportation to Disneyland and you don't mind that little extra walk, that is your best bet.If you drive to any of the Disney parking lots, it will cost you $15 a day.

One word of caution about this resort. They do not have an elevator. My husband is disabled and, though we requested an accessible room, they still booked us a second floor room. Their reasoning was that they don't have any one bedroom units on the first floor. We managed OK since he is not prone to a wheelchair, but not sure how that would work out with someone who did rely solely on a wheel chair. I'm sure, legally, the guest would win that argument and have to get an upgrade. This is the one reason I did not give the resort a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: try to request a room facing the inside grounds. Otherwise you just get a view of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waddell, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed in room 502. The carpet was very dirty. The bathroom was dirty. The furniture was outdated and old. My wife had to clean the bathroom and kitchen before we were comfortable to use both. Front desk staff in the morning was friendly. Front desk evening staff had no clue. Security was good. Overall, don't waste you money. We decided to have 1 good night in Anaheim, so on the last day of our 8 day vacation, we stayed at the Embassy Suites hotel. Loved it!

Room Tip: Don't recommend this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We decided to go to disneyland 7/3/2012-7/7/2012. We booked this resort through our timeshare. What a HUGE mistake. We had a 1 bedroom and requested a 1 st floor room because we have a 2 year old. I confirmed the same day by calling dolphin s cove directly. We I arrived they told me they only had a 2nd floor room available. I told him I had confirmed with them earlier. But he was vey rude and told me they were at capacity and no rooms available. I told him I wanted to speak to management and all of a sudden we have a room available. How strange!! When we opened are room door the smell was awful (musty) smell. Tub still had hairs, floors dirty, to top it off I went into the bedroom and you can barely squeeze through. The dresser pulls are super sharp and got stuck on my cargo shorts and ripped then about 6-8 inches. When I complaint they told me they could only file an incident report ( what it really means SHUT UP and LEAVE!!!). What a SERVICE!! You are warned...... Stay at your own risk!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Read reviews and actually believe what people write... LOL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvin, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed with 7 people (3 children under 3). It was very comfortable. We basically slept, hung out in AM, had breakfast and left. The complex seemed nice. They served coffee and doughnuts in lobby. We stayed in the second bedroom. It was big enough to fix a playpen, toddler cot and two twin beds. The bathroom was huge. The kitchen was fully stocked.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We read the mixed reviews and have to go on the side of disappointed in the unit. Expected to wait for room as we did arrive early. Was told room not ready for 3 hours. However if became ready as soon as the evening desk came on board. Rugs were wet and smelled. We knew the air conditioning was going to be poor and it was. Best way to cool the room was to leave both doors wide open and run the portable fan. Ice machine in the hallway did not work. No pool towels in the room and could not get any first on board. Took 3 days to get pool towels. The stove top burners in front did not work. Was fixed during the stay but after one use the burners stopped working again. Vons is very close over on Chapman, but too far to walk. Cab driver took the long way, he claimed he actually got lost. He admitted mistake and was not going to charge us the $12 fare. I paid him the $6 it would have cost. The Kiosk in the lobby works great and the bus pick up right in front of Dennys. This worked out great. The mile to Disney is too far for children. On 2nd day house keeping came in to make the beds while we were out. One bed was only half made? Then there were two shower towels in the toilet? Evening desk could not help us nor would come down to the unit to see the towels in the toilet. Next day while bringing the wet towels to the desk, Robert took some action. Sent somebody to fix the stove, bring pool towels and new shower towels immediately. Seemed to be the only person that cared about customer service. I was going to invite my daughter and family to stay here when their youngest is ready for Disney. No way! The cheap hotel across from Disney is better because we have stayed there too. We have been Wyndam owners for five years and yet to find something good to write about. Sorry in the cave, GD.

Room Tip: Units towards Disney can see the fire works. You can hear them everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin's Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin's Cove Resort

Address: 465 W Orangewood Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 114 Hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin's Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolphin's Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin`s Cove Hotel Anaheim
Dolphins Cove Hotel
Dolphins Cove Anaheim
Dolphins Cove Resort Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin's Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.