We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Anaheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Anaheim to your Saves list
Marriott Anaheim
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 West Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #20 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved the Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2006

We are a family of 5 from South Australia. We have been to Disneyland 3 times before but this was the nicest place we have stayed at. We had 2 adjoining rooms for 5 nights in early May 2006. The price was very reasonable. The main thing we wanted in a hotel was a refrigerator in each room and a laundry at the hotel. This hotel had both and I even met a guy from across the road at the Hilton who came to use the laundry because they didn't have one. The rooms were extremely comfortable and the beds were great. The bathrooms were top class and the toiletries fantastic. There was pizza available downstairs as well as the hotel restaurants and another food outlet with snacks etc. The shuttle to Disneyland is quite outside the door. The only thing I didn't take into account was the number of people there mingling in the lobby because of conventions next door. The staff were very helpful and I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    571
    222
    66
    36
See reviews for
412
145
48
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

Wow - what treatment! After a horrible experience at the Anabella, we immediately went to Marriott. Thank you for such wonderful treatment. We were greeted at the door. The bellhop immediately helped my husband while other staff helped me with my daughter. The front staff heard our tale of woe. They couldn't have been nicer. The manager matched the rate of the previous hotel. He upgraded us to the club level. They arranged for my sister's stay as well. It is all about customer service and this marriott got it right! They even gave my daughter a glass of milk to help her sleep. They understood the late hour and the need to get my daughter to bed. The staff had our bags and roll away in the room within 15 minutes. This level of serviced continued for our entire stay. I would stay again and recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

Our terrible rating is based solely on service. This may have changed since our stay but we had a nightmare of a time with the staff at this hotel. We moved here from the Marriott Residence Inn (also a bad experience), and will never patronize a Marriott property in the future.

The hotel looks nice, it's modern enough, the rooms are decent size and clean enough.

The parking is confusing, the hallways are noisy, and the desk staff and concierge were snooty and patronizing at best.

We moved rooms twice (first one was directly over the main entrance and the shuttle stop--with the shuttle bus motor running full bore at all hours and between runs). The second room we requested a QUIET area after the first unit. We were placed in a unit on another floor sandwiched between a block of 6 rooms that were rented by a very large family on vacation with lots of young children (age 2-13). These folks let their kids pound on the walls, left them in the rooms without supervision so they jumped on the beds and had the TV's so loud it was obscene, they were running through the halls like wild animals--yelling, screaming and slamming doors repeatedly!! We called the front desk a number of times and eventually we called the security department. When any staff were present the kids would retreat inside the rooms and it was nice and quiet, of course! The security personnel knocked on ONE door and tried to speak with a girl about the age of 14 who barely understood English (this family were Asian tourists), and she indicated that the adults had left her "in charge" of the pack of children (at least 10 kids in the 6 rooms) for the rest of the evening. After that encounter the staff refused to do anything further and they never contacted the parents of the group the next day to our knowledge. They also refused to move us to another floor to escape the noise and get some sleep ON OUR VACATION as GUESTS in their hotel.

Upon returning home we called and wrote letters to the manager of this property, and others up the chain of command for Marriott to no avail for almost six months. The best we were offered when we finally reached a "PR consultant" for Marriott was an offer for a coupon for half off on our next visit to Anaheim staying at this hotel. We told her we would never stay here again and after 6 more phone calls back and forth (on our dime) she finally agreed to mail us a check for 50% off the first night of our stay.

TERRIBLE service, bad attitude, and we won't return to ANY Marriott ever again. For a much better experience we would reccommend the Hilton Hotel right across the street--nicer staff, nicer rooms, underground secure parking (for lower cost), and much, much better amenitites, shuttle service and restaurants as well.

  • Stayed December 2002
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly area, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

I stayed here for 6 nights in April while attending a convention. I had no problems but one person in our party had his reservation lost - The staff apologized and gave him a suite!!
Overall, no major issues - If you park in the garage it's a long walk to the front desk - Bar is overpriced but what hotel bar isn't? Pool is nice, elevators were ok, decor is getting dated but hardly a reason not to stay here. Hotel had option of $9.95/day unlimited local/long distance calling in US. Be ready to walk to get to restaurants. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2006

We stayed at the Marriott Anaheim from May 7-11th. We took the Supershuttle from John Wayne airport. The bell boy met us at the van and took all our luggage. I walked right up to the counter and check-in. We purchased our Disney Vacation Package through AAA, the Marriott took great care of us. We had requested that we have adjoining rooms with my parents, which did not happen, but we did have rooms right next door to each other on the conceirge floor, which was fine.

The bell boy escorted us to our room and was very informative about conceirge hours, park hours, shuttles, dining, etc.

We found the conceirge lounge on the 17th floor to be a little lacking. The breakfasts were good and there was adequate cereals, fruits, oatmeal, muffins and even bacon and eggs for breakfast. The afternoon cocktail hours weren't as abundant. First of all the alchoholic beverages are not included. It is an honor bar. On the other hand they do stock premium brand spirits, wine and beers. The hot hor d' overves were okay and they had some cheap chex type mix on all the tables which was way too spicy for me or my kids. the fridge was stocked with complimentary water, soda and juices, which was great for the kiddos. We took several bottles a day to the park. Since a bottle of water at Disneyland is over $3, I'm sure we saved a bundle doing this.

The hotel staff was very attentive and prompt. The conceirge also printed our our boarding passes for u.

We had a room with two double beds and requested a pack n play for my 2 year old which was delivered in about 5 minutes. The rooms are a bit older, but were very well maintained. I found the bathrooms to be clean and well stocked. We had a mini fridge in our room which is a must with a 2 year old and a four year old. The maid service was great. We always returned to a nicely cleaned room which was great after spending 12 hours at a theme park.

We ate dinner one night at Cafe Del Sol which was good. Not spectacular, but good enough. We also order room service one day for lunch which was delicious.

The shuttle to Disneyland was great. Dennis (the driver) was spectacular. Always friendly and on time and helpful. He would help us fold our strollers or help the kids get on if our hands were full. He was GREAT!

Overall, our stay was great!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

I second an earlier poster's warnings. We arrived at this hotel at 8pm with a guaranteed reservation expecting our 4 rooms to be waiting for us. The desk clerk informed us that while we had a guaranteed reservation for a room, we were not guaranteed a room with a bed. They offered us a choice between going to another hotel or sleeping on a rollaway bed in a hospitality suite. We were going to a convention at the adjacent convention center and had no intention of relocating to a hotel 5 miles away. Because two of my colleagues were frequent Marriott guests, they were given two rooms. We all doubled up for the night.

The desk clerk was not apologetic in the least and we were offered no compensation for our inconvenience. While the rooms were lovely, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Stay at your own risk!

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2006

Stayed there for a convention, while the place was always busy they had lots of staff around and they always greeted you whenever they saw you. Lots of options for food, and the rooms themselves were clean and well appointed. Very comfy beds and pillows.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anaheim
0.1 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#50 of 115 in Anaheim
3.5 of 5 stars 2,631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
2.4 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#1 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Anaheim

Address: 700 West Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Anaheim 4*
Number of rooms: 1033
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marriott Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Anaheim Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.