We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the room was not what we expected....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Anaheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Anaheim to your Saves list
Marriott Anaheim
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 West Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #25 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver BC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the room was not what we expected....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

When we first saw the hotel we knew right away that the hotel is not very new and updated. We first got a room at the oasis tower was really small, old and dark. The room was stink, too. My parents refused to stay at the room so we went to front desk and asked for another room. The manager was very patient and provided us a much nicer room at the other tower on the 16th floor. The room was bigger and fully renovated with flat screen tv. If you don't like the room that they reserve for you make sure you ask for a better one! We stayed here for our disney trip for three days. It's not too far to walk to disneyland (about 15 mins walk) but imagine after 10 hours in disneyland you probably don't have energy to walk back to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    480
    195
    62
    33
See reviews for
343
126
38
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

This hotel serves the adjacent convention center and has enough meeting space of its own to handle a small convention of its own. If you are considering staying there for a convention, check the Hilton too, as it is across the street and just as convenient to the convention center.

All in all, the hotel is great. It is a very respectable four star establishment. The hotel consists of a central lodging (above the main lobby) and two towers to either side. It may have been three separate building once, but you'd never know it from the ground floor. I stayed in the Oasis Tower, which is above the many conference rooms.

The lobby floor is so cavernous, there were times I had trouble finding my elevator. Signing could be better, but after a day or so, you begin to get the feel of where it is. Besides of the nicely equipped hotel shop, they also host the following businesses: A Starbucks, a take out Pizza Hut (yes! casual food), an Enterprize car rental agency and a Fed Ex/Kinkos outlet.

Parking is either valet (they park the car in an adjacent outdoor lot) or via the adjacent parking garage that has elevator access to the lobby. For a newbie, finding the parking garage elevator can be a challenge.

Nothing is free or reasonably priced in the hotel. For example, wireless internet access costs $13/day (noon to noon, not 24 hours of when you first buy). That is disappointing, since you can get good FREE internet access is pretty standard, even in budget motels. Starbucks cost you a buck more over their "regular" prices and the buffet breakfast will set you back $18. To be fair, the buffet breakfast is excellent and they have a cook there to make omlets to order.

But, come on! These little gouges add up. My take on things is that they know they've got you. There are no nearby convenience stores, resturants, etc in walking distance. You either deal with them or do without.

The ONE service I did get for free was to print my airline boarding pass for the next day. By that point, I was expecting to get nicked for another dollar or five just to do that.

That said,

The hotel's staff were outstanding! Very attentive, knowlegable and professional. Moreover, management was on the premises and observed making sure that things stayed that way.

The room was spacious and very clean. Not palatial, but not tiny either. The bathroom was kind of small, but adequately served its purpose. About the beds, it is one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. While bedding firmness is something that varies by individual, their make up of mattress, lining, linens and pillows were simply perfect for me! If I were a bear and needed to hibernate, I'd spend some big bucks to set this arraingement up at home!

In summary, the stay was very pleasant and the hotel is an excellent convention hotel. The only real downside was their price gouging for the little things. It was bad enough that if I were to come back on my own dime (say, to go to Disney, etc), I would shop around elsewhere lodging wise.

  • Liked — Great business location, great business services
  • Disliked — Price gouging, including pay internet access. The pay internet simply made the blatent gouging stand out.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

This place was amazing! We stayed here for 6 nights in April. I was apprehensive at first as it seems quite far away to walk from Disney (especially at the end of a Disney day), however there were 4 of us and a taxi costs anything from $5 - $7, the doorman at the Marriot shouts one over for you or there are plenty queued outside of Disney (we never had to queue). If you do walk, it is only 15 minutes and it's pleasurable.
The room was absolutely huge, we got a room which was 2 rooms knocked into one with a kitchen (sink, fridge, cupboards), a sitting area (couch and 4 chairs)
The hotel staff were so friendly and went out of there way to be accommodating
The pool was beautiful and temperature just right, there are plenty towels at the poolside also.
One thing, this is a hotel for conferences, when we were there it seemed it was the Age 15-17 conference for the US, in saying that though they were fine (just slightly noisy at the pool!!!) totally a one off though.
Definately definately recommend this hotel to ANYONE who is going to Disney Anaheim!!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

My stay over five days was mostly related to a convention in the hall next door, but also included some personal sidetrips. If you have stayed at older Marriotts, then the rooms will be very familiar. Marriott bought millions of yards of the same carpet, drapes and room furnishings. The look is pleasing and the hotel was well kept.

The staff is friendly, helpful and well trained. A new front desk employee seamlessly shifted a complex task to an experienced veteran -- kudos to both!

The breakfast is convention priced at $12 for a healthy buffet. The food is good and constantly tended.

The property is huge, with many winding halls. It is a very long walk to your car in the garage and you have to leave plenty of time to get around the meeting rooms.

  • Liked — Location, Staff and upkeep
  • Disliked — Physical size of the property
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, WA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

The rooms are small and average decor. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens. The shower had low flow and the bath towels were on the thin side. I was expecting more from a Marriott. There is a Starbucks in the hotel and a nice lobby bar. I don't recall a room safe in the closet. Nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

My co-worker and I stayed in the Anaheim Marriott for six nights in conjuction with a conference at the adjacent convention center. Our room on the third floor of the Palms Tower was relatively clean, cozy and well laid out. The air conditioning was an issue the first night .... we eventually had to turn down the thermostat to under 45 degrees to get the room temperature to 70 degrees. Even then , the bathroom steamed up without the door all the way open. Room came with a small refrigerator, which allowed us to keep milk and juice for breakfast.

Bed was very comfortable, and bathroom was adequate.

Ate once in the hotel cafe, but was served the wrong meal and was dissatisfied with the value and the service.

Self-parking at $20. per day was too steep, but there are no alternatives in the area. Marriott charged an outrageous $15. per day for wifi. Other convention goers reported that it did not work well.

Was consistently unable to use my Verizon cell phone in the hotel because connection could not be established.

Pool area was usually crowded with children; hot tub was often over-crowded and did not work very well. The large pool is designed for children, since the maximum depth is 4 ft.

Paid $155. a night - the conference rate. Would suggest room was worth about $129. a night. Would look elsewhere on a future visit, although many rooms in the Hilton across the street were reported to be a very bad shape.

  • Liked — Convenient location to adjacent convention center
  • Disliked — Cost of parking and wifi
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

First of all, if you're attending a conference at the Anaheim Convention Center, you can't beat this location. It's right next door, taking only a couple of minutes walk.

The service as soon as you pull in is great. The bell staff are waiting to take your luggage. They issue a ticket and meet you up in your room within about 5-10 minutes of checking in.

Although there was a large conference taking place, the hotel checked us in early which was much appreciated. The room was clean. There's nothing special about the room itself. It's not that big and the bathroom could stand a remodel, but the beds are heavenly. I just bought a brand new matress at home a few months ago and now that I'm back, I'm missing the Marriott's bed. The pillows are wonderful and the blankets are great.

I only have one complaint about our stay at this hotel. The guest staying in the room next to us was smoking and we could smell it through the adjoining door. We complained almost daily about this, but nothing was ever done. Upon check-out, we complained again and the staff member transferred the call to a Manager where we sat on hold so long that we gave up and just checked out.

The Concierge desk was friendly and helpful. Their computers to print out boarding passes were down and the concierge was more than willing to help with this.

I wish they offered free wi-fi at this hotel, but if you need it you can pay $12.95 per day.

Room service was great. Very fast and the staff were more than willing to set the table up so guests can eat in bed.

I would not hesitate to stay her again if I were attending a conference at the Convention Center.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Complaints should be handled better.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Anaheim

Address: 700 West Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#16 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Anaheim 4*
Number of rooms: 1033
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Anaheim Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.