We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Helpful Staff, Easy Access to Disneyland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Anaheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Anaheim to your Saves list
Marriott Anaheim
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 West Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #25 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly, Helpful Staff, Easy Access to Disneyland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

During our recent trip to Disneyland, we stayed on the concierge level both at the Marriott in Anaheim and at Disney's Paradise Pier, and it was interesting to compare the two.

Staff - All the Marriott staff were far and away more friendly, professional, and helpful than the Disney staff. In particular, the concierge at the Marriott was extremely helpful at locating an alternate route for us back up to the Bay Area so we could avoid areas of I-5 that are tied up in traffic snarls due to construction.

Room Comfort -- The beds in both hotels were very comfortable, but the Disney bed was the most comfortable, the bathroom was more spacious and the furnishings seemed more updated.

Internet Service/Parking -- Internet service was included at Disney, and parking was $15 a day compared to $24 a day at the Marriott. However, the overall daily rate of Paradise Pier was much higher than that of the Marriott.

Accessibility to Disneyland -- From Paradise Pier you can walk across the street and cut through the Disney Grand Californian to get to get private Disney resort guest entrance into California Adventure. However, around park opening, which is when we always went, that entrance gets so backed up with other resort guests using this entrance that it's better to walk all the way around through Downtown Disney to get into the park. It's only about a 10 minute walk, though.

From the Marriott, you can just catch the ART shuttle outside the Marriott. If you miss the Marriott Shuttle, there's also a Hilton Shuttle that was picking up close or at the Marriott shuttle stop due to construction currently underway. We always go to the parks early, before they open, and then come back during the afternoon to swim and rest before heading out again. We got 3 day shuttle passes for $10.00 a person. For us, the shuttle system was dependable and convenient, and the only time we weren't able to get a seat was one night when we stayed until park closing. Actually, it reminded me of using the Disney bus system from the resorts to the parks at DisneyWorld in Florida.

Pools - Well, of course my daughter preferred the Paradise Pier pool facilities. There is a long roller coaster waterslide alongside the pool. The Paradise Pier pool itself is not so special, but it does have a deep end -- the pool at the Marriott does not get any deeper than four feet all the way around. However, parents with children that are not strong swimmers might see this as a good thing. The Marriott pool area did look pleasant with both indoor and outside areas.

Concierge Lounge -- The Paradise Pier lounge is open from 6:30 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. The Marriott lounge is open from 6:30 a.m. until 10:00 a.m. for breakfast, and then again from 5:00 p.m. until 10:00 p.m. However, this lounge is only open from Sunday - Thursday. The Marriott offers a full hot breakfast, with eggs, potatos, bacon or sausage, as well as the usual continental breakfast offerings -- bagels, pastries, toast, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. Paradise Pier only offered continental breakfast, but the overall quality of everything they offered was quite fresh and good. For people like us who get to the park prior to the 7:00 a.m. early entry hours, it was a time saver, enabling us to get a quick cup of coffee and a muffin and fruit before getting on our way.

During the day, the Paradise Pier lounge offers a fruit bowl and some junk food -- cookies, snack mix, potato chips, as well as sodas and juices. During the evening, the Marriott has one hot appetizer (salmon and spinach on the one evening we went), a small plate of cheese cubes, a plate of water crackers, and a vegetable tray and possibly some tortilla chips. Sodas and juices are complimentary and alcohol is available for purchase. Paradise Pier offered one hot appetizer (spring rolls) an elaborate assortment of good cheese, an assortment of crackers and sliced French bread, vegetables and dip, chocolate dipped strawberries and ornate little tarts. They also offered complimentary beer and wine. The Marriott spread appeared meager by comparison, but then, access to the concierge lounge is free if you're a Marriott elite member. The Paradise Pier concierge lounge carries a $125 daily surcharge, and although it's nice you could save a lot of money by stocking up on your own cookies and muffins and sodas.

We enjoyed our stay at both hotels, and would return to both of them again. It was actually a nice mix, because although we enjoyed the facilities and comforts of the Paradise Pier hotel slightly more, it was a great relief to not have to depend on the Paradise Pier staff for the type of extra assistance we were able to get at the Marriott. Really, the concierge at the Marriott saved us hours of just sitting in traffic on I-5 -- not only did she look up the latest traffic updates, but she printed out directions. for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from which you can view the fireworks at Disneyland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    480
    193
    62
    33
See reviews for
339
126
38
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

located with in walking distance if Disney Land. The hotel itself was clean and modern. I was here for a business trip but was able to book a rate that included a $50 Disney gift card for each night of stay. Ate at the hotel bar and ordered room service with no complaints. Would recommend this hotel for business and vacation goers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Excellent choice when attending event at convention center, which is literally out the door. Lobby area much quieter and pleasant overall than the Hilton across the street. Room had a fridge which was spotless, and bed was very comfortable. Nice size room and very clean. Starbucks and adjoining breakfast/lunch spot very convenient. Staff very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

If you are looking for rooms that are clean and friendly staff than this is your place. We were attending an event at the convention center although the street is under construction at the moment it is still easy to move around the area. There are many restruants in the area and just steps away from Disney.

Room Tip: The hotel has corner rooms that are more rectangular in the corners of the building. It is an odd s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I cannot say enough about the comfort, amenities, and proximity to Disneyland! Our family would stay here again and again. The staff were professional and accommodated our requests 100 percent!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Would recommend staying in this hotel because of the hotel and service, but not really for location, unless you are attending an event at the Anaheim Convention. First of all, the hotel is about 15-20 minute drive from the airport. Fortunately a friend picked us up and brought us there. Otherwise, we would have spent much on taxi fare. Next, the walk to and from Disneyland is still considerable - about 10-15 minutes, probably longer if you have young children. If you want a more convenient location, especially if you have small kids, choose something right across Disney. I'm glad we took the hotel shuttle (it quickly fills up if you choose a time near when Disney opens, so plan to go at least an hour before opening), otherwise we would have already wasted energy walking to Disneyland. Not a good idea since you would be walking all day. If you plan to eat out and not at the hotel, there's not much inexpensive dining places near the area. There is a pizza place and convenience store about 10 minutes walk, along the main thoroughfare.

The room was very clean, of good size and had cozy beds. The staff, especially at reception, were friendly. Overall a generally good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The paid Internet service was so slow that it was almost unusable. If you need to use your computer, you need to stay in another hotel. The room was clean but dated. I will say that the staff here is excellent. Too bad they haven't made the effort to improve everything else to that standard. If this hotel weren't close to Disneyland and next to the Convention Center I suspect it would be struggling.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Anaheim

Address: 700 West Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#16 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Anaheim 4*
Number of rooms: 1033
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Anaheim Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.