We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family stay in AWESOME location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel to your Saves list
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1831 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Disneyland Package
Ranked #43 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Lakeside, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family stay in AWESOME location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My family and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Portofino Inn & Suites. The Front office Supervisor, Claudia was warm and welcoming from the moment we entered the office. The night crew greeted us with a smile, when we waddled in from a long day at Disneyland. Thank you so much for providing our family with exceptional service. I know our family will only stay at Portofino Inn & Suites anytime we are in the Anaheim area.

- Lacey Family

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Jessica L-

Thank you for being a loyal and repeat guest and for taking the time to share your experience with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. We are glad to hear you had a great time staying at the Portofino Inn & Suites hotel and that you enjoyed the warm welcome from our FD Supervisor Claudia and the her FD Team. We look forward to seeing you and your family the next time you are in Anaheim.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    519
    246
    115
    73
See reviews for
852
48
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at the portofino in 2007 when my kids were elementary school age. My 3 kids are 13 18 and 21 now and we remembered the large kids suite that the hotel has. We decided to pay a little extra to get the nice over sized kids suite. It has 2 bunk beds and a pull out couch, King size bed for adults. There is a sliding glass door if you decide you want to close it between the rooms. The kids had their own tv and pretty much stayed on there side while we had our own tv and I really like that. I can actually watch the news! The room fits 6 so we were also able to bring one of the kids friends. The walk to disneyland took us 12-15 minutes walking at a decent pace. The room was clean...we did not have any noise issues at all. We were on the third floor. We did hear a baby crying when we were walking down the hall, but nothing in the room. Maybe we just had really good neighbors. Nice lobby, nice staff, limited cheaper food choices near the hotel. We drove to jack in the box just down the street. The parking lot is pretty full, but we always found a spot. I thought the bed was comfortable, I slept like a rock. We were pretty exhausted from disneyland which probably helped. A little bit of changing water temp in the shower. Worked itself out after a few minutes. I called to make sure that we had a fridge in the room before we arrived and when we got there it worked for a short time and then quit working. Luckily I had only brought soda and water and we used the ice maker just across the hall. I did not ask them to fix it since the ice maker was so close. I really like this hotel, and I really liked the extra space. (even the big kids fight over who gets to sleep where in that bunk bed)

Room Tip: Probably the top floor would be best because you would not have anyone above you....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear tinyninja-

Thank you so very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We love hearing that our Family Suite with the bunk beds worked perfectly for the kids.. Thank you for notifying us of your experience with the mini-fridge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the easy walk from the hotel to the Disneyland Main Entrance.

We look forward to you returning to the Anaheim Portofino Inn & Suites when your travel plans bring you back to the Disneyland Resort.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

20 min. walk to Disney main gate. Several food choices nearby. Kid's Suite room was roomy and clean. Shower faucet leaks in rm 2217. Friendly staff. Room was ready early and they let us check in. Luggage room was very helpful to keep bags after checkout for later retrieval. Would stay there again. Floors and walls are a bit thin and other guests start the day early. Excited kids feet sounds through the ceiling = early wakeup call.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an end of the building or on the top floor to reduce noise from neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Dan R-

Thank you for the kind words about our Kids Suite with the Bunk-Beds.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the close proximity of the hotel to the Disneyland Main Entrance and near by restaurants.

Thank you for sharing your observation in regards to the faucet. I will personally look into making the proper changes in order to better enhance our guest experience.

We look forward to seeing you and the family during your next visit to Anaheim.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Portofino's primary charm is is location- just minutes from the convention center, Garden Walk, downtown Disney, and of course, Disneyland. The other big pluses about Portofino: outstanding customer service, free parking for guests, free Wifi, and a nice lobby. Negatives were tiny pool, hot tub jets didn't work, room was just so-so, and little to no onsite amenities like food, continental breakfast, cookies, fruit. They did have chilled water in the lobby, which was nice. The beds weren't the worst I've slept in, but certainly not the best. Pets are not permitted and sadly, I had to leave my tiny dog at home. Room was clean but very plain. Ample towels of average size/softness. Small bathtub in each room. Again, loved the staff - from housekeeping to the front desk, they were all very sweet and accommodating. It's an ok hotel - probably better for families than those without.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear slowdiva-

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate your business and kind comments regarding our property and team of service professionals. We are glad to hear that our close proximity to the Convention Center, Garden Walk, Downtown Disney, and the Disneyland parks met all your needs. Thank you for allowing us to be your host hotel during your stay in the Anaheim area.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My family and I came for a quick DIsneyland vacation. We got the room with the bunkbeds and my son loved it. The other beds were comfortable. After all day on your feet at Disneyland, a sleeping bag on the floor would have been comfortable. The only complaint we have was the walls were so thin that we could hear everything going on in the hall and rooms close by. I can't it's the fault of the hotel, so much as it was the rude, inconsiderate guests making all the noise. Proximity to disneyland was good and it was nice to have the shuttle( for a fee ).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We didn't love the shower. Don't know if they use water softener and hotel soap left us feeling almost like there was lotion in it. a bit of a slimy feeling. Other than that the room was great The room was very clean and lots of space.

Room Tip: The shower wasn't so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Colleen C-

We are glad to hear you had a great quiet and relaxing stay at the Anaheim Portofino Inn & Suites hotel. It is nice to hear you were able to enjoy of our spacious suites and the in room amenities. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Anaheim.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Pros - great set up for kids (bunk beds), walking distance to the parks, near food and convenience locations, microwave and fridge, heated pool, comfortable beds, free parking!

Cons - no clean/dry towels at outdoor pool, no night light situation in kids room with bunk bed ( just left TV on with no sound and it worked great), no table for eating in the room, no room service/continental breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear RBlunt-

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the short walk from our hotel to the Disneyland Maingate entrance. It's great hearing you enjoyed the amenities in our clean and spacious King Suite such as the mini-fridge, the coffee maker, and the microwave.

We are truly sorry that we fell behind on our pool towel rotation. We will continue to monitor it to ensure the pool towel area is always adequately stocked.
Our bunk-bed rooms do have a little light switch that turns on a small reading light next to both the top and lower bunk bed.

We are very grateful that you allowed us to be your host hotel during your visit to the Anaheim area. We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Dan Kramer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anabella
The Anabella
#48 of 115 in Anaheim
3.5 of 5 stars 2,528 reviews
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#32 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Address: 1831 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#40 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious King Suites and Kids Suites perfect for families. Heated outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, video game room, complimentary newspaper, coin-operated guest laundry facilities and free parking. Across the street from Disneyland Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and EasyToBook so you can book your Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel
Portofino Hotel Anaheim
Portofino Suites
Portofino Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.