We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a weekend trip to Disney...this works” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel to your Saves list
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1831 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Disneyland Packages
Ranked #41 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
San Jose, California, Usa
1 review
“For a weekend trip to Disney...this works”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location. Two blocks walking distance to the parks. When we first arrived at our room, it smelled like smoke. We requested a room change and rather than come up and get us a new key for the room right next door, we had to come down and "get it". Frankly, as a guest checking in after traveling, hospitality could have been better. The rooms are older and could use more attention to detail in their cleanliness. For example, seals on sink panels were warmed with water damage with slight mildew; the grout in the bathroom tiles were black in several areas; bathroom ceiling had questionable stains throughout; and window sills were warped with water damage in the inside. Our room faced current construction site of soon to be Springfield suites which caused a dusty view. they are still on the foundation stage and laying concrete so no major noise disturbance. If you're looking for an affordable decent place to stay, then this works. Otherwise, if you want the comfort and luxury, Sheraton is right next door or the Hilton on Convention Way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear XBWells,

Thank you for staying at the Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim. We apologize for not being able to deliver your new room keys to you, and are looking into the our logs to investigate the details. We are glad to learn that overall our hotel worked out for you and your family on your weekend trip. Your suggestions are always appreciated. Thank you for noting how great our location is! Come back and see us soon!

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    441
    211
    108
    68
See reviews for
733
39
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc, California, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The mattress was very run down. It became a taco as soon as we got into it. Rooms need to be updated pretty run down. The whole weekend there were kids running up and down the hall hitting doors at 11 at night. I know its a family hotel, but come on mom and dads watch your kids!


Room Tip: Up date your rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Robin R,

Thank you for bringing the issue with the mattress in your room to our attention, as well as the neighboring younger guests in the hallways. Please keep in mind that we are always available to assist you. We would have loved to relocate you into a another room and sent our security guard to your floor to remind those guests of the common courtesies that should always be practiced, especially at that late hour. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to have the chance of delivering an overall enjoyable and comfortable stay on your next trip to Anaheim.

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very easy walking distance for my 10 & 12-year-olds. Loved the family suite with plenty of room. We even had a theme park view and could see the fireworks e Rey night, but I'm afraid that might go away with the construction of a new hotel in the parking lot. It's a shame that the city of Anaheim would allow that.

Pool was nice but a little small. Still, the kids loved taking a break from the parks in the middle of the day. Also walked to Downtown Disney very easily. I would recommend going through the Grand Californian and using that entrance rather than walking all the way around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This iis a VERY run down hotel with no services to speak of. Understaffed front desk with as many excuses as you can shake a fist at. The pool for 190 rooms is smaller than most home pools. There is no restaurant for breakfast, it's a very long walk to Disney, the two washers and dryers for all rooms, don't work, but there is plenty of parking. The furniture is quite old and scratched up. There are no plugs by the bed, so be sure to bring an extention cord if you need to plug anything in. The rooms are not quiet. It might help to be on the top floor. The lobby is nice, and that's pretty much where nice ends

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear jobcoach,

We are disappointed after receiving your review and hearing our hotel did not fit your preference. Please know that our front desk staff does their very best to accommodate our guests in every way they can. I would very much appreciate your time in discussing your comments further, especially conceding our staff. Also, under normal circumstances, our guests are welcome to use the much larger pool located next door at our sister hotel, Anaheim Jolly Roger Hotel; however, this is not the case during the temporary construction that is taking place on the corner of our block. Again, we are sincerely sorry we failed to impress you. Thank you for your review.

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Upon checking into our hotel room after a day in the park, we called the front desk because our toilet was leaking. Even though told Maintenance was supposedly 'on their way immediately' to remedy the situation, it took another call and at least 45 minutes to an hour for the guy to show up. Was our toilet fixed? NO! We were just told 'do not sit on it and lean back (basically don't sit on it like you would sit on a toilet normally).' During our two night stay we constantly battled sleeping with the noise other guests were making in the hallway. Even though some people were using normal inside voices, they could still be heard as if we had no door on our room. At one point during our first night here, my wife even asked some people coming in from the pool to keep it down as they entered the building from the pool (about 11:30PM). Regretfully I have to say this is NOT the place to stay if you are looking for a restful night's sleep after a long day in the Parks both for reasons of noise heard at night and having nothing done to remedy the problem of a leaky toilet on our bathroom floor. If I would've known about the stay we were going to have, I would've booked my reservation somewhere else. On a good note, while our stay was less than desirable, our room was always clean and the beds were comfortable, and we were close to the Parks.

Room Tip: When reserving your room, elect for a room away from the pool, game room, elevators, and basically a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Frisbeemaniac,

We are sorry to hear of the inconveniences you faced during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies and know we have taken your comments seriously. We are addressing our staff and reviewing our logs to investigate the details to the leaky toilet in your room. Standardly, our maintenance staff would alert the management staff on duty if the issue could not be immediately resolved. We do appreciate you noting the positive aspects of your stay that you did enjoy and hope you will keep these in mind, as we would certainly appreciate the opportunity to deliver the overall comfortable experience that you deserve.

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in a Deluxe Room (Best Available Rate), and it was clean and everything was in working order. One problem: the room didn't have a refrigerator. The marketing materials don't promise one; I thought in this day and age it was a given, unless you're staying in a real corporate hotel. We stayed in a suite two years ago, and that room had a refrigerator. This might not be a big deal to some people, but we were up early everyday to go to a conference. It would've been nice to have cold water, milk for cereal, etc., before we walked to the convention center. Other than that (and a family feud breaking out in the next room at 1 a.m.), the room was fine.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you want a refrigerator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A clean and convenient place to stay for a family of six. We had a two-day Disneyland trip planned and enjoyed every minute. Being so close, walking, distance to the park, restaurants, and the freeway, this hotel was a perfect fit.
The front desk staff and cleaning crew were very friendly and helpful to say the least. We would return to this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Address: 1831 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious King Suites and Kids Suites perfect for families. Heated outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, video game room, complimentary newspaper, coin-operated guest laundry facilities and free parking. Across the street from Disneyland Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel
Portofino Hotel Anaheim
Portofino Suites
Portofino Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.