We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families. Awesome value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel to your Saves list
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1831 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 114 Hotels in Anaheim
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place for families. Awesome value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This place is a little old but its great. 5 minute walk to Disneyland and heaps of restaurants close by. Most of the time your out so why do you need something flashy. The front desk service was excellent. They helped us with tickets and directions. The only negative is that the room does not have a fridge. This is not good for families that need to store cold stuff. Overall for the price it's awesome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Ubangy,

Thank you for sharing the details of the awesome value you enjoyed at our Anaheim hotel! We always love hearing from our guests, and are so glad that you and your family had a great stay. Please keep in mind for your next visit, that we do have refrigerators available for a nominal daily fee. Also, our Kids Suites and King Suites include a refrigerator, as well as many other amenities. We have just completed many updates to our hotel, including new bedding, retouched furniture, new carpet, stylish bathroom fixtures and much more! It would be great to have you and your family back soon to enjoy more of all that we have to offer.

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    488
    232
    112
    71
See reviews for
804
44
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Portofino. Loved the Kids' Suite with a pull out sofa and bunk bed twins behind french doors and a king at the front by the bath. Two vanities made it much easier to get everyone ready at once. Housekeeping was excellent. Towels requested at front desk when pool towel supply was exhausted were delivered immediately to pool area by housekeeping. Front desk friendly and super efficient. Room well appointed, loved the bedding. I want some of those pillows for home!

We walked to Disneyland with 3 kids ages 7, 7, and 11. No complaints from them about the distance (half a mile or so), even after 12 hours at the parks!

My only complaint was the electrical outlets. Room 2213 has a very loose outlet behind the sofa bed, it moved in the wall in a very scary way when you tried to plug into it. The only reason we tried this outlet was because the computer port outlet on the desk did not work. Thank you!

Room Tip: Although we heard some footsteps above us, it was never a problem as indicated by some other reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear mythreeJs,

We are extremely happy that you and your family really enjoyed your experience at the Anaheim Portofino Inn & Suites! Our Kids Suites is definitely the ideal choice for any family seeking accommodations specifically designed for them. Thank you for mentioning that the short walk to Disneyland prevented complaints from the kids, and that you enjoyed efficient and friendly service. Also, thank you for bringing the electrical outlets in your room to our attention, as we have immediately followed up on resolving this issue. Again, thank you for your great review!

Warm Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband, 2 year old son and I stayed at Portofino in later March 2013. I will start with the things that I loved about this hotel. It was a 15 minutes walk from the hotel to the actual turnstiles at Disneyland. That was much faster than driving and parking and taking the shuttle. We were able to come back each day and nap in the afternoon. The room had good storage space for our luggage, clothing, etc. The housekeeping was wonderful. They always had our room cleaned before we returned for our afternoon nap and it was a delight to come back to a room with clean floors, emptied garbage, made beds, fresh linens and toiletries. We used the laundry room while we were there and it was clean and convenient. The housekeeping staff was friendly, quiet and did a great job. The beds seemed clean and the linens were changed between guests (no gross quilt/blankets that stay in between guests). I had requested a potable crib and it wasn't in the room when we arrived, but I called down and they literally had it up to the room in two minutes. The fridge and microwave were in good condition and clean. The TV's (though we only turned it on once) Were nice flat screen in good condition. The best thing was definitely the proximity to Disney and the cleanliness. The few things I did not like about this property were as follows. The sliding door in the kids suite it not sound or light proof. We put up blankets to block the light, but you could hear everything in the next room. Luckily our little guy sleeps pretty well once he is out. The main door to the hallway let in a lot of light all around the door and also let in lots of sound! You could hear everything going on in the hallway. One good point was that the walls were very sound proof. My sisters family was staying next door and there little one was crying and we did not hear one peep. You can tell this is a little bit of an older property that has been upgraded here and there so there are some signs of wear and tear. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear mommybear7,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting from Oregon. We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed all that we have to offer! We appreciate you taking the time to extensively details your experience, and are certain that your review will be helpful to other travelers. Your compliments have been shared with our staff, as well as your suggestions on improvements. We value your insight and appreciate your business. It's great to hear that you and your family will definitely stay with us again!

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We only stayed here because of problems we had at another nearby hotel, and every other hotel in the area was booked. We ended up ending our trip early, even.


This hotel could work if you don't mind an older, kind of run down room. Lower parts of the bathrooms walls had water damage, and there's nothing new or nice looking. Beds were not comfortable and the wall air conditioner was super loud.

The staff was quick and attentive, however, which was a plus, and the room was in a clean condition. Its's also a close walk to the parks. I did like that the doors open inside a hallway, rather than outside.

Would definitely not stay here again, but if you don't expect much, it could work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear greekgoddess122481,

We are extremely excited to inform you that we have just undergone many new and nice looking transformations at the Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim; new quilted bed sheets, countertops, bathroom fixtures, flat screen televisions and a brand new wifi system with increased bandwidth! We have also installed new carpet and wallpaper in our hallways. There's quite a lot to be excited about and we would love to have you back to show you all of our updates and renovations. Thank you for your great compliments on our quick and attentive staff. We appreciate your time in completing the review and hope you and your family decide to return.

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel is very average. I would say it is not a nice hotel, but a cheap convenient place to stay. The halls were noisy. The swimming pool is small. The hotel staff forgot to give us coffee one day and shampoo another. Easily fixed by finding a housekeeper in the hall, but inconvenient. No breakfast included. I hop is across the street, but it was disgusting. 7 11 on the corner was pretty decent for grab and go food. They had fruits yogurts sandwiches etc... There was a pizza place across that was pretty good too. Coffee was a nightmare to find in anaheim! the hilton is the only starbucks. Overall, I would find somewhere nicer next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Svanoo,

We are extremely sorry that we failed to deliver a memorable experience. Please be assured that we have followed up on your comments in regard to our housekeeping staff. We replenish toiletries when they are depleted upon room cleaning and they can always be delivered to your door at your request at any time. Again, we do apologize that your stay with us was less than impressive and would appreciate you reconsidering a return visit. We have recently updated and transformed many features throughout our hotel and would be grateful for the opportunity to deliver an improved stay.

Sincerely,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We took our family over spring break to Disneyland (big mistake). While the park was insanely crowded, the hotel was close by and comfortable. We got the kids suite since we had 4 kids and 2 adults. It was smaller than the photo but it worked out fine for our family. The service was great and parking was great. Very friendly staff. There is a convienent store on the property so that was nice as well. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Opt for the kids suite if you have 6 like we did. They come with bunkbeds, fridge, and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Leslie Q,

We are so glad that you found the Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim a good place to take your family! Thank you for sharing how comfortable you and your family of 6 were in one of our Kids Suites. We appreciate your positive feedback on our complimentary parking, friendly staff and convenient location. Your recommendation of our Anaheim hotel means the world to us and we are so happy that you and your family would stay with us again. Thank you for completing the review.

Kind Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My family of 5 will be staying here very soon and all I can say is I hope the customer service is significantly better than they are on the phone. I called when I noticed there is a breakfast package, and I wanted to know if this was something I could add because it states you need to have one of two rooms to be able to get it which we did and when they were speaking to me they were rude and made me feel stupid for asking if we could add it after we had made our reservations a month ago. If we wanted to add it, we would have to pay an extra $100 a night! That is a little outrageous to add it and if it isn't possible to add, then the ladies (yes I spoke with 2 different people because I was transferred) got rude that I pointed out the price difference and she told me I should've paid attention when I was placing the reservation because this isn't a new thing. (Yes I know I should have but she didn't need to be rude). After reading the reviews I am unbelievably skeptical about staying here. Ants and stray hair? I am not a germophobe by any stretch but I do not like other people's stray hair! Here's hoping this hotel is what I hope it to be! We chose this place because of the kid's suite and price! Will update after our stay!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear AnnePaige,

Please be confident that we are constantly focused on our guests and delivering an enjoyable experience. Thank you for your review on the phone call you placed to our hotel, as the details described are not typical of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you to Anaheim and having you as our guest soon!

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Address: 1831 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#37 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious King Suites and Kids Suites perfect for families. Heated outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, video game room, complimentary newspaper, coin-operated guest laundry facilities and free parking. Across the street from Disneyland Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookIt.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel
Portofino Hotel Anaheim
Portofino Suites
Portofino Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.