We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and Hairy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Save Saved
You added Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1831 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Disneyland Packages Avail
Ranked #40 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Noisy and Hairy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Four of us (wife, 3 and 5 year old) stayed one night to get an early jump on Disneyland. The hotel was extremely noisy from the halls and the room(s) above. The thumping from above didn't end until midnight and began again at 5:45 am. I am not sure if it was one bad group above or if this is common, either way some of us didn't get a lot of sleep. The room had a user friendly floor plan to have separation between the kids and adults. We felt the room wasn't properly cleaned, as we found long black hairs on the towels, bathroom ceiling and hair dryer. No one in our family has dark hair so our find was obviously disturbing. The 15 min. walk to Disney and back to the hotel wasn't to bad. They did let us park at the hotel for the day which we appreciated ans saved $15

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Scott R,

Thank you for providing us with you feedback by posting a review on TripAdvisor. We regret that your experience was not favorable and that the noise caused by neighboring guests kept members of your family from enjoying a good night's sleep. Please know that we are at your service at any time throughout your entire stay, and are more than happy to resolve any issue in order to ensure your comfort. We apologize for the condition that you found your room and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments for immediate attention and I will, personally, follow up on this to make certain this remains an isolated incident. Again, thank you for your review. We hope you will consider staying with us again to enjoy an improved and impressive experience on your next visit to Anaheim.

Best,
Mitch Healy, General Manager

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    359
    174
    105
    65
See reviews for
615
31
15
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Recently my husband and I took our 8 yo granddaughter to Disneyland for a weekend. We usually stay at the Candy Cane Inn, but they were booked as were many of the hotels within a comfortable walking distance to Disneyland. We were pleased with our accommodations at the Portofino Inn, the two queen bed room was clean, smelled fresh and was rather spacious compared to other hotels we've stayed at in this vicinity. It takes a bit over 15 minutes to walk to the parks, not too bad all-in-all. There is no free breakfast - no restaurant on site, but an IHop across the street and several other reasonably priced eating establishments within a short walk. Our room had a nice size balcony with two plastic garden chairs and a small table. We thought we'd have a view of the fireworks, but we couldn't see a thing...a bit disappointing but in no way the hotel's fault. Check-in was quick and easy...one of the best experiences we've had in recent memory. Truly, the only negative things I have to say about this hotel are that our room keys stopped working several times....and just as suddenly worked again; and, given my limited mobility (rheumatoid arthritis) it would have been nice to have a shuttle from this hotel to take to the parks. The price can be considered steep ($400 for two nights but that included taxes) but since this area of Anaheim has outrageous hotel rates and it was actually one of the cheaper hotels with room availability during the start of Spring Break. All in all I would recommend the Portofino Inn and if our favorite hotel is not available we will certainly book a room with them again.

Room Tip: This hotel has three buildings, one of which is a 5 story "Venice" tower that depending on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear BestNana_93505,

It was our pleasure to have the opportunity to accommodate you and your family. We are very excited to hear that your check in experience was one of the best in recent memory! It is extremely important to our staff to go above and beyond for our guests in any way possible to ensure their comfort and enjoyment, from their arrival all the way through to their departure. Please keep in mind for your next visit that we do, indeed, have several rooms with spectacular views of Disney’s firework show! Also, we apologize for your room keycard inconvenience. We regret that we had not yet received our brand new keycard encoder while you were staying with us. Please know that is has been installed and is working seamlessly. Thank you for your detailed review on our hotel. We would love to have you and your family as our loyal guests and hope to welcome you back to Anaheim on your next visit!

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Portofino with my wife and 2 1/2 year old son. He goes to bed early, so we wanted a place with two separate sleeping areas. We wanted to walk to Disneyland everyday, and many of the other hotel options were very expensive. The king suite at the Portofino was perfect. We put extra blankets over the sliding glass doors to make his room even darker. He slept while we stayed up late in our room.

The hotel staff is unbelievably friendly, the hotel is in a great location (10 minute walk and you're in Disneyland) and the price is right. I would stay at the Portofino again and recommend it to any family in a similar circumstance to ours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear CalgaryRadioGuy,

Thank you for providing us with your response. We appreciate the time and effort you took to give us your feedback. It's great to hear that our King Suite was perfect for you and your family. Thank you for mentioning that the separate sleeping areas provided you with the space and privacy that you were looking for to ensure that your son got his much needed rest while you and your wife stayed up late. Again, thank you for your review and recommendation. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Let's start by stating that this is a hotel in a heavily visited spot, geared toward kids, and set up for that purpose. This is not a luxury hotel, nor is it a resort. However, the rooms are geared toward families with children, with all the pros and cons you might expect. We were in Anaheim for a competition with a group, so we had to find a hotel that could be budget friendly for all.
Pros: we stayed in a Kid Suite room. This layout features a main room with a large, comfortable bed for the adults, and a room by the window, with a sliding glass/French door divider, with a bunk bed and sofa bed for the children. The children loved the bunk beds, and we didn't need the sofa for anything but sitting. There is a large flatscreen TV in both rooms, and a minifridge and microwave in the kids' half. There's a table with a chair in that room as well. The other nice feature was that there were two sinks in the room. One is in the bathroom, and the other just outside the bathroom. Both have nice large mirrors and some counter space. This was a nice layout for us and worked well for our family. The room was large enough to move around in, and the kids had separate beds, which is nice, particularly when we usually have them share. There was a single serve in room coffee maker. This is a plus for me. Wireless was free and painless to access. I noticed the router on the wall near the ice maker/vending machines, which was close to our room. There were no fees for parking our rental car.
Cons: this hotel is used by families with kids. Some of these fine folks have never been in a hotel before, apparently, because yelling in hallways is frequent and often late, after the parks have closed. The doors are not soundproof, so I recommend earplugs for your stay. There also didn't seem to be enough outlets in the room. With so many cell phones, laptops, and other devices that now accompany people, this is a minor inconvenience. There are no towel racks or easy place to put dry washcloths and hand towels, so they were on the counters. There's also no soap rack in the tub, so all toiletries are on the tub itself. These are just minor inconveniences, but point to the budget nature of the place. On the plus side, they provided extra towels in the shower before we even said anything, so we were never without sufficient linens.
The rest of the property:
The pool is a very small rectangular one with a small hot tub. Like I said - not a resort. This is not a destination pool, but I have kids who simply enjoy getting wet and playing in a pool, so it was ok. There is a larger, deeper pool at the sister resort next door (the Jolly Roger) and obtaining the passcode for that pool was simple. The one time there weren't enough towels at the pool, a simple request to a nearby maintenance man resulted in a member of housekeeping showing up with freshly washed and dried pool towels for all.
The staff was gracious and accommodating. I asked for extra shampoo, and it was provided in a very friendly fashion.
Now, for the other members of our group: there were issues with rooms having broken showers, non-working refrigerators, etc. Some people were moved, one party received a refund, and others had their rooms attended to. While the issues were inconvenient, not one person felt as though the staff didn't care. I suspect the hotel is simply a victim of extremely heavy usage and the staff is keeping up as best they can.
There is no restaurant at the hotel itself, and while I didn't take a close look, I'm pretty sure the coffee shop at the Jolly Roger was closed. It was undergoing renovation, due to the dumpsters in the parking lot. However, there's an iHop right across the street, as well as a host of other restaurants close by in the Garden Walk and along Harbor Blvd (toward Disneyland), so we didn't find it to be a big deal.
It's a nice place for the money we spent, and considering we didn't spend a whole lot of time in the room itself, we were happy with it.

Room Tip: Apparently, you should stay away from the elevators. Also, stairwell doors bang, so stay away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear sunbunny31,

We appreciate your time in detailing all that you enjoyed while staying with us, as well as the suggestions you provided on room feature preferences. Your insight is extremely important to us as we will use your comments as part of our ongoing efforts to provide the best hotel experience possible. It's great to hear that you and your family were happy with the value you received and enjoyed your stay. Please come and see us again on your next visit to Anaheim!

Kind Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews for this property. All I can say is I had a great experience and fealt I received more than my money's worth.

Room: clean and well maintained.
Service: spot on. Helpful and sourtiouse.
Location: you won't find much better without being on Disney property. Short walk to the gate.

Yes, the room was on the small side but it had a nice balcony. Suites are available for a small amount more. Two adult and two kids with two queen beds was not a problem.

I'm not sure what to make from some of the negative reviews. Make no mistake, this is an inn not a resort. If you want a wet bar, room service, buffet breakfast and a gym this is not the place. I would say the room quality was comparable to the Disneyland Hotel for less than 1/3 of the price. The walk to the main gates is comparable albeit your walking along Harbor Blvd and not downtown Disney. With two kids who want to be on a ride 10 minutes after the parks open and off the last ride 10 minutes after they close this was a perfect hotel.

Excellent value and a great experience. I will bring the family back.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend much time inthe room, pay a little more for a suite. Two TVs and doors to separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Lce99,

We are thrilled to receive your detailed review on your recent stay! Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed an excellent value and great experience with us. We are certain that all of your comments and tips will be appreciated by other travelers.. We want you as our loyal guest and look forward to delivering another memorable experience to you and your family on your next visit to Anaheim.

See you soon!
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in one of thier split rooms. There was a sleeping space and a sitting area (with fold out sofa bed) that are seperated with french doors. The room was clean and very nice. The only thing I would change would be to put some sort of room darkening curtains on the french doors. There was only a sheer curtian which defeated the purpose of having the seperate rooms. There was a little privacy when the doors were closed but not much. You can tell there was new carpeting and wallpaper and it all looked very nice. You can park here and walk to everything! No need to worry about parking at Disney. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: 5th floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Neil S,

You are 100% correct; while staying with us you certainly can walk to everything! Our Anaheim hotel is conveniently located to all of the local attractions, as well as restaurants and shops. We are very pleased to hear of your family's comfort and enjoyment. Thank you for your wonderful compliments on our accommodations, location, brand new carpeting and wallpaper. We have undergone many new improvements and appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and great suggestions. Come back to visit soon!

Best Regards,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel was stinky like old chinese food. The spa was broken (if you could call it a spa) the wifi did not work either. I will not be staying in this hotel again. YUCK! My kids were super excited to go swimming and the pool was only as big as my bathtub, and took all the color out of the swimsuits it had so much clorine. I was excited to stay there because the pictures looked really nice. The smell was the worst thing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Carrie W,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay. We apologize that your experience with us was less than impressive. Please know that our brand new upgraded wifi system was installed a few weeks back and our guests have been extremely pleased with its speedy and efficient connectivity. Also, all of our guests are more than welcome to use the very large pool located next door at our sister property, Anaheim Jolly Roger Hotel. It is our hope that you and your family will return to enjoy an improved experience in the near future.

Sincerely,
Mitch Healy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Also Known As:
Portofino Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel
Portofino Hotel Anaheim
Portofino Suites
Portofino Anaheim
Address: 1831 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious King Suites and Kids Suites perfect for families. Heated outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, video game room, complimentary newspaper, coin-operated guest laundry facilities and free parking. Across the street from Disneyland Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.