We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Don't” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel to your Saves list
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1831 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Disneyland Packages
Ranked #41 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Just Don't”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Wow. Where to begin. This situation was so NOT cool. Don't let the photos fool you, this place has rooms that are very run down.

We were hoping to get a good deal with close access to Disneyland. We did get a lower price than you might expect from a mid-grade hotel, but this is no mid-grade hotel. I don't see how this property could even get a two-star rating. Rooms are run-down, wallpaper peeling, not clean, not in good repair, old bedding, icky-dirty feeling to the tops of everything and NOISY. Our room was on the main floor next to the laundry room/arcade and we couldn't sleep all night without the sound of rocket-like gearing up every few minutes. The front desk said it is the laundry room going on "stand by" during the light. LOUD! The front desk staff is very friendly, however, there was only so much they could do.

No breakfast, not enough parking (but free), not stable internet (but free) so a bit all over the map. It is close to the Disney main gate (2 blocks), but truly realize what you are getting into.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear BeautifulWorld08,

Thank you for your feedback and bringing the details of your stay to our attention. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences that occurred during your visit. It is very disappointing to learn that we failed to exceed your expectations. Again, thank you for completing the review. We hope you will decide to reconsider giving us another opportunity to deliver an enjoyable stay with us.

Best Regards,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    439
    210
    108
    68
See reviews for
730
39
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights with our 2 small children (3 and 20 months) in the kid suite. The room was perfect for families - the kids room (separated by French doors with sheets) was very large and had its own tv and a fridge and microwave. We were able to put the kids to bed at night and still watch our own tv or do whatever.

Every day the housekeeping staff replenished the toiletries and left the room in pristine condition. The hotel is a short walk from Disneyland - about 5-10 minutes from the gates to the park.

For the price this is an extremely great value! And the front desk staff were beyond kind and helpful from the time we booked the room to checkout. Parking is free and there are 2 convenience stores next door. We will DEFINITELY be returning to this hotel for our future Disneyland trips!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear LeeFam2005,

We are very pleased our Kids Suite was perfect for you and your family! All of your wonderful compliments on our excellent customer service, housekeeping, affordable rates and great value. We are excited to hear that you will definitely be returning to our hotel for your future Disneyland trips! We can't wait to have you back!

Best,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asyut, Egypt
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

10 min walk from Disney entrance. Family room convenient for family of 4. Rooms need renovation, everything is old. Just suitable for a sleep. Internet connection very slow. Interrupts freq. Value good for 4. Get what u pay for..

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear HatOrth,

We appreciate your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed our family suite, convenient location and good value. Your suggestions are very important to us and will always be taken very seriously. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you and your family will visit again soon.

Best Regards,
Beckley Van Cleave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We looked every where for your families first vacation. We are a family of 6. We chose this hotel and everyone was very happy! When I checked us in I requested a crib be brought to the room for our youngest 5 months at the time. We went to the room and before I could put my bags down there was a knock at the door, it was an employee with the crib. We had a great time and just booked again for our family vacation this year. The kids are so excited to go back. A lot of places say that they are family friendly but when you arrive that is really not the case. Portofino says they are family friendly and they really deliver. Thank you so much for being there for families like ours.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear BusyM0mAZ,

It is our pleasure to provide family friendly accommodations and the exceptional customer service that you deserve! Thank you for all of your wonderful compliments on our Anaheim hotel. We are ecstatic to hear that you and your family have chosen to book your family vacation with us again this year! We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

the room was clean, sizeable but tired and worn out. we were there to see disneyland with the kids anyway, so werent expecting to see much of the room. the location is perfect - ony 10mins walk from the park with a decent ihop across the street. good free wifi service. nice comfortable beds and chirpy staff. decent value if youre looking for a no frills option.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear alamo36,

Our entire staff is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our cheerful customer service! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback by completing the review. We are also happy that you were nice and comfortable in our accommodations and that our convenient location was perfect for you and your family. We hope you will be back to see us again on your next visit to the U.S.

Best Regards,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from Jan 13-15 for a quick weekend trip to Disneyland. We booked a kids suite in order to have more room for the 5 of us traveling. The separate kids area with the bunk beds was nice, but the room was "tired" at best. One leg of the kids table and chairs was broken off and was inserted to just balance the table. The bedspreads were old looking and dingy (kids area and king bed area). While the room wasn't outwardly filthy, I just expected more from this hotel. It is in need of some new items and a little TLC.

The walk to Disneyland is fine 10-15 min, but we opted to take the local Anaheim transit bus twice. There is a bus stop in the front of the hotel. It is Route #3 for the bus pickup at Disneyland. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant on site, but we walked across the street to the IHOP for a quick breakfast.

Overall, I probably wouldn't stay here again. I've found nicer rooms for less money at other locations (including the Red Lion across the street). We visit Disneyland 2-3 times per year and this hotel won't be calling us back anytime soon. Book this hotel if you are insistent on the kids suite, but otherwise you could probably do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear javillane,

We appreciate you bringing the details of your stay to our attention, and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Your comments and suggestions have not gone overlooked. We take our guests feedback seriously, as it assists us in our commitment to deliver the very best stay for each of our guests. We do hope you will decide to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I spend what seemed like hours trying to decide the best hotel for my families recent trip to Disneyland and yet have it be with my budget. With three kids you either get two rooms or find a suite. I then looked and looked and finally booked the Portofino.
Our stay was great, a short walk to Disneyland and Downtown Disney. I ended up booking a King suit. Our room was clean no lingering odors and had plenty of room for the whole family.
I most definitely would book the Portofino again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear MitMor7,

We are very pleased to hear that you are happy with your recent decision to stay with us, especially after spending hours of your time researching Anaheim accommodations. Thank you for your great ratings and compliments on our property. We're glad you will definitely stay with us again!

Regards,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Address: 1831 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious King Suites and Kids Suites perfect for families. Heated outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, video game room, complimentary newspaper, coin-operated guest laundry facilities and free parking. Across the street from Disneyland Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel
Portofino Hotel Anaheim
Portofino Suites
Portofino Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.