We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids suite was nice!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel to your Saves list
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1831 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Disneyland Package
Ranked #43 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Kids suite was nice!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We have a family of 5 and were looking for somewhere close to Disneyland to stay. We took a chance and booked this hotel online. It was pretty good for the cheap rates. We had a nice size room with a bunk bed and a couch bed and a king bed for us. There were doors that closed off the kids part of the room from our part. It was nice and clean and had a big size bathroom. The pool and hot tub were really nice too. It was probably a 10 minute walk to and from the main Disney gates.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Dear rosalia206,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of the details of your recent stay. We are happy that you and your family were comfortable and enjoyed your Kids Suite. Thank you for your comments on our clean and spacious accommodations, affordable rates and very convenient location. We take pride in all the wonderful things we have to offer our guests, and it is always rewarding when our guests have so many great compliments on our hotel. Again, thank you completing the review.

Best Regards,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    519
    246
    115
    73
See reviews for
852
48
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This was a nice place, parked for free and walked to Disneyland, that was good! On the downside the bed was not comfortable and the rooms are not very soundproof, bring earplugs!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stayed at this hotel because it was close to a business convention that I needed to attend. It was dirty and uncomfortable. Further, I did not realize until I got back home that I had a few bites on my body. I thought they were just allergies but it turns out that they were bed bugs. The bed bugs traveled on or in my suitcase and infested my home. My wife was severely allergic to the bites and had to see several doctors before they could diagnose the situation. Our lives were turned upside down as we had to pack everything in our home and have exterminators determine where these bugs were hiding. This business trip cost me well over $3,000! BEWARE of this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I had read all the reviews-positive and negative first. Some people are expecfting a 5 star luxury hotel and of course they are disappointed because it is not meant to be that and the price reflects it. For a grandma and family with 3 kids, our 7 day stay there was perfect. The kids loved the bunk beds and my sofa bed was VERY comfortable(most aren't), Plenty of room with king for the Play and Pack. We went the week before Thanksgiving so quiet at hotel AND Disneyland. Enjoyed their warm pool and helpful housekeepers. Nice sized(and quiet) fridge and just had breakfast and some dinners there. If you go in a hectic time of year, expect it to be hectic and frustrating everywhere! Take a week in the fall or school if you have kids under 12 as this is a field trip of educational value-can makeup school work or get it ahead. We went then because of a convention but made a big trip of it-lovely weather too.

w

Room Tip: I asked for quiet top floor which I prefer. Kids might be heard on top of you in busy seasons as in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Dear seniortravelbug,

We are very happy to hear that your recent experience with us was perfect! Thank you for making us your choice in Anaheim accommodations. It's great to hear that the kids loved the bunk beds and you were very comfortable sleeping on the sofa bed. We appreciate your excellent review and ratings. It will be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back soon!

Best,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I was a litle worried about staying at this hotel after reading the reviews posted on this web site. I must say I was very suprised. We thought this was a pretty nice place to stay and the staff was very helpful. We arrived earlier than we thought because i had forgot that California is one hour earlier than Arizona. We got there at 4:30 and they had a room for us so we was able to check in and get a little nap before heading to the park which was helpful cause i had been driving most of the night. The room was nice and not totally gross like some of the reviews had said. We had a kids suite which was perfect for us and the 2 teenagers that was with us. My one complaint was we got the room right next to the elevator and you could hear it going up and down most of the night and the early morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Dear derrick m,

We are very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our Anaheim hotel. We certainly appreciate your compliments on our clean and comfortable accommodations and mentioning that our property is a nice place to stay with helpful customer service. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to California!

Regards,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Hotel room was wonderful. Great location - our 3 kids aged 5, 3 and 2 were able to walk to DisneyLand with no trouble at all. It literally is just around the corner and a 10 min walk.
The Kids Suite was fantastic! Loved that my husband and I could put all the kids to bed in their own room and relax and watch TV in our room, and not interrupt the kids while they were sleeping or playing. The maintenance staff did an excellent job of cleaning and tidying our room while we were there - 2 adults and 4 kids under the age of 5 make quite a mess! The entire staff was very pleasant to deal with and genuinely wanted to make our visit a great one. Overall, very good value for the level of service received. Will most definitely stay there again in the future!

Room Tip: Were on the top floor, and there was no noise from any other guests there. Hotel didn't seem ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear 4kidsin4years,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to the U.S. We are very pleased that you and your entire family enjoyed your experience with us in one of our Kids Suites. Thank you for complimenting us on our high level of customer service and great value at affordable rates. It's great to hear that you will all return to enjoy anther excellent stay with us in the future!

Regards,
Beckely Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Details are the main differentiator in many walks of life. Small details are what really makes a difference; it doesn't matter how small or complicated to solve a problem is - the fact that somebody is willing to help, with no true direct interest of any kind, is greatly appreciated in these days in which everything seems to either be money-driven, or simply doesn't happen.
 
I'll tell you a bit of my ten-year relationship with the Portofino Inn. My family and me are originally from Mexico (we purchased 6-day tickets to Disneyland, so as you might guess we're big fans of the park), and we purchased a Disneyland package from the main Mexican airline back in 2001 from a glossy brochure that showed a Ramada with a very nice façade. When we got there, although the hotel lobby was as nice as the one shown in the brochure, the location was terrible (beyond I-5, not "in the vicinity of Disneyland" really), the rooms were old and dirty (including live ants!), and the "family" restaurant was closed - probably for the past two years. So we went for dinner to a nearby Denny's, and I grabbed a brochure which featured the Inn in the first page; the picture of the Kids Suite made me wonder that the next time we would give the hotel a try - even if it was not a brand name hotel.
 
Since 2002, we've stayed at this hotel 11 times not only because the location is perfect, but the price is more than reasonable, and the hotel offers many amenities which are adequate for a family stay near Disneyland (pool, laundry, a 7-Eleven across the street, etc). The hotel is not be the fanciest, flashiest hotel in the zone - but honestly, do you need that if you're going to Disneyland? These 11 visits have convinced me that it's the best "bang for the buck".
 
The time that they really stood out was one time that we were "bumped" from our flight during a spring break - so all of a sudden, we had to find somewhere to spend the night. I called the Portofini's reservations team, told them what had happened to us and they were kind enough to give us another kids suite at the same rate I had booked almost 10 months before! Many hotels (and other businesses) boast of fostering customer loyalty, but I've never experienced that as much as that time with your hotel.
 
Another great feature they have is what hey call the "Stay and play" option, which really helps deal with uncomfortable flight schedules. They give you a late checkout (4pm) for a nominal fee, which I haven't seen it in any other hotels nearby. They have free in-room wireless wifi and parking (which can easily add $50 or more in other hotels per day).

In summary, if you're traveling in a budget, looking for a family-friendly hotel with all the basic needs included, this is your best choice!

Room Tip: The Kids Suite has a bunk bed, so you can sleep up to 8 people comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Fernando C,

We are very flattered to receive your excellent review on our Anaheim hotel! Thank you so much for taking the time out to share all of the wonderful details of your recent and past experiences with us. It is extremely rewarding for each member of our staff to receive such positive feedback on our exceptional level of customer service and clean and comfortable accommodations. Again, thank you for your outstanding compliments and ratings on our property. We certainly appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you and your family back once again!

Best Regards,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.4 mi away
The Anabella
The Anabella
#48 of 115 in Anaheim
3.5 of 5 stars 2,527 reviews
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#31 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Address: 1831 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#39 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious King Suites and Kids Suites perfect for families. Heated outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, video game room, complimentary newspaper, coin-operated guest laundry facilities and free parking. Across the street from Disneyland Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel
Portofino Hotel Anaheim
Portofino Suites
Portofino Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.