We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel, great location, rooms & rates!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel to your Saves list
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1831 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Disneyland Packages
Ranked #41 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family hotel, great location, rooms & rates!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Very large room, with separate bedroom area for the kids- bunk beds, plus pull-out couch. We also had a crib in here, and still plenty of room! Two sinks, very helpful too. Our room had a fridge & microwave also, which is appreciated.
The pool was small, but Very warm. Less than 15 walk to Disneyland, the shuttle does stop just outside the hotel, it is actually an all-day price, not a per-trip price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Dear KerryVara,

Thank you for your detailed review and key tips that will definitely help other travelers. We appreciate all of the wonderful comments on our spacious accommodations, amenities and convenient location. Please keep in mind for next time that all of our guests are welcome to use the larger heated pool located right next door at the Anaheim Jolly Roger Hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you and your family will visit again soon.

Regards,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    440
    210
    108
    68
See reviews for
731
39
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartselle, Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed 4 nights and had a great time. Room was great and Clean and the front desk would do everything to make u happy. Would go back and stay anytime. Dont believe all the negatives.

Room Tip: Go to web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Dear JEFSUSHAY,

We are so happy to hear of your great 4 night stay with us! Thank you very much for taking the time to compliment us on our exceptional customer service and accommodations. You are absolutely correct! We are always willing to do anything we can to make your experience with us an enjoyable one. Thank you for your recommendation. We are very pleased that you will be back again!

Best,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

A large group of people stayed end of May 2011, and bed bug alert in rooms 1217 & 1223!!! also the gym has a light sensor that doesn't work and the on/off will drive you crazy while you're working out.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

The bunk beds and pull out sofa were the worst beds we have ever slept in, EVER! We had to go out and buy $100 worth of bedding to at least pad the bed to make it comfortable enough at least to sleep in. It was just terrible. When I told the person at the desk she flipently said, "Sorry". She could not have cared less. This is not the hotel it professes to be. It's very old and outdated and has a moldy smell.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
Dear cindy_m_laban,

We are truly sorry and we most definitely care. Please accept our apologies. We are very disappointed to hear that you and your family were not comfortable in the bunk beds and pull out sofa. Your opinions and suggestions are extremely valuable. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback by completing the review on our property.

Best,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I will say that the one good thing about this hotel is the Front Desk staff. Always very friendly and very helpful.
I was traveling with my sister and we spent 4 nights here May 17-May 20, 2011.
The rooms leave something to be desired. We had a King Suite, which is simply 2 rooms separated by sliding glass doors. Furniture is outdated and old.
The first day we had plastic cups in our suite- then after that nothing. I had to call the front desk to have them send cups for us to drink out of. We were using the pull out sofa bed and one night they didn't leave any sheets....had to call about that.
The walls are very thin - and you can hear the children running up and down and screaming - however, all gets pretty quiet after 9:00 pm.
Close to Disney - and if you don't feel like walking there is a shuttle bus right outside the door for $4.00 per day - as many trips back and forth as you want.
Probably would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Used Expedia to book with with air - so saved $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear kimmer727,

We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your excellent feedback on our friendly and helpful customer service, as well as your comments and suggestions regarding your experience with us. We are so sorry about the inconvenience of having to call our front desk in regard to the cups and sheets for the pull out sofa. Please accept our apologies for the oversight. We hope that our warm and welcoming customer service and convenience location brings you back to stay with us again.

Best,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Average hotel with average service. Great walking location to Disney. Kids suite separated by sliding doors that have shear curtains and large gaps. If you are looking for a great suite for the kids to get some rest and privacy while the adults are awake this is not the greatest setup. Why don't they put real doors on the kids area and make it private?? Isn't that the whole point?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Dear Duke 042,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our Anaheim hotel during your recent visit to the area. We appreciate your feedback on your stay, as well as your suggestions. The sliding doors in the suite you stayed in are a practical solution when allowing for the optimal amount of living space and the curtains give parents the comfort of being just a peek away from their little ones; however, we understand how two completely separate rooms might be the more ideal situation for some families. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our great location and hope to see you again.

Best,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver B.C. Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We just got back from a 3 night stay. 5 adults and a 3 year old. Grandpa, Grandma, husband, Wife, Child and Aunt. We had a Mini Suite. It had a King size bed, Pull out sofa and a bunkbed. Grandparents slept in King bed. 3 Adults took turns in the bunkbed as they all liked it so much. Front desk were very pleasant and very helpful with our questions. Maids and the workers around the hotel were very polite and pleasant too. We had a problem with our toilet, we called Guest Services and they had someone up to our room within 5 minutes and fixed. Pool was great with a good temperature water so you could even swim later at night till 11:00pm and there was a Jacuzzi tub. You can also use the pool next door at the next hotel which as a little bigger pool. Room had a mini fridge and microwave. Location was great walking distance to Disneyland and Free Parking. We would stay again as we all enjoyed our stay and you couldnt beat the price of $93.50 a night plus taxes for 6 people...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eCommerceCoordinator, General Manager at Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Dear CaNaDiAn0526,

We are very pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your 3 night stay with us. It was our pleasure to get your restroom fixed within 5 minutes of your call to our front desk. Thank you for taking the time to share this with other travelers, as well as other details in regard to your experience with us. We appreciate your recommendation of our property and are happy that you and your family enjoyed a quality stay at unbeatable rates!

Best,
Beckley Van Cleave, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel

Address: 1831 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring spacious King Suites and Kids Suites perfect for families. Heated outdoor pool and spa, fitness center, video game room, complimentary newspaper, coin-operated guest laundry facilities and free parking. Across the street from Disneyland Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel
Portofino Hotel Anaheim
Portofino Suites
Portofino Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.