We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 Broadway St, American Canyon, CA 94503 (Formerly Gaia Napa Valley Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Receive $50 Daily Credit!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wasco, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spa? Not!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

More like rooms surrounding a mud hole. The wildlife is nice, but the atmosphere is not. This hotel is so isolated - and mis-advertised. The beds were comfortable, the restaurant was nice, the rooms were quiet. The pool was small but warm enough to swim...and that is where it ended. I was so disappointed because we planned to hang out more and read our books, but instead we left the hotel early and came "home" late.

We had advance reservations for 5 nights, unfortunately. When we realized we were three hours away from the airport in traffic, with a morning flight back to Boston after Hurricane Sandy, I went to the front desk (and also called the Hilton Honors number) to stay the last night at the airport Doubletree. No one would move an inch: I had prepaid and I knew it. Read my small print.

I have always loved Doubletrees and Hilton, but apparently management has changed and customer satisfaction is not important.

Room Tip: Stay in Napa Valley, not Napa or American Canyon. American Canyon is just a roadside strip mall, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    218
    120
    38
    17
See reviews for
107
225
27
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here not for the Napa Valley wine tasting (although you could very well do that) I was on my way to Infineon race track for some car racing. First of all if you're going to the track from this hotel on a weekday morning, it backs up on hwy 37 going West from about 7am. Plan accordingly. Now on to the hotel. I checked in at 10:30pm, room reserved no problem and had 2 warm cookies after receiving my room keys. Nice touch, each room is named in case you're not a number person. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, and the bath towels weren't like gym towels. The back patio opened up into a pond with a few ducks and birds and it's actually nice. You almost couldn't here road noise as this room faced the inside of the complex as opposed to the outside. Light sleeper, I'd opt for a room like this. Overall a very nice stay, I'd come back.

Room Tip: see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The room was very nice, the only king suite, I was told. The bed was very comfortable, the layout a bit strange, but functional. The 2 flat screens were a plus. The shower made a loud squeal and my room service on the last morning had to be cancelled because after an hour and twenty minutes I gave up. and because they forgot about us. We checked out and had a meal at a local restaurant. Unfortunately I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your anniversary weekend. We are glad that you enjoyed our king suite. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with our room service delivery. This is not typical of our hotel and we regret that this affected the rest of your trip. We hope you will give us another chance in the future to provide the best service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Formerly the Gaia, hotel is perfect if you want to be able to do Sonoma and Napa -- most reasonably priced-- and restaurant staff very friendly. Only has breakfast but they made me to go boxes very early to take on way to our Balloon Tour-- not the Four Seasons but it is a nice stay in a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

From top down, this hotel was just a wonderfully run place. Clean rooms, attentive staff, lovely pool, great plethora of warm cookies all the time, and the on-site restaurant was super. There was one concierge, Leticia, who went above and beyond to help with our questions. She was very polite, friendly, and treated us like house guests. The pool was really neat with grape vines all along the fence...and we helped ourselves as they were perfectly ripe. We had a little patio on the lagoon level and it was fun to do wine and cheese there before heading out for the night. Very relaxing place.

Kudos to the staff at Doubletree for running a great hotel.

Room Tip: Request a lagoon level/view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern US
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights earlier this month and cannot recommend this hotel for several reasons. First, while the furniture in the rooms is typical of Doubletree, the layout, walls, condition, etc. is more typical of an old inexpensive motel that hasn't been updated in awhile. Second, the road noise of the rooms near the road is terrible -- it sounds like cars were driving right next to our room. Third, if you are planning on using this for a base for visiting Napa, be warned that traffic to Napa and points north is very congested and stop and go during morning and evening commute hours (7:30-9:00am, 3-7pm).
Finally, the service is not what you expect from a Doubletree. I am Hilton HHonors Diamond member and we were driving from the airport to Napa and stopped by around 11am to see if we could check in and drop off our bags (I had requested an early checkin if available and understand that often it isn't available). The desk clerk looked up our reservation and said no rooms were ready so stop back after 3pm. We returned after dinner in Napa around 6:30 and when they checked us in I noticed that they changed the previously pre-assigned room to a new room number and had no idea that we had tried to checkin earlier in the day. We got to our room and it faced the road/highway and was directly across from the elevator (my profile has that I prefer a quiet room away from the elevator). We had been up for over 20 hours, so we just quickly unpacked and went to bed. During the night, the traffic noise was terrible (as mentioned above). In the morning, I asked at the desk about moving to another room and also why I had been reassigned from the room marked on the room key jacket which was toward the back of the hotel). I was told they were full and they would check with the day staff and call me in my room. When they called, they instructed us to pack up all of our belongings, check our bags and drop off our keys. This is quite an inconvenience and at many hotels, they offer to move the hanging clothes and transfer the bags for you. They did move us to a quite room toward the back when we came back at the end of the day, but offered nothing for the inconvenience or explanation as to why they moved our reservation to a room along the road for someone in their top tier frequent stay program.

Definitely not customer service oriented, except for the night manager who was polite and followed through with the day staff since there was nothing he could do.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We’re very sorry your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards. We’ve addressed the problems you mentioned with your room assignment not matching your profile as well as the level of service you received in resolving this issue. We appreciate your patience as we worked through this with you and hope you will give us another chance in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel was clean and updated. Not sure why people said it was not updated. The staff was very friendly. The location is great along highway 29 takes you right along the napa winery route. 10 mins from downtown Napa as well. Overall when I go back to Napa I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near American Canyon
11.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Napa Valley - American Canyon
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Napa American Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
9.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon

Address: 3600 Broadway St, American Canyon, CA 94503 (Formerly Gaia Napa Valley Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > American Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in American Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel: Begin your Napa Valley adventure at the DoubleTree. The DoubleTree Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon on Highway 29 at the gateway to Napa Valley is the perfect Northern California hotel for exploring Napa wineries, holding corporate retreats, hosting fabulous Napa Valley weddings or making lifetime family vacation memories. Our environmentally conscious, LEED-certified hotel in American Canyon, CA, is only 45 minutes north of Oakland International Airport (OAK) or 60 minutes north of San Francisco International Airport (SFO). Spa Gaia: Spa Gaia is a world-class day spa which is part of California’s first fully environmentally sustainable "green" hotel, DoubleTree Hotel & Spa Napa Valley – American Canyon. Decorated with a tropical Balinese atmosphere, Spa Gaia offers traditional and contemporary healing and relaxing spa therapies which will provide our guests the beauty of rejuvenation and a thoroughly enjoyable spa experience. Spa Gaia is a unique fusion of "East meets West." Our spa menu honors both the ancient wisdom and rituals that have been handed down for generations in the East, and blends the latest skin care and healthy lifestyle research emerging from the West. Our philosophy is to pamper you with world-class spa treatments that also include indigenous to our fertile Napa Valley. DoubleTree comfort and convenience: Our full service Napa area hotel guest rooms and suites feature modern conveniences, stylish decor, eco-friendly bath products and all the Doubletree comforts you love. Enjoy in-room entertainment, generous work surfaces and dual-line phones, our luxurious Sweet Dreams® bedding and complimentary high-speed internet access. Our guests also have full use of many hotel amenities and services, including: •Sparkling outdoor pool and whirlpool surrounded by a tranquil lagoon •Fitness Center by Precor® •In room dining (6:00 am - 11:00 pm). Resort style hotel accommodations in Napa Valley. While there is no shortage of exquisite nearby tasting rooms and dining establishments in Napa Valley, rest assured that when you choose to dine in at the Doubletree you'll thoroughly enjoy the cuisine at our Gaia hotel restaurant. In keeping with a sustainable focus, we serve a variety of fresh, locally-grown and organic dishes sure to please every palate. Don't forget to start the day right with our extensive DoubleTree Breakfast Buffet. Pore over a library full of interesting reads and make yourself at home in our inviting lobby. For your convenience, wireless HSIA is available in all hotel public areas. Have a massage or facial. Set a tee time – we're minutes away from several challenging public and private Napa Valley golf courses. Our convenient American Canyon location and plentiful recreational amenities are perfectly suited for business or leisure travel to Napa Valley. Plan your next event at our Napa Valley hotel. Considering a Napa Valley retreat, conference, training seminar or reward package? The Doubletree Napa Valley - American Canyon Hotel & Spa has over 4,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet facilities including two magnificent ballrooms, state-of-the-art audio visual equipment and a well-equipped Business Center. Our creative catering services and a professional staff will anticipate your needs and flawlessly execute your next successful Napa Valley business meeting, reception, destination wedding or gala social event. Enjoy Northern California from our Doubletree Hotel and Spa: Take a Napa bike tour, hot air balloon adventure or helicopter ride. Board the Napa Valley Wine Train or visit any of hundreds of wineries offering daily tours and tastings. Our American Canyon hotel is close to many Napa Valley attractions, as well as family fun favorites like Six Flags Discovery Kingdom, Jelly Belly Factory and the Infineon Raceway. We're also well situated for day trips to Northern California destinations like the Petrified Forest, Golden Gate Bridge or Old Sacramento. Whether business, vacation, or weekend getaway brings you to Napa Valley, our caring hotel staff looks forward to welcoming you with our signature, warm DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon
Hotel Gaia Napa Valley
Gaia Napa Valley American Canyon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Spa Napa Valley - American Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.