We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded all expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hwy. 49, Post Office Box 195, Amador City, CA 95601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Amador City B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“exceeded all expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

When I was trying to come up with a nice place to go on a getaway for our 6th wedding anniversary with our 9 month old daughter I was having a hard time coming up with anything. I am not a B&B type girl. I don't like to hang out at a hotel that replicates my grandma's house. That is just not my idea of a nice getaway. And I'm pretty sure no one wants to hang out with a baby on their romantic getaway either, so I was looking for a comfortable place that still had an air of romance about it... know what I mean? So I took a chance based on what little information was available out there on the Imperial Hotel and went for it. And I'm so glad I did.

The hotel is very comfortable with lots of nice little touches (hot coffee outside your door in the morning, towel warmer) and nice bones and history. The restaurant is so good (lots of organic and local things on the menu) and ridiculously inexpensive. The service was warm and thoughtful.

If you've never been to the gold country this is just an amazing place to stay. Just the right level of fussiness and all the small town charm you could ask for... without the doilies.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
37
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We have been going to the Amador County wine region for nine years. We tried a number of lodgings the first couple of years but settled on this hotel because it offers us everything we need. No other hotel in the area offers a full bar (a cold beer is a nice break from wine tasting) and a restaurant (with some of the regions best food).
On this trip we became aware we are not the only ones who make an annual trek to enjoy the hospitality of Mary Ann & Jim McCamant, the innkeepers. While having an after dinner drink on the balcony overlooking Amador Creek and Old Highway 49 we discovered that two other guests had been back a number of times.
We always try to get room #2 which has access to the balcony from the room. That way I can grab a cup of coffee which is served in the hallway at 7am and read the Sacramento Bee that comes to the hotel each morning. My quiet time to enjoy the morning.
We had rain this year (as the pictures will attest) but that just made the experience that much more enjoyable. Crowds were light in the tasting rooms and the whole scene was scrubbed clean with birds celebrating spring. Another wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mendocino
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We recently stayed at the Imperial Hotel. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite. We loved the fact that this room was up the hill from the hotel and it was private. There is a lovely porch on the front of the room that allows you to look over Amador City. There were wild turkeys in the yard and that is always a treat. The feel of the Hotel and their staff is very nice and welcoming. We ate in the dinning room of the hotel and we were very happy with the service and the food. We even had desert.

We did have a few things that we thought could have made our stay better. First there was no coffee in our room. I think that since the room is so far away from the main hotel, it should have coffee in the room. There is plenty of room to put a coffee maker and coffee for the guests who stay there. The bed was broken down and lopsided. We woke up stiff the next morning and then to not have coffee was not the best. Putting a feather top on top of a broken down mattress is not okay. The sink basin is not attached to the pedestal and could be dangerous. It frightened me when brushing my teeth. The last thing was the cleanliness of the room. We paid over $200/night for our room and we thought the room was not as clean as it should have been. The drinking glasses provided were filthy and we did not use them. There was toothpaste splattered all over the wall above the sink. It does not take much to take a wet rag and clean things such as that. The curtains are falling off the rods and the towels were stiff and scratchy.

We would recommend this hotel to a friend but bring your own coffee & towels & mattress!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuttersEnd, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
I appreciate the feedback from this guest -- both the compliments and the constructive criticisms. We are always receptive to concerns expressed by our guests and encourage them to let us know if anything is amiss or if we could be doing something to make their stay more enjoyable. A few comments on the issues raised regarding the room:

We are in the process of replacing some of the older mattresses in our rooms, and will definitely make this a higher priority in light of the comments from this guest.

Rather than placing coffeemakers in each of our rooms, our practice is to place a thermos of freshly brewed coffee outside our guests' rooms early in the morning so that they can enjoy that first cup before coming to the dining room for breakfast. This may not have happened in the case of this guest because they had indicated they would not be staying for breakfast, so our morning cook assumed (incorrectly) they had already left. We will take this as a learning experience to make sure it does not happen again.

Finally, I am chagrined by the problems this guest identified regarding the cleanliness of the room and will be checking the work of our housekeeping staff (which is usually very thorough) more carefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

My husband and I and our good friends just returned from a two night stay at The Imperial Hotel. If you enjoy historic hotels and towns, this is the place to be. Our room had everything we needed. Wonderful towels, linens and comfy bed. We also enjoyed sitting out on the porch watching the world go by in this sleepy little town. As many have stated before me, the restaurant is excellent, serving delicious food and it has an excellent and reasonable wine list. It also has a lively bar. The owners our very attentive and helpful. We are returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Stayed two nights while we toured gold mining towns on front range. Nice central location with plenty to do in surrounding area. Pleasantly surprised by nice wineries just minutes away. Ate in restaurant both nights. Wonderful food and great wine list (inexpensive as well.) Mary Ann was friendly and gave wonderful touring advice. Staff all excellent. We stayed in Room 7 which was a short walk from main hotel. Great porch. Amador City also interesting.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

This hotel is beautiful! The lobby is so nice, our room was great, the restaurant was AMAZING (literally the best food my husband and I have ever eaten), and it was close to shops. My one and only complaint is the the car park is so far away (it was a bit confusing to get back). Everything else was fabulous!

  • Liked — The restaurant!
  • Disliked — Car park was too far away.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

Just returned froma 5 night stay at the Imperial and would recommend it to anyone. We plan to go back with friends in the very near future. We enjoyed the entire staff, especially the owner who put up with lost keys and any number of stange occurances with great humor and calm assurance. We were in the cottage (#9) which was so quiet and restful. The food was wonderful both the breakfasts and the dinners. We really felt like we were visiting old friends and by the time we left we were wishing we could have them all come to visit us soon. I'm sure we missed some of the amenitiies that were available to us. But that was part of the charm. They were willing to let us be or to help us enjoy our stay in any way that we could. Mary Ann (Owner) made reservations at a near -by restaurant for one of the nights we were there and it was also a great find. Yes, I would absolutley reccommend this location to anyone! (and will do so!)

  • Liked — The staff!
  • Disliked — Can't hink of athing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Hwy. 49, Post Office Box 195, Amador City, CA 95601
Location: United States > California > Amador City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Amador City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic California Gold Country hotel in the heart of Amador County wine country. This small-town bed and breakfast inn offers six handsome guest rooms and three luxurious suites, each with private bath and modern amenities. On-site gourmet restaurant and full bar featuring award-winning local wines. Close to golf courses, antique stores, fishing, skiing and more than 45 wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.