We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but too noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14202 Old Hwy. 49, Post Office Box 212, Amador City, CA 95601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Amador City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quaint but too noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We just returned from staying here for a week. We enjoyed the uniqueness of the setting and the private parking lot (which got so full at night for the restaurant that we couldn't find parking). They advertise as a B&B since they include breakfast, but it's more of a hotel instead. Since the bottom is a restaurant and bar and there was no door at the top of the stairs going to the guest rooms, it was quite noisy at night until 10pm or later. Being we traveled from the central time zone, we were ready to go to bed earlier but couldn't because of the noise below. We stayed in Rm 5 and our son and his wife stayed in Rm 6. Our room was very cool, but their AC didn't work very well so they were warm on many nights. Also in Rm. 5 the connecting Rm. 4 had a door between the two rooms which was boarded over, but you could still hear everything in your neighbor's room. Again, it's an old hotel so I'm sure the insulation is not the greatest so if you're looking for a quiet, undisturbed place to stay I would recommend their rooms away from the main hotel. They also didn't have a "common place" where you could play board games or watch videos like most B&B's. The breakfast was quite good except for serving us chicken sausage for 3 days. That got a bit old. And if you're looking to go shopping in the few stores they have or even at nearby downtown Sutter Creek or Jackson, beware that the majority of them are closed on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and some on Thursdays. We were quite surprised and disappointed about that since we had taken a whole day to do just that. Since they are tourist towns, they get most business on weekends.

Room Tip: Room 5 is above the outside break room for the employees so you will hear their conversations and la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Imperial hotel is small but charming with loads of history, definitely worth a detour to stay the night or two. We were welcomed by Peter, checking us in and telling us all about the fantastic history of the hotel and Amador City.

We stayed in a room with brick walls, high ceiling and direct access to the front balcony. There is a bar on the ground floor that carries details from the 19th century such as the bar disc. The hotel has even a great restaurant, serving excellent food. Don’t forget to make a reservation. It’s a popular restaurant that people from other cities like to visit. The dining can be taken either inside in the old restored environment, or outside on one of the hotels two porches.
For breakfast you can chose between Granola or a hot dish that varies from day to day, a nice change from all regular breakfasts.

Amador City is a small town with apx 150 inhabitants with all the buildings still in place from the old days along the main street. There are a few shops, a café and a museum. Behind the hotel is a small cemetery, also from the old days. The graves have interesting articles from old newspaper clips regarding the individuals resting there that give an interesting view of the life back then.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

One should expect some old stuff when sleeping with history: creaky floor boards, red brick walls, doors with gaps. Obvious renovations include showers, fixtures, lighting, ceiling fans and AC.
The bed was comfy and the windows opened for night air on a warm summer night.
Not really on highway 49, just the back road (old 49) from the much busier Sutter Creek.
Great dinner and breakfast. Fines wines at many wineries in the neighborhood. Bring one back to enjoy on the back patio or front balcony.

Room Tip: The two front rooms have French doors onto the balcony, overlooking the Main Street. No problem with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Imperial Hotel with our 18-month-old son while visiting family in the area. It wasn't a place I would have ever sought out on my own, coming from Ohio, but I'm glad we stumbled across it. The property -- and town, really -- was absolutely beautiful. I loved the super tall ceilings and big/bright windows, and the bed was really comfortable. The convenient and free parking lot was an added bonus.

We were a little unsure about bringing a little one to a B&B in an area known for its wine tastings, but we never felt out of place. Surprisingly, there was little noise from the bar below at night, which is a good thing with a sleeping baby. The general manager was incredibly friendly and helpful, doing everything possible to make us feel at home. Breakfast was good but the portions weren't huge, so we walked up to Andrae's Bakery afterward and tried the smoked salmon sliders and some other pastries (delicious). We did try dinner at the hotel one night, too, and it was excellent and reasonably priced. All in all an excellent trip.

If you go, definitely explore the little town - it's just one main street. I mentioned the bakery, but the ice cream shop is also good. You'll encounter the very friendly locals -- watch for one of the shop owners, Dale, who is a character.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 on the back side of the hotel, facing the parking lot. We chose it because it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Spent four days in April at the Imperial. Had an excellant time. The hotel has the feeling of a small English hotel with excellent food, evening entertainment and an intimate bar area where the hotel residents and the locals mingle. Great wine country plus gold country history. A great get away and looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We recently visited Amador City, and had dinner at the Imperial Hotel. The dining area itself is quite nice, but the food was just so-so. I have a new york steak which was actually quite good .. however, my wife had the shrimp which was quite tasteless other than the chili pepper used to attempt to spice it up.

I would recommend this restaurant, however, it is not much over an okay meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuttersEnd, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We always appreciate feedback from our customers, so I want to thank this reviewer for his comments. Though I am glad that the New York steak was enjoyable, I do regret that the shrimp was not. I have passed these comments on to the chef for his consideration.

We do instruct our serving staff to offer a substitute menu item if a guest is not pleased with their choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

As my husband just said, 'I couldn't have wanted anything more from a hotel'! This might seem odd for a hotel which isn't all 'mod cons', but we absolutely loved it here and can't wait to return. We were welcomed by Pete, who was absolutely lovely and efficient (winning combination!). I was longing for a cup of tea on arrival, and he had it brought swiftly up to the room. The room itself was lovely, with a balcony looking on to the main street. It had a chaise longue as well as other nice furniture, and the bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean. We ate supper in the restaurant, where the food was excellent, the service friendly (thank you Chelsey!) and Pete's hospitality triumphed again when he helped us with wine choices, giving us free tastings of a few to help us make up our mind. In the morning, we really appreciated being able to help ourselves to coffee on the landing and relax in our room before breakfast. The Imperial is a beautiful, characterful and history filled hotel with excellent service - we couldn't recommend it more!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 14202 Old Hwy. 49, Post Office Box 212, Amador City, CA 95601
Location: United States > California > Amador City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Amador City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic California Gold Country hotel in the heart of Amador County wine country. This small-town bed and breakfast inn offers six handsome guest rooms and three luxurious suites, each with private bath and modern amenities. On-site gourmet restaurant and full bar featuring award-winning local wines. Close to golf courses, antique stores, fishing, skiing and more than 45 wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.