We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time and Staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14202 Old Hwy. 49, Post Office Box 212, Amador City, CA 95601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Amador City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great Time and Staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Spent four days in April at the Imperial. Had an excellant time. The hotel has the feeling of a small English hotel with excellent food, evening entertainment and an intimate bar area where the hotel residents and the locals mingle. Great wine country plus gold country history. A great get away and looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    19
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
226 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We recently visited Amador City, and had dinner at the Imperial Hotel. The dining area itself is quite nice, but the food was just so-so. I have a new york steak which was actually quite good .. however, my wife had the shrimp which was quite tasteless other than the chili pepper used to attempt to spice it up.

I would recommend this restaurant, however, it is not much over an okay meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuttersEnd, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We always appreciate feedback from our customers, so I want to thank this reviewer for his comments. Though I am glad that the New York steak was enjoyable, I do regret that the shrimp was not. I have passed these comments on to the chef for his consideration.

We do instruct our serving staff to offer a substitute menu item if a guest is not pleased with their choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

As my husband just said, 'I couldn't have wanted anything more from a hotel'! This might seem odd for a hotel which isn't all 'mod cons', but we absolutely loved it here and can't wait to return. We were welcomed by Pete, who was absolutely lovely and efficient (winning combination!). I was longing for a cup of tea on arrival, and he had it brought swiftly up to the room. The room itself was lovely, with a balcony looking on to the main street. It had a chaise longue as well as other nice furniture, and the bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean. We ate supper in the restaurant, where the food was excellent, the service friendly (thank you Chelsey!) and Pete's hospitality triumphed again when he helped us with wine choices, giving us free tastings of a few to help us make up our mind. In the morning, we really appreciated being able to help ourselves to coffee on the landing and relax in our room before breakfast. The Imperial is a beautiful, characterful and history filled hotel with excellent service - we couldn't recommend it more!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our first stay in Amador City was at the Imperial Hotel. Historic charm is everywhere and accentuated with appropriate modern conveniences. Our upstairs guest room bed was very comfortable and the pillows were too. I like a medium to full feather pillow at home and judge a hotel by how good the bed and pillows are. The linens are higher quality and the over head fan was perfect. The furniture in the room was eclectic and a bit funky, but fun. The updated bath complete with a towel warmer was a nice touch. Free wifi is available. In the morning good fresh coffee, cream and sugars are placed on a sideboard in the hall upstairs which was really appreciated. Our dinner of starters and desserts was lovely, beautifully presented and the double chocolate cake and homemade vanilla ice cream was Amazing! Breakfast was equally delicious and we enjoyed the view of the patio. The staff all seemed ready to assist in any way that they could. What made the Imperial an easy choice for us was the ability to stay just one night as opposed to two required at other BB type locations. The window blinds need dusting in the room.

Room Tip: We were in room 5, next time I'd ask for room 6 for a little more room and on the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I had not been to Amador City for over 25 years, so I was quite surprised when we rolled into town. I do not remember much of anything being open then, but now it was a little village all shined up for the weekend guests. We had booked a room in advance at the Imperial Hotel, a substantial brick building on the road into town. We requested a room with a balcony. So here I sit, on our balcony, in the quiet of the afternoon and the shadows of sunset coming on. There are only two rooms with a balcony [room 1 and 2], but well worth the few extra dollars.
We arrived around noon, before check in but we were given our room immediately. Very clean and pleasant room and since all the room doors were open on the second floor I took the liberty of checking them out. I also took photos. Each room is distinct and appeared quite comfortable. We inquired at the front desk about lunch places and we received a lot of information about local attractions. We made reservations for dinner in the hotel restaurant. The room price included full breakfast. We were asked to place our order the night before. Our breakfast included pancakes, sausage, juice and fresh fruit. In the morning before went went down to the dining room for breakfast, fresh brewed coffee was placed outside our door.
Our room had a queen bed and a small chaise. The mattress was a little too soft but that is a personal choice. No TV, but they do have Internet. I must say, the accommodations are quite comfortable. I caution visitor that many shops are closed Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays. You get a better room rate if you avoid Friday and Saturday night.
All the staff was wonderful. In the evening when we went down to dinner we met Peter, the manager/bartender/waiter/bus boy/anything else you needed done. Everyone was most accommodating.
A note to dog owners, there is one room that allows dogs, [number 9] and the suites annex across the road. This building sits slightly uphill and has a big garden with a lawn area.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have access to the second floor balcony. Room 9 is dog friendly. The two rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I happended upon the Imperial Hotel. A phone call to check availability was handled by Peter who was very polite and accomodating. Our stay was fabulous. We enjoyed a very good a dinner and wine on the balcony ovelooking the town's intersection. What a great time. Enjoyed coffe at the historic bar in the morning before a breakfast that was just okay. The staff was very eager to please and we look forward to staying here again on our visit to Gold Country and the Shenendoah Valley.

Room Tip: We had a room with direct access to the front balcony and enjoyed a quiet evening watching cars go b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I very much enjoyed my recent stay at the Imperial Hotel in Amador City. This historical inn, around 130 years old is quaint and wonderful. The staff is incredibly accommodating. Enjoyed the historical bar, lovely dining area, patio and balcony. I also enjoyed taking in the beautiful mountain scenery of Amador City. The shops in this "smallest town in California" feature fun and original merchandise.

The surrounding wine area is developing at a rapid pace. There are some wonderful wineries to explore and delicious wines to sample.

This is a lovely getaway, around 2 hours from the Bay Area. Being less developed than other regions, I found it to be both relaxing and a good value. The hotels promotion of paying for two nights and receiving the third for only $30 was an attractive offer.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 3 and enjoyed it. The lavatory is located in the bedroom....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amador City
10.4 mi away
The Hotel Leger
The Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Amador Inn
17.1 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 14202 Old Hwy. 49, Post Office Box 212, Amador City, CA 95601
Location: United States > California > Amador City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Amador City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored historic California Gold Country hotel in the heart of Amador County wine country. This small-town bed and breakfast inn offers six handsome guest rooms and three luxurious suites, each with private bath and modern amenities. On-site gourmet restaurant and full bar featuring award-winning local wines. Close to golf courses, antique stores, fishing, skiing and more than 45 wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.