We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but too far from activities.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Lodge Alpine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ayres Lodge Alpine to your Saves list
Ayres Lodge Alpine
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1251 Tavern Road, Alpine, CA 91901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% Off 2 Nights!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sheridan, Wyoming
1 review
“Nice but too far from activities.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The staff was friendly and the service was good. The motel was somewhat dated but very clean. The biggest problem was it was way too far from the activities in San Diego. If you stay here you will need a vehicle or rental car. Expect to drive approximately 30 plus miles to activities. On the other hand it had several little convenient stores and food places about a parking lot away which was very useful when we got back late and had to eat in our room.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Giffordm -

It was a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel. Thank you so much for choosing us for your stay and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. As you state, we are about 30 miles from Downtown San Diego, but many guests find this to be a benefit of our hotel as it gives them a chance to escape the Downtown crowds. I do apologize if our location did not suit your needs as expected. We hope that that our cleanliness and service made up for our distance from San Diego and that you will stay with us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    149
    35
    17
    15
See reviews for
152
151
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruston, LA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Approximately 25 to 30 minutes east of San Diego and literally right off the highway. Very easy to get to and the staff is great. The room was clean and the grounds of the hotel were well manicured. We played golf at Steele Canyon, Torrey Pines, and Maderas and the longest drive we had was about 40 minutes on scenic highways. I would also recommend a Mexican restaurant that is in the shopping center right next to the hotel called Manana's. The fajita chicken burrito was awesome!

Room Tip: The courtyard is a cool area to sit and enjoy the weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Overall great room for a great price. Very quiet,and the atmosphere is great. Staff was super nice and professional. Definitely recommend it to others. Great restaurants available nearby as well. Employee suggested great place to eat that is associated with hotel called Janet's Montana cafe. She was so nice in answering all our questions and giving us directions.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have stayed at other Ayres locations so this location was a bit of a surprise. Its an older location and did not have the amenities of the newer locations. It is well maintained and clean but it is showing signs of aging.

We were there for a 3 day stay so we had a few bags that we had to carry quite a distance from the parking lot to the 2nd floor rear of the building as there is no elevator.

Our north facing room faced a freeway which is never pleasant. It didnt bother me but my wife is a light sleeper and she was bugged by it.

Good parking is hard to find. Spaces are at a premium. Some corporate account had a number of vehicles left in the parking lot the entire time we were there and the cars never moved.

We had a toilet backup once which was taken care of right away but still, one of those things you rather not deal with on a trip.

Room Tip: The south facing rooms face the parking lot but will probably have less noise as they do not face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We just stayed one night, but we were very impressed. The hotel is hidden away in the trees and you wouldn't even know it was there if you didn't look twice. The staff was friendly...rooms were very clean and the beds were comfy. Very pretty rooms, nice decor. Would definitely stay again next time in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Hskains -

It was an absolute pleasure welcoming you as our guest. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. We do our best to impress with cleanliness and service, so it is wonderful to know that our efforts are noticed and appreciated. We hope to welcome you a second time very soon and hopefully for an extended stay. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The rooms are beautiful, with comfy beds and pillows. The back of the hotel has a bbq and nice lounge chairs and tables. It also has a nice pool. The lobby and outer appearance had a very lodge feel although it is still in a city-environment. My only complaint was WAY too many kids.

Room Tip: Room farthest from the pool facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Lodge Alpine, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Osquadprez -

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for your kind words. How wonderful to know that you were able to take full advantage of our many outdoor amenities, including our lush courtyard and pool. I am also pleased to hear that the location of the hotel proved comfortable and convenient for you. We are grateful for your recommendation and hope you will visit us again very soon.

Many thanks,

Tyler Smittle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

It is definitively a place we will go again !!! The beautiful backyard with flowers and fountain! Rooms so nice and comfy! Pool and hot tub really nice!!!! Not nooisy, clean. Breakfast really good with tanked outside!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
7.2 mi away
Sycuan Golf & Tennis Resort
11.4 mi away
San Diego Country Estates
17.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Days Inn El Cajon
Days Inn El Cajon
#2 of 14 in El Cajon
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
9.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
#5 of 14 in El Cajon
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
10.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Continental Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Lodge Alpine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Lodge Alpine

Address: 1251 Tavern Road, Alpine, CA 91901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alpine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ayres Lodge Alpine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Alpine, California, just east of San Diego, lies a unique, rustic getaway destination that combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name. All of the luxurious guest rooms at Ayres Lodge Alpine are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature double pillow top beds, flat screen TV’s, coffeemakers,well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, curved shower rods,and hookless shower curtains. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary extended continental breakfast. The outdoor lover’s paradise awaits at Ayres Lodge Alpine. Only minutes from the Cleveland National Forest the Ayres Lodge Alpine is where you can enjoy close by outdoor adventures such as boating, fishing, hiking, or horseback riding. For quaint hometown culture, explore nearby Julian, CA for wine tasting, antique shopping, and apple picking. If the outdoors do not appeal to you, spend your time indoors at the famous Viejas Casino and Outlet Mall. Not too far from San Diego, the Ayres Lodge Alpine offers an alternative lodging solution for those visiting the busy tourist attractions of the city. San Diego attractions include Seaworld, the San Diego Zoo, Legoland, the Gaslamp entertainment district, Mission Bay, Historic Old Town San Diego, and the San Diego Wild Animal Park. For a location that is convenient to outdoor and indoor entertainment, be sure to stay at the Ayres Lodge in the beautiful mountain community of Alpine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ayres Lodge Alpine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Lodge Alpine Hotel Alpine
Ayres Hotel Alpine
Ayres Inn Alpine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Lodge Alpine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.