We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donato's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Donato's
2654 Alpine Blvd, Alpine, CA 91901
(619) 445-4006
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 47 Restaurants in Alpine
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Tehachapi, California
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
38,243 helpful votes 38,243 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I has been told to give Donato's a try when we mentioned that we wanted some Italian food. When we arrived we were greated very warmly and seated immediately. Our waiter was at our table taking our drink order and then we placed our entree order. It took a while for our food to arrive but when it did it was worth the wait. Our lasagna was made to order and it showed. We were very impressed by the taste and presentation of your dinners. The plates were beautiful and everything tasted great. For a great Italian meal give Donato's a try.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Another good Italian restaurant in Alpine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Another good Italian restaurant in Alpine. Excellent Bruschetta!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Went here with my best friend-I had chicken marsala, he had chicken parmigiana. We also had a medley type appetizer. Plenty of food~enough that we both had to take food back to the hotel.

Very nice server full of information....she was great.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Donato's is good but they used to be excellent... not sure what happened but we dont go there much anymore.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A must visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

I always enjoy at least one meal here when visiting Julian. Quiet atmosphere and everything I have tried has been great. I like to sit on the front porch and watch the world go by as I eat.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Donato's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donato's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.