We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viejas Casino Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Viejas Casino Resort to your Saves list
Viejas Casino Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5000 Willows Rd, Alpine, CA 91901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stopped by on Saturday with a friend. Had the buffet, great meal. Played the slots for a few, stopped to see the hotel pool which looks awesome and almost worth staying just for it. Went over to the Outlet center, got some great deals, watched the wonderful fountain and would have loved to stay and see the free concert, but just too tired. Great place to spend some time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
28
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, Ca.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We celebrated a birthday by staying at the the new Viejas Casino Hotel. It was beautiful. Rated four diamond. Very tastefully decorated combining Native American art with a modern twist. Our deluxe room was very reasonably priced ($69) on a weekday. The bed was luxurious and very comfortable with lots of extra pillows and a plush comforter. Another plus was the buffet. Greatly improved over the old one. Beautifully remodeled with more variety of food choices. Breakfast in the new 24 hr cafe is excellent too. Wonderful and close getaway for San Diegans. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in June for a birthday weekend, overall it was a great hotel- it's brand new (carpet still had the new smell), the rooms were a little small in my opinion. We had a double bed room with 2 double size beds in it and it was really cramped. One bed is against the wall and the other is against the other wall with just a short distance between them in the middle. There was hardly any room in the front of the beds to walk, overall just cramped. Bathroom shower was HUGE, sink is raised off the counter and a little storage area under the sink. I think the bathroom could have been smaller and the room should have been larger. I did see some King rooms as we walked down that hall that looked a lot more spacious, so we will definitely book a king next time.



OK, enough about the size of the room, overall the rest of the hotel is awesome, friendly front desk staff, friendly bell men and valet (free valet). Housekeeping service was great- overall had a great time.

Pool was awesome, we stayed out there most of the day. They have a bar set up where you can orders drinks (beer, water, soda, or cocktails) which is nice. Drinks were reasonably priced too!

We ate dinner at the steakhouse- we had a party of 6 and we received 20% off our bill with our players card! Can't beat that! Good food and good prices for a steakhouse.

Also went to the Native Dreams Spa in the Outlet Center across the street (also is the hotel spa). Spa experience was wonderful- I had a pedicure and facial- both were excellent and the girls that work there are professional. The prices were amazingly cheap, and the service is excellent!

All in all a great experience, will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent a birthday weekend here with my significant other and we had a great time over the weekend. Must say though that I think the casino would have grown old after 2 maybe 3 days, so a weekend if just right. The hotel is fairly new and very well done. For the hotel, it is very modern, service levels are excellent - my girlfriend is very critical of service typically whenever we go out, and even she was impressed. They also have thought through lots of little details, liking having extra ear buds available in the gym for people like me who forgot their own ear buds. The hotel overlooks a large well designed pool area and indeed might even be a little too close to the pool area as many pool facing rooms can hear the pool activity. On the other hand, while we were there, they seemed to start the pool activity later to allow people to sleep in I suspect and the pool activities were long over by the time we headed to bed. There is also a great outlet mall directly across the street from the hotel/casino with a free shuttle to take you door to door as needed which was very convenient.

The casino apparently was refurbed with the opening of the hotel and they did a nice job on it. The non-smoking section is smaller than I expected, but clearly a lot of hard core gamblers are also hard core smokers so maybe their allocation of smoking to non-smoking casino space makes sense. While I have not spent a lot of time in other SD area Indian casinos, I hear that Viejas has more non-smoking casino area than other SD area Indian casinos. There are adequate food and entertainment options and several interesting casino promotions (like giving a new Ford Mustang away with 9 second place prizes of $1,000 each), but honestly after 2, maybe 3 days, we would have had our fill of the casino. Alpine is not like Vegas where you can just hop from casino to casino and keep it interesting. Also the buffet was very good, with generally great food, however the seafood section seemed to be a little light for my tastes and sushi and lobster would have been a nice addition to the buffet. Once again though, one day of overstuffing ourselves at the buffet was plenty and despite it being a good experience, we really didn't want to even look at the buffet again after the first day. We also used the workout facility and while a little on the small side, all of the equipment was new and state of the art. Fortunately while we were there, very few people were using the workout facility, so we had good access to all of the equipment.

On the rating, overall I would give the entire complex a 4.5 with the hotel getting a 5.0, the outlet mall getting a 4.5, and the casino getting a 4.0.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel is an excellent addition to the casino and other amenities. The pool is great, but the water could be a little colder. The rooms are very comfortable and even have windows that open to get in some fresh air. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Viejas new hotel is fabulous! The beds are so comfortable and room size is large. The outstanding service from valet, receptionist, all casino employees is fantastic. Viejas has 100%
committed to making quests #1priority and the are succeeding beyond that. I have stayed at every Indian casino within 100 mile radius of San Diego and nothing compares to Viejas. If you visited Viejas a few years ago when it was tainted and old, get the new experience! Completely renovated. By the way, if traveling with children they will love the gorgeous pool. At night pool very romantic with fire rings.

For me the entire staff make you feel genuinely their top priority!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I spent our 32nd wedding anniversary at Viejas Casino and Resort. Had a wonderful time at this resort.
Let's start with check in. Smooth and quick. Rooms very comfortable and stylish. Bathroom shower quite large and nice. The shampoos and soaps were very nice. The entire hotel is non smoking but if you are a smoker you can nip outside rather easily. The TV was super HD. The rooms offered individual coffee/tea makers and alarm clocks. We were on the third floor overlooking the pool. You have the option to open a small window for fresh air if wanted. All the water in the room was free. No charge anywhere in the casino for bottled water. The mini fridge actually got cold! Very nice. The rooms had iron and board, safe and writing area.
The casino offers smoking and non-smoking areas. The slots were loose compared to Vegas. My personal favorite is the Pot o' Golds which offer a variety of games. There are staff with carts offering complimentary beverages and cookies.
What stood out most was the professional courtesy and friendliness of the staff. From the bellman to the slot tech to the servers. Everyone on the floor greeted you and many by name. The staff was a great break from the usual rudeness found in Vegas these days. Kudos to Viejas.
The pool was very nice. The gym was small but offered every machine you could want while on vacation! Very nice. A small room for computer internet use. We did not use this feature but it was available.
The buffet was fine. The cafe has definitely been updated and improved. They offered a nice little breakfast for three bucks. The servers very nice.
My husband and I were quite impressed with the hotel and the remodel of the casino. There is a strip mall/ outlet across the street for those who want to shop. Parking was free and there was plenty of it. We have been to many casinos and Viejas now takes the lead in overall comfort, friendliness and slots. While the hotel in on the smaller side for a resort it makes for a very nice getaway. I would recommend this resort to anyone. Not to mention it is maybe an hour from the beaches depending on traffic. San Diego is about 45 minutes away but Alpine is quite lovely.
I did over hear of a lot of sold out dates so try to book early. Have fun!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viejas Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viejas Casino Resort

Address: 5000 Willows Rd, Alpine, CA 91901
Location: United States > California > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viejas Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Viejas Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viejas Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.