We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Las Vegas, Better Than” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viejas Casino

Viejas Casino
5000 Willows Road off Highway I-8, Alpine, CA
+1 619-445-5400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Alpine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located only 25 miles east of San Diego on an Indian Reservation, this popular casino complex features live entertainment, slot machines and full-service gaming tables.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Not Las Vegas, Better Than”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

So obviously this isn't Las Vegas, but what it is is the nicest casino of its kind anywhere. It's Clean, spotless actually, they have tons of Slots, Table games, a poker room and an off track betting area.

In addition they have a great New Hotel attached, and a number of fantastic restaurants and a cafe inside.

Across the street they have their own outlet mall, and more food locations as well as a bowling alley.

The most pleasant thing about it is the employees. They don't go out of their way for you because nothing is in the way. It's like everyone is here to serve you, and it's a feeling you can never get in Las Vegas.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Viejas Casino, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It's incredibly gratifying to hear that our hard work has paid off, and that our guests are truly having the time of their lives!

You know, it sounds like the only thing that might've made your visit better was winning a NEW CAR! Well, you still have three more chances to drive home in a NEW Ford Mustang Convertible in the July Dream Machine Giveaway. Guests earn entries just by using their V Club Cards to play their favorite games! So, the more you play, the better your chances.

Drawings are Wednesdays & Sundays in July at 9pm. We truly hope to see you there.

Thanks again,
Your Viejas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    27
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never win!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our 5th stay since the Hotel opened.
The 1st time I won a jackpot and the last 4 times NOTHING!
in fact this last stay July 4-7th I could hardly even get a Bonus in the slot machines. I guess we paid for the fireworks. LOL!!
Too many other casino's around that pay better.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Viejas Casino, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Cheryl,

We're sorry you've been dissatisfied with your recent visits. Might we recommend a new and very popular game? Why not give iTable Roulette a "spin"? It's great for beginners, as each player has her/his own screen. And veterans of roulette love it thanks to the fast, smooth play. Of course, there's also our twice weekly Dream Machine Giveaway. Remember, even if you're not hitting your numbers in an individual game, you're still earning entries towards winning a NEW CAR––this month, a Ford Mustang Convertible.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything we can help you with.

Best,
Your Viejas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlands california
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“The bottom end of casino experiences”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Thought I would give this place a try primarily because of other reviews commenting on their smoke free section. This casino was easily the worst Indian casino experience ever for Southern California Indian casinos. Unfriendly, uncaring, not a welcoming feeling, not a happy place. I sense they may have staffing problems being in such a remote location.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Employee at Viejas Casino, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We're truly sorry that your experience didn't live up to expectations. It's doubly vexing to read your review, as our customer service scores have been through the roof for some time now. We hope you'll come back sometime soon and give us the opportunity to put our best foot forward. As the saying goes, there's no better time than right now! We have every confidence that if you come out this weekend, enjoy some FREE live music at the V Lounge and DreamCatcher, play some games and stick around for the Dream Machine Giveaway tomorrow night, you'll see Viejas in a whole new light.

If there's anything at all we can do in the meantime, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Thanks again,
Your Viejas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very well done casino. Plenty of REALLY good non-smoking areas. Ate at the buffet. Huge layout. Good food. Cookies: blah.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Viejas Casino, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We've really worked hard to ensure that all guests are comfortable, well-fed and generally having an awesome time! I must admit, though, I won't be able to sleep until you come back and try the cookies again! I assure you, you will NOT be disappointed next time!

Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
92 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Free buffet was great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

First time here....got a players card and buffet was free. Lots of seafood and meats. Dessert was the best I have seen in all buffets except in Las Vegas. Have a nice non smoking area. If you are in a smoking area, its smog heaven. We won a bit of money so it was an added bonus. Typical casino.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B, Manager at Viejas Casino, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting all the way from New York! You're so glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience. You know, next time you visit, you'll have the opportunity to try the NEW Weekend Buffet. It includes all of the items you already know and love, PLUS several new premium options. It's truly a win-win situation!

Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon,
Your Viejas Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viejas Casino also viewed

 

Been to Viejas Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viejas Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.