We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi with a French twist” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Anju

Bistro Anju
22912 Pacific Park Dr, Aliso Viejo, CA 92656-5328
949-716-8882
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 74 Restaurants in Aliso Viejo
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Sushi with a French twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Have been going to Bistro Anju for several times at its orlder location and its current new location. It has great, authentic sushi. Very fresh, more of a contemporary style versus traditional Edomae style but very nice. This sushi can compete with the best from Japan. Chef is also a French style cook and you get very nice lamb chops and foie gras apetizers. Have always been very happy with the quality of the sushi and food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Sushi was fresh and a wonderful surprise. In a small plaza but hip decor inside. Sushi pieces on small side but everything very tasty. Service was friendly. We will return and hope they continue to add creative options as the chef obviously knows what he is doing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Love this place, the sushi is fresh and delicious!!! Enjoy sitting at the sushi bar watching the chefs create beautiful plates, very friendly service. When we crave sushi this is where we go.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food But Hard to Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Food was well prepared but the taste was too toned-down, maybe due to lack of freshness.
I had a chirashi sushi that was kind of small yet still premium priced and it didn't fill me up like it would normally do at other restaurants so I had to order some more sushi. My wife had yellowtail collar and tuna tataki that were excellently prepared. The green tea we were served were rather bland, probably because it had been brewed much earlier. That is important to note because that is indicative of the food taste-level also.

The restaurant was relatively small, located inconspicuously a small strip mall, but the staff was attentive and friendly. There were 3 sushi chefs for a small sushi bar and 4 waitresses available to serve a small number of customers so their service level was very good. There were a large number of Japanese customers there so you know the restaurant itself is very authentic. Overall I think the food was a little over priced and under-portioned.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My friend and I had the seven course gourmet dinner ($85 each) and worth every penny. We sat at the sushi bar so we could watch the master prepare each offering. Deliciously fresh fish and incredible sauces. First visit and certainly not my last.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Anju also viewed

Aliso Viejo, Orange County
Aliso Viejo, Orange County
 
Aliso Viejo, Orange County
Aliso Viejo, Orange County
 

Been to Bistro Anju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Anju, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.