We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some things great - Some things not so great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo to your Saves list
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Enterprise, Aliso Viejo, CA 92656   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aliso Viejo
Solvang, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some things great - Some things not so great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very fun looking hotel. We stayed here while visiting family in the same city. The room was nice but lacking in some areas. What? No bath mat? Also, only a shower and no tub. We had our 3 year old granddaughter with us and were not able to give her a bath. Also, the bed looked like it was going to be so comfy but the feather bed on top of the mattress just compressed after we laid on it and we wee left on a hard mattress.

In all fairness, the staff was wonderful. We got the AAA special deal that included breakfast for two and they didn't charge us extra for the breakfast voucher for our granddaughter. The food choices were many, including an omelet station. We were pleased with breakfast.

When we were searching for a hotel in the Alsio Viejo area, we found this and one other. If we needed to stay in a hotel in AV again, we would definitely stay here but ask for a room with a tub and request a bath mat - simple things!

Room Tip: Fourth floor was very nice but the promised "city view" was obstructed by a big palm tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    75
    18
    11
    8
See reviews for
53
42
10
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, TX
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed 4 nights. Let me start with the good: wonderful customer service at front check in desk and breakfast buffet. Very comfortable bed, linens, and overall accommodations. Not a fan of the bright color scheme for the hotel, but didn't impact my stay. Lol. Now the other: when I arrived on Sunday afternoon valets were no where to be found, with random cars parked and blocking ability to enter or exit. During my first night I heard the door next to my room open then slam several times; it literally shook the wall and woke me from a dead sleep. In the morning I noticed the door beside me was to a storage room. When the slamming started again on my second night, I counted 5 slams then stuck my head out and asked the young man if he would mind NOT slamming the door again. He was quite surprised and apologized. I stopped by the front desk at 7 am to suggest additional staff awareness or training for the convenience of those staying in these areas of the hotel. Did not hear a single slam nights 3 and 4. :). Accurate bill slipped under the door. Self parking couldn't be more convenient, and is clean and well light.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The rooms are clean, modern and the sports club etc seems great. However if a good night's sleep is what you want, don't stay here. You may as well all be in the room based on the soundproofing - this isn't about hearing loud TVs, you can hear someone COUGH next door. I felt like I was in the same room as the people staying next to me.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from any other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Unfortunately, my stay was very short and I could not take advantage of all the amenities (sports club, pools, machines, etc.). I arrived late on a Wednesday night when the hotel was close to a sell-out, but they upgraded me. They had just unveiled a new menu at the bar and restaurant, which was great. Front desk and food and beverage personnel were great. The sports club was in use all night and early AM, it seemed. Will go back again when I can use more of the facilities. Guest room was clean and modern. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I've been trying different hotels in the OC area for a few months of trips lately and the ClubSport rolled around this time. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly - so the basics were met. The room was sparsely decorated, but the bathroom was a bit odd: no towel racks and instead what looked like a book case in the corner used as towel storage. The shower was large and had a rainfall shower head - very nice. The focus here is definitely on the gym, as suggested in the name. I didn't have time to try it out on this trip, but it seemed huge and well-equipped. Ultimately what brought this hotel down from a 4 to a 3 was the lack of an executive / concierge lounge, although there is a nice breakfast buffet (free for Platinum members) to make up for it in the morning. Overall, probably a place I'd stay again with friends or family but would skip for a work trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here to attend a wedding at Dana Point. Centrally located between the coastal towns and the cities of Orange County it is mainly accessible by the 73 toll road. The hotel is modern with a sleek lobby and very well apointed rooms. Service was excellent from the moment we checked in and the comp buffet breakfast was great. Never saw so many healthy looking people in any hotel, perhaps because of the large health club attached to the property. Parking was in a structure across the front walkway and access to the adjoing towns was easy aftering figuring out the surface streets, freeways and toll road network. The beach towns are about eight miles to the west and there seems to be a lot small retail and cafes between the hotel and Laguna Niguel.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night for a weekend gateway. Bed was very comfortable and the hotel overall was very clean. Location is on a very safe area, and very quiet also right by the toll freeway.

My only con is the price. A bit on the expensive side at $179/night, but it seems to compete more with luxury hotels. There's a complete gym, however they close at 10 and we unfortunately had not had a chance to use it. Also parking is 10 dollars a night.

Overall thought a decent hotel. Will stay again if there are deals on our next visit.

Room Tip: We choose a high level room, which gave a nice view of the hill-top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo

Address: 50 Enterprise, Aliso Viejo, CA 92656
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Aliso Viejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aliso Viejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Hotel creates an ideal blend of a full-service hotel and world-class sports club. Unique amongst hotels in the Aliso Viejo, Irvine and Laguna Beach areas, our guests will enjoy complimentary access to ClubSport, a 75,000 square foot facility offering a 12,000 square foot fitness floor, six group exercise studios, court sports, aquatic center and childcare services. Our hotel near Laguna Beach, CA creates a superb suburban spa-style hotel and fitness center while offering many resort-like amenities for our guests. Rejuvenate at the hotel's R-Spa, offering a variety of spa treatments. Our freshly modern Aliso Viejo bar/restaurant, Citrus Grill, serves locally-inspired American cuisine, including tapas style plates, tasty flatbreads, as well as fresh seafood and scrumptious desserts. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity available throughout our Aliso Viejo hotel. Experience true luxury and hospitality at the Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Clubsport Aliso Viejo Hotel Aliso Viejo
Renaissance Aliso Viejo
Aliso Viejo Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.