We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely no soundproofing between rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo

Save Saved
You added Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Enterprise, Aliso Viejo, CA 92656   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Aliso Viejo
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely no soundproofing between rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The rooms are clean, modern and the sports club etc seems great. However if a good night's sleep is what you want, don't stay here. You may as well all be in the room based on the soundproofing - this isn't about hearing loud TVs, you can hear someone COUGH next door. I felt like I was in the same room as the people staying next to me.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from any other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    68
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
47
38
9
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Unfortunately, my stay was very short and I could not take advantage of all the amenities (sports club, pools, machines, etc.). I arrived late on a Wednesday night when the hotel was close to a sell-out, but they upgraded me. They had just unveiled a new menu at the bar and restaurant, which was great. Front desk and food and beverage personnel were great. The sports club was in use all night and early AM, it seemed. Will go back again when I can use more of the facilities. Guest room was clean and modern. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I've been trying different hotels in the OC area for a few months of trips lately and the ClubSport rolled around this time. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly - so the basics were met. The room was sparsely decorated, but the bathroom was a bit odd: no towel racks and instead what looked like a book case in the corner used as towel storage. The shower was large and had a rainfall shower head - very nice. The focus here is definitely on the gym, as suggested in the name. I didn't have time to try it out on this trip, but it seemed huge and well-equipped. Ultimately what brought this hotel down from a 4 to a 3 was the lack of an executive / concierge lounge, although there is a nice breakfast buffet (free for Platinum members) to make up for it in the morning. Overall, probably a place I'd stay again with friends or family but would skip for a work trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here to attend a wedding at Dana Point. Centrally located between the coastal towns and the cities of Orange County it is mainly accessible by the 73 toll road. The hotel is modern with a sleek lobby and very well apointed rooms. Service was excellent from the moment we checked in and the comp buffet breakfast was great. Never saw so many healthy looking people in any hotel, perhaps because of the large health club attached to the property. Parking was in a structure across the front walkway and access to the adjoing towns was easy aftering figuring out the surface streets, freeways and toll road network. The beach towns are about eight miles to the west and there seems to be a lot small retail and cafes between the hotel and Laguna Niguel.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night for a weekend gateway. Bed was very comfortable and the hotel overall was very clean. Location is on a very safe area, and very quiet also right by the toll freeway.

My only con is the price. A bit on the expensive side at $179/night, but it seems to compete more with luxury hotels. There's a complete gym, however they close at 10 and we unfortunately had not had a chance to use it. Also parking is 10 dollars a night.

Overall thought a decent hotel. Will stay again if there are deals on our next visit.

Room Tip: We choose a high level room, which gave a nice view of the hill-top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed three nights at this hotel in August - two adults and two kids ages 11 and 19. Was given requested connecting rooms by Joe - hotel manager. Service level was very high. Special thanks to Andrew - the bellman for his special attention to us while we were there.

As others have mentioned - this hotel has a first class gym attached. Nothing lacking there, from equipment to classes to sauna etc, it was top notch.

Hotel has two pools and a splash pad. Got a little crowded during the day - but that is expected.

Rooms were upscale, clean, and very comfortable. They have a modern feel. Bar/Coffee area in lobby is cool - well done.

I think one of the best things about the hotel is location, while it is in the beaches area - it is located an easy drive to Laguna Beach, very close to Dana Point and Newport Beach, and about a 45 minute drive to Huntington Beach.

I recommend this hotel if you are looking for a place that has a little bit of everything

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers have pool view - breakfast buffet is free for Gold/Platinum members
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here during a travel-baseball tournament in San Clemente (south). Not what we expected but def.top notch. Like another review it's hard to say if this is a health club with a hotel attached or a hotel with a health-sports-club theme. (the servers, house staff, etc. are in 'track suits'). Our room wasn't ready when promised but the outdoor patio area was fine to hang out in while we waited. (I think if they knew we were marriott rewards members it might have been ready...). When it was ready, the keys were delivered to us on the patio. One strange thing; you cannot get to the pool from the outdoor lounge. You have to 'check in' at the fitness desk (?) to walk through to the pool. Maybe another company actually runs the fitness facilities. We are not fitness buffs so didn't use the (huge) gym or work out club.
My husband visited the sauna and hot tub and said they were nice. But I can see how this type of place fits in the "OC" area. The 2 pools are large and well supervised for our 12-13 year olds. The rooms are nicely decorated (ultra sleek and modern IMO) but not to my taste. There was no fridge in the room; but we did ask a passing houseman for one and he sent one up. There are light-motion detectors in the room which was freaky when we got up in the night; but re-assuring at the same time. The bathroom is large but the "1/2 glass wall" in the shower doesn't keep the water in. Paying $10/day parking was a bit much (structure is a short walk away). The HIGHLIGHT was the included breakfast! we had to be out at 6:15am but the breakfast was hot, fresh and ready at 6am. Impressive spread.
The hotel is in a great location, just up the hill from a huge complex with movies, all kinds of restaurants, and various stores and a Trader Joes. We had dinner at a Japanese place and it was excellent.
Overall good experience but wouldn't stay again due to distance from San Clemente tournament, and the hotel's style... "Nice"... just not "us".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo

Address: 50 Enterprise, Aliso Viejo, CA 92656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Aliso Viejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Aliso Viejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Hotel creates an ideal blend of a full-service hotel and world-class sports club. Unique amongst hotels in the Aliso Viejo, Irvine and Laguna Beach areas, our guests will enjoy complimentary access to ClubSport, a 75,000 square foot facility offering a 12,000 square foot fitness floor, six group exercise studios, court sports, aquatic center and childcare services. Our hotel near Laguna Beach, CA creates a superb suburban spa-style hotel and fitness center while offering many resort-like amenities for our guests. Rejuvenate at the hotel's R-Spa, offering a variety of spa treatments. Our freshly modern Aliso Viejo bar/restaurant, Citrus Grill, serves locally-inspired American cuisine, including tapas style plates, tasty flatbreads, as well as fresh seafood and scrumptious desserts. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity available throughout our Aliso Viejo hotel. Experience true luxury and hospitality at the Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Clubsport Aliso Viejo Hotel Aliso Viejo
Renaissance Aliso Viejo
Aliso Viejo Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.