We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo to your Saves list
Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Enterprise, Aliso Viejo, CA 92656   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aliso Viejo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fishers, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Actually stayed for nearly two weeks for business (checked out for the weekend to go visit friends). Had a small-ish room facing the parking garage with no chair in the room (other than the hard pull-up at the desk), but did get a nicer room overlooking the pool the second week (and, it had a small couch, hooray!). The staff is great, very friendly and charming. The breakfasts are fabulous and the bar is wonderful. The best part would probably be the manager's reception on Monday evenings for elite members and the fabulous fire pits on the lanai. But, I would recommend the hotel...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    81
    18
    11
    8
See reviews for
58
44
10
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have been traveling to Orange County regularly for the past four years and I typically stay at the Hilton by the airport because it is close to the airport. A friend convinced me to try this hotel and I was not disappointed. The key to this hotel is the gym and the bar. Both are excellent. When you are staying here you don't feel like you are traveling for business - the bar is actually quite lively, my guess is it is more locals that travelers, the deck is awesome and the gym is the main draw.

The rooms are great with one really irritating feature: they have motion sensitive lights, so if you wake up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom or change the setting on the thermostat, be prepared to be blinded by a light. You can turn them off, but by then it is too late.

That said, this place is great, and if it were not for OC traffic (it is a bit of a hike from the airport) and the blinding lights it might get a fifth star.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I was disappointed that when checking in they tried to put us in a yuccky standard guest room with no view which normally costs 159.00 a night when we paid for a junior suite king room at $239.00 a night. If I had not complained about the quality of the room we would not have been moved to the room that we had paid for. Check in staff need to be honest. I will never return or recommend this hotel because of this experience. Also the hotel advertises that rooms have a bath shower combo and 2 tvs. Our room did not have either of these and I was looking forward to a bath after being on the road for 8 hours. We did not get the daily newspaper they said we would get. We had to request a fridge 3 times. Once on our booking request form and twice at reception. The shower is useless. It is a rain shower with no pressure so don't even bother attempting to wash your hair unless you are nearly bald as these showers are useless. I wish hotels would understand that women need hose showers to wash properly or at the very least a shower with a movable head and decent water pressure. On the good side..I liked the fact that they serve healthy food and the kitchen is open downstairs pretty much all day until 10pm. I also like the fact that you can buy a tub of yoghurt and fruit at the bar in the mornings and eat it outside in the pool court which is a lovely sitting area. The waiting staff are all good. I like the fact that you can pour yourself a water and grab an apple at the lifts.

Room Tip: Levels 5 and 6 are better than 1 to 4 . Make sure you get the room you paid for. There are no great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angels
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We needed to stay in Alsio Viejo. The Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo, a fairly new hotel was close to our family celebration.
The rooms are large,comfortable and Quiet..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

If life takes you to the OC, specifically south orange county, stay here. The hotel is only a few years old. The rooms are very comfortable (get one overlooking the pool/town). The rates are very competitive. The staff is excellent and the hotel is attached to one of OC's premier fitness clubs. As a hotel guest you get full access. I have no complaints.

If you're looking for a good dinner close by, check out Opah at the Aliso Viejo town center (1 mile away). Great food and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Odd number rooms have the pool/city view. The lower the number the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because it was the recommended hotel for guests of a wedding that we attended. My first experience with this hotel was a positive one, having been able to obtain the special wedding guest rate even though I booked a little late. Everything worked out well with the reservation, which truly increased my confidence in the hotel.

As it turned out, everything about our stay was excellent, from the cleanliness of the hotel, the decor, the room size and the level of comfort. The front desk staff was extremely friendly. We absolutely loved the breakfast in the restaurant which, although a little pricey, was so darned good we sat there for quite awhile enjoying ourselves. The service in the restaurant was excellent, too. We did not visit the health club (no time). The hotel was in a very convenient area, close to shops and other restaurants. My only issue was that the MapQuest directions were incorrect and had us drive right past the hotel . ..and it was a little hard to see the entrance to the hotel property when we were looking for it. If the sign had been more prominent, we wouldn't have driven past it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This hotel was top-notch in all aspects. The hotel is very clean. The rooms were spotless. The decor was trendy. The restaurant prices are steep but the food quality was great. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi internet which was great for business on my laptop computer.

The availability of complimentary access to the fitness club and lap pool is an excellent amenity. I took advantage eating right and staying in shape during my stay.

All of the staff greeted me with smiles in the lobby and throughout the hotel.

There is a local town center just down the road with restaurants, shops, retail, and movie theater. Lots of variety.

I recommend this hotel to all staying in the area on business. Check for a AAA or government rate if it applies.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo

Address: 50 Enterprise, Aliso Viejo, CA 92656
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Aliso Viejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aliso Viejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Hotel creates an ideal blend of a full-service hotel and world-class sports club. Unique amongst hotels in the Aliso Viejo, Irvine and Laguna Beach areas, our guests will enjoy complimentary access to ClubSport, a 75,000 square foot facility offering a 12,000 square foot fitness floor, six group exercise studios, court sports, aquatic center and childcare services. Our hotel near Laguna Beach, CA creates a superb suburban spa-style hotel and fitness center while offering many resort-like amenities for our guests. Rejuvenate at the hotel's R-Spa, offering a variety of spa treatments. Our freshly modern Aliso Viejo bar/restaurant, Citrus Grill, serves locally-inspired American cuisine, including tapas style plates, tasty flatbreads, as well as fresh seafood and scrumptious desserts. Stay connected with complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity available throughout our Aliso Viejo hotel. Experience true luxury and hospitality at the Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Clubsport Aliso Viejo Hotel Aliso Viejo
Renaissance Aliso Viejo
Aliso Viejo Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance ClubSport Aliso Viejo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.