We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our go to places in Alhambra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie's Trio Cafe

Charlie's Trio Cafe
47 W Main St, Alhambra, CA 91801-3510
626-284-4943
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Charlie's Trio Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 172 Restaurants in Alhambra
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: First St.
So Calif
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“One of our go to places in Alhambra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

You can always get a good meal here for a reasonable price. What we like best is the broasted chicken and the shrimp scampi. The other pasta dishes, especially the chicken diablo, never fails. The prices here are low compared to the quality of the dishes. The house wines are very average. They serve bread with a herb infused olive oil that's very tasty. You can add a salad to your entree for $2. although they forgot to bring the salad on my last visit. The restaurant can get fairly busy on weekends as well as the parking in the area but I feel it's worth the trouble.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I will not be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I webt for lunch with some co workers. Portions are very little. I ordered fried calamari appetizer and they served me a few rings of it at a expency price.

I am not sure if I will be back.
MD

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good value and quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Ate here on a Sat. night and it was busy! We were offered a table outside or wait 20 min. we opted for outside and even tho it was chilly had no problem. Was told if we got cold they would turn on the overhead heaters--did not need them. Food was delicious and very fairly priced. I got the chicken marsala, my wife got the Pork Saltambocca. My was good, my wife's was fantastistic. Definitely the dish to get. Only down side, the house chianti left a little to be desired. Overall, we had a great evening. Price for two dinners, 2 glasses of wine, salad, one dessert , tax and tip--$55.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I go to Charlie's Trio every time I visit family in So Cal. Great location, right on Main Street, with seating both outside and also in the back entrance. Every dish I've had, especially the pizza and pastas are terrific. In spite of the fact that they are always busy, the service is perfect and the food comes out simply delicious everytime. A well stocked bar that takes care of their customers thirst.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Try the Casalinga Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The location on Huntington Drive, was a regular stop prior to heading to Laker games. Service was always good and individual pizzas perfect with a salad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Trio Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Trio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie's Trio Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.