We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet place for family and friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lunasia

Lunasia
500 West Main Street, Suite A, Alhambra, CA 91801
(626) 308-3222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 173 Restaurants in Alhambra
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
South Pasadena, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweet place for family and friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lunasia is a wonderful place to bring family and friends for delicious dim sum and other Chinese food, such as noodles, beef and seafood dishes. Expect to wait a half hour or more on a weekend for dim sum around lunchtime, but it is usually easier to get a table during the workweek. The house special noodles are delicious, as are the crispy noodles with beef. Vegetarian options are also lovely at Lunasia, including tofu and mushroom dishes. Lunasia features a convivial, pleasant environment, with nice service (although they do get busy -- you might have to flag a waiter or waitress), and a menu featuring lots of variety. Lunasia is on the pricier side, but is a great place to share a lot of dishes with friends or to treat a family member to lunch and tea.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
160 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum in LA Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My Gold Star for dim sum is still Yank SIng in San Francisco. I've tried most of the well known dim sum restaurants in LA/SGV and Lunasia most definitely leads the pack. Like Yank SIng, you get what you pay for. High quality food is expensive and I'm always willing to pay for quality food. You can't stay in business if you're not profitable. Empress Pavillion in Chinatwon was an LA staple for years and it was inexpensive. The quality of the food went down and down so they could meet the price demands of the people who want to feed a family of 8 for $20. The result is they are now gone. Lunasia's food is high quality and their portions are the most I've seen anywhere. Keep the standards high and people will come back over and over. Skimp on the food and you'll be out of business before long.

I really like the idea of ordering fro the menu rather than waiting/hoping for what I want to come by. Not a very relaxing way to enjoy a meal at all. Always looking for that sticky rice or BBQ pork buns while wolfing down the dishes already on the table. Great advance in dim sum in my opinion. Not unique to to Lunasia but nevertheless a contributing factor to the overall experience.

Every dish we enjoyed was outstanding from the shrimp har gow with 3 huge hunks of very tasty shrimp to the light as a feather baked BBQ pork buns to some of the best noodle dishes I've ever had to sticky rice filled with lots of meat not a stray piece here and there like most dim sum sticky rice. The pork balls were filled with a delicious mix of meat and spices but were a little greasy. The shrimp won ton soup was filled with huge portions of shrimp. The almond milk with puff pastry topping was very good. The soup dumplings were much better than Din Tai Fung in Arcadia- generally the gold standard for XLB. The BBQ pork was juicy, delicious and generous.

We came in the mid afternoon on a weekday so there was no wait. We were seated immediately, filled out the card with the dishes we wanted using the beautifully pictured menu and waited, and waited and waited. The service was really terrible and it was a constant struggle throughout the meal to flag down a server. At one point, there was not a single server to be found in the entire dining room. I looked around and saw many frustrated faces searching for a server as well.

The dim sum was so good that I won't let the service deter me from giving Lunasia five stars. It still isn't quite up to the standards of Yank Sing but the best I've had in LA/SGV. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Dim Sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Went there for Dim Sum on a Sunday and as expected, you have to wait to get a table but it is worth the wait. The restaurant is clean, nicely decorated and we felt very comfortable right away. The menu has photos for each dish which is very convenient and we we were not disappointed with the food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

For dim sum, it is priced at the same level as Sea Harbor in Rosemead and Mission 261 in San Gabriel, but is better than both. I wouldn't go as far as calling it the best dim sum in the sgv, but had pretty decent amount of choices. All the dim sum is cooked to order not from the carts. One difference is that this is the most hygenic dim sum place in the area. All the people walking around with dim sum have this mask that catches all their spit when they talk.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place for Dim Sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Food was great tasting. The selection was amazing. Could not stop eating. Definitely worth multiple visits.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunasia also viewed

 

Been to Lunasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lunasia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.